Fordmods Logo

r they inter changable 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: r they inter changable
Posted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 2:00 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 37

Joined: 24th Nov 2009

Ride: 1996 ef falcon

Location: greta
NSW, Australia

r the ecu on the ef falcon inter change able if not is there 1 that will get me outta troble

mine is : 94 DT/12A650/ed

the nearest 1 i can get is a : 94DT/12A650/BD
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: r they inter changable
Posted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 8:07 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

You are quoting a part number, what is your catch code. This may help,

ecu-fuel-system-eec-f21/ecu-catch-codes-t30186.html
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: r they inter changable
Posted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 8:27 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

As SWC said...

Your 4 digit catch code means more to us...

Being a 4 I am guessing EF... You will definitely need a "4" computer as ED & EL computers are 60 pin while yours is 104 pin...

The only other really critical thing is whether it is for the same transmission as yours... The third letter is usually a "A" indicating manual transmission or a "B" indicating auto transmission on these models...

Cheers,
Tim

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: r they inter changable
Posted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 8:38 am 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

jeffo-ef-62-nv wrote:
r the ecu on the ef falcon inter change able if not is there 1 that will get me outta troble

mine is : 94 DT/12A650/ed

the nearest 1 i can get is a : 94DT/12A650/BD


94dt12a650ed should have a catch code of= 4TED=
tickford lpg ecu

94dt12a650bd should have a catch code of= 4TBD=
Fairmont Ghia Tickford Auto 4.0L
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: r they inter changable
Posted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 8:41 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

TROYMAN wrote:
jeffo-ef-62-nv wrote:
r the ecu on the ef falcon inter change able if not is there 1 that will get me outta troble

mine is : 94 DT/12A650/ed

the nearest 1 i can get is a : 94DT/12A650/BD


94dt12a650ed should have a catch code of= 4TED=
tickford lpg ecu

94dt12a650bd should have a catch code of= 4TBD=
Fairmont Ghia Tickford Auto 4.0L



There you go, if Troy is right you'll need that Tickford LPG model computer... Didn't know you could grab the last two letters...

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: r they inter changable
Posted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 9:13 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 37

Joined: 24th Nov 2009

Ride: 1996 ef falcon

Location: greta
NSW, Australia

dose anyone know any good wreckers that will have i or does any one have 1 for sale it dosnt matter if it dosnt work on gas i just need the car up and running anybody got any ideas
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: r they inter changable
Posted: Sat Jan 21, 2012 10:29 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 37

Joined: 24th Nov 2009

Ride: 1996 ef falcon

Location: greta
NSW, Australia

but if im willing to drop lpg can i put a normal ecu in
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 2:35 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names