PLEASE HELP! IS IT FUEL PUMP?? (HOW TO REPLACE)97 EL Falcon 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

Post subject: PLEASE HELP! IS IT FUEL PUMP?? (HOW TO REPLACE)97 EL Falcon
Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2011 12:17 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

Ride: Falcon 97 EL wagon

VIC, Australia

Hi everyone,

I drive a 97 EL station wagon and am a total noob when it comes to fixing it (and posting) and so hope this makes sense and is not too long winded...but here goes...

The problem I'm having/symptoms are:

There has been a steadily increasing ringing sound coming from the boot/tailgate area of my wagon. It started out as a faint ringing but has now started drowning out the radio . It sounds like a solenoid motor or something whirring/screaming for help. When i left the car running and went to the back to check it out it seems it's coming from a little circular electric thing that looks like it enters the fuel tank on the back left hand side of the car. So that's why i'm assuming that maybe the fuel pump given it looks to be attached to the tank. Whatever it is it's making a mad racket and i was wondering how I could fix it. To look at where the ringing seems to be coming from when sliding under the car near the back left hand tyre there is a black electric cable that goes through a hole in a protective metal cover attached to the fuel tank. The cable/cord then goes into a black circular thing that sits flush with the side of what looks like the fuel tank (it's right underneath the left hand edge of where the spare tyre sits inside the car).

The other thing that makes me think it's the fuel pump or fuel line related is because when i'm driving and the ringing gets worse (it gets louder at times than others) the fuel guage in the dash starts flicking up and down randomly/uncontrolably from full to empty and back up again. Like it's an electric signal that's intermittantly breaking in and out so the fuel gauge keeps dropping to empty and back up again.