Fordmods Logo

Real cheap chip/mod 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 19 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Real cheap chip/mod
Posted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 1:18 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 9

Joined: 31st Mar 2006

Ride: EA Falcon

Location: Mooroolbark
VIC, Australia

I've seen some of these really cheap mods ($18 approx) and they claim to give 20hp by connecting to the intake airflow sensor and altering its' properties but without touching the ECU and apparently it won't cause any problems cause it's under ECU control still. The item number on ebay is 4627802613 so if anybody has one or knows anything about them could they let me know, thanks

 

_________________

_______________
I am not a sheep!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 1:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

It's rubbish im afraid.

The 'mod' is a resistor which alters the signal going from the air intake temp sensor to the ECU. Strangley, these mods tend to result in more fuel being injected - whereas most falcons actually require leaning out to get a beneifical kw increase...

ECU will learn around it - thats if it does anything in the first place.

No cheap way out in this game :)

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 1:33 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 9

Joined: 31st Mar 2006

Ride: EA Falcon

Location: Mooroolbark
VIC, Australia

Thanks heaps, I thought as much but i wanted a second opinion to confirm my suspicions, looks like i'll have to invest elsewhere!

 

_________________

_______________
I am not a sheep!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 1:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

Yeah, trick for new players that one. Has been around for years... kinda feel sorry for the people that throw $20 at a 5c resistor :)

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 4:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 10826

Joined: 17th Apr 2005

Gallery: 34 images

Ride: BF MK11 XR 6 TURBO ZF 6spd

Power: 225 rwkw

Location: glenwood/sydney
NSW, Australia

agreed with above... nice stunt 5cent resister for $20+20hp n "dolphins live in igloos".. :lol:

 

_________________

Todd: Nurse, suction.
Nurse: The patient's not even here yet.
Todd: I know.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_GQpRYRcAiA

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 16, 2006 10:04 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 120

Joined: 3rd Jul 2005

Location: Melb
VIC, Australia

I thought these went onto the o2 sensor and told the ecu that it was running rich so it would lean it out a bit gaining power and fuel economy.

guess i was wrong.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 10:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 596

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: BA mkII XR8

Location: NEWCASTLE
NSW, Australia

all it is is a 256k resistor that loops the IAT sensor, telling the ECU the air temp is 0 degrees C ,depending on engine mods you can gain 10 rwhp at lower rpm, but...... it does have its downsides, like oiling up the iat cos its not being heat cleansed on shut down of the engine, and overheating if not adaptable to the individual engine.
I used one (resistor not the so called chip for $18) when I first installed my bigger cam, simply because of the extra advance (& faster) required by the cam. if I advanced the initial timing it lost too much low down response, but after a couple of extra mods to the compression, heads & fuel system I have removed it as the car didn't need all of that advance anymore.
the mod is open to opinion whether or not it works, but I do believe I benefited from it.
cheers kenny

 

_________________

Image
IF YOU HAVE IT UNDER CONTROL
YOU SIMPLY DON'T HAVE ENOUGH POWER!!!
Detroit 8V71 for sale, taking offers

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 10:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

kenny wrote:
all it is is a 256k resistor that loops the IAT sensor, telling the ECU the air temp is 0 degrees C


256k ohms doesnt give you anywhere near 0 degrees

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 10:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 596

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: BA mkII XR8

Location: NEWCASTLE
NSW, Australia

stockstandard wrote:
kenny wrote:
all it is is a 256k resistor that loops the IAT sensor, telling the ECU the air temp is 0 degrees C


256k ohms doesnt give you anywhere near 0 degrees

i may have the ohms wrong but i did check the value & it was the same as 0 degrees c. in my diagnostics book the colour code is RED/PURPLE/YELLOW/GOLD.

 

_________________

Image
IF YOU HAVE IT UNDER CONTROL
YOU SIMPLY DON'T HAVE ENOUGH POWER!!!
Detroit 8V71 for sale, taking offers

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 11:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

thats 270k ohms

0 degrees is 65.8k ohms

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 11:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 596

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: BA mkII XR8

Location: NEWCASTLE
NSW, Australia

must have got the wrong ones 2nd time around red orange brown was another i had there..but never installed it 2nd tme round

 

_________________

Image
IF YOU HAVE IT UNDER CONTROL
YOU SIMPLY DON'T HAVE ENOUGH POWER!!!
Detroit 8V71 for sale, taking offers

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 1:56 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

fordfreak ef wrote:
agreed with above... nice stunt 5cent resister for $20+20hp n "dolphins live in igloos".. :lol:


omg dolphins live in igloos. s**t thats news flash.

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 12:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1320

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

kenny wrote:
all it is is a 256k resistor that loops the IAT sensor, telling the ECU the air temp is 0 degrees C ,depending on engine mods you can gain 10 rwhp at lower rpm, but...... it does have its downsides, like oiling up the iat cos its not being heat cleansed on shut down of the engine, and overheating if not adaptable to the individual engine.

:?: the iat heat cleansed ? you for real?
also having the air temp set at 0* will give you a VERY rich mixture, rich enough to foul plugs. *IF* you were to benefit from this, you would aim for a temp of 25*.
You will get better results by spinning the dizzy to give 5* more advance than stuffing with the iac/ect sensors.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: shift kit
Posted: Tue May 09, 2006 9:54 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 37

Joined: 17th Apr 2006

Ride: EF XR8

Location: GoldCoast
QLD, Australia

Shiftkits.com.au $70... is there any benefit of this? seen a thred here at fordmods with wiring diagram for 2 resistors,6 wires and switch. all up $10 from trickie d**k. wiring up of the 2 sounds similar?

 

_________________

Quit complaining cause no one listens

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 09, 2006 10:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1320

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Well, for starters, someone did a lot of the R&D for the shift kits, others just leeched at the tech documents and decided to DIY..... unfortunately when it doesnt work for them, they complain about it on the forums and some also email the .com.au for help... which they wont get.

The shiftkits from the .com.au are fully epoxy potted, come with detailed installation instructions, warranty and support. Obviously the DIY do not.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 9:33 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names