Fordmods Logo

Reflashing ECUs 

 

Page 2 of 5 [ 64 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

 
Posted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 11:21 am 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

The EMS 8860 was my choice of ECU until I stumbled across a MoTeC 800 for the right price.

The best thing about the EMS8860 when put up against all the ECU's in its price range is that it offers sequential injection! 8 Injector outputs, and 8 spark outputs.

I've got all the EMS8860 software loaded on my laptop and its quite feature rich. I think they go for around $1000 supply only. Maybe $500-600 for fittin and tuning. Definantly money well spent, and hard to justify spending $5500 on the top end Motec gear.

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 3:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1518

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Power: 175 rwkw

Location: The Shire, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Hey Brad what are you doing with the chip originally fitted by JMM with your dev5 head ? That'll be redundant now with the new motec won't it ?

Most of these features and specs are going over my head. What do I actually NEED to make the most of my engine for the least expenditure?
Something cheap like the greddy one is appealing if it does what I need of it, and being able to fiddle with this and that would amuse me for a few weeks too. haha

 

_________________

ImageImage

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 3:39 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

The EMS8860 is best value for money IMO. Has all the features you need, none that you dont need. I can never stress enough that you'll only ever get what you pay for (eBay is one of the few exceptions to this rule :D)

The Unichip which is comingn out of the waggin is sold to JonBays (Thanks for being so patient!!) and the manual EF EEC-V ECU is still up for grabs.

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 8:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1518

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Power: 175 rwkw

Location: The Shire, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Damn you jonbays! :P
If I don't get something aftermarket I'll probably just throw an EF ECU in it. What are you after for that ? PM me if you want.

Waggin do you wanna go into some more detail about what you do and don't need ? Obviously I'm a bit of a n00b in the area. Maybe start a new thread ?

 

_________________

ImageImage

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 9:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 658

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Are there any benefits from going to Ford, and getting your ECU, re-programmed to XR6 spec?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 9:27 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

LG wrote:
Are there any benefits from going to Ford, and getting your ECU, re-programmed to XR6 spec?


Maybe if he had an XR6 spec engine. Smarter still would to be just buy an XR6 ECU for an XR6 Engine.

Thats all besides the point, as his engine is nothing like an XR6.

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 9:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1518

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Power: 175 rwkw

Location: The Shire, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Yeah I just thought it my case if I do nothing else it's a cheap option for slightly better fuel maps and what ever else XR6 ECUs do over standard.

 

_________________

ImageImage

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 10:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 658

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I know he doesn't have an XR6 engine. But still, would you benefit from upgrading your ecu to a XR6 ecu? As wouldn't those ecu's let more fuel in or some crap? Or weren't they that different from the base model?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 09, 2004 8:23 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 575

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF

Location: Wodonga
VIC, Australia

Hyena, another option I'm looking at is the Perfect Power SMT6, http://www.perfectpower.com/Products/smt6.asp
It is what AVO use after they turbo stock Fords, Has most of the adjustments I think I/we would need, but I'm not an expert by any means.
you can download the software for it from their web site, it will give you a bit of an idea what it can do.
And the best part... for the SMT6 and the software it comes in very close to $820.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 12:05 am 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Hi Guy's,

Glad we're all back!
I'm sorry that TwEECer support is so slow in coming. Whilst I understand we(Aussies) are just a drop in the ocean I must say I am rather annoyed with how long it's taking.
One of the problems is that I think Mike(the Tweecer man) is shielded from the contact of potential customers because they all see my contact details as the Aussie distributor and, of course just contact me.
So, if possible could you guy's send Mike emails asking about when aussie support for more than just V8 EECIV will be available? Hell even if you're not interested in buying a TwEECer just pretend you are.
mailto:info@tweecer.com
I'd be interested to hear the response.

It is actually possible to reflash EECV(in EF-EL)and I have the code to do it but of course you have to know what to reflash it with.

More and more we need the ability to recalibrate the factory system because aftermarket systems cannot deal with the myriad of I/O that the factory systems use. No longer are we talking about just engine control.

Pete.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 12:12 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3097

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: VU SS

Location: Ivanhoe
NSW, Australia

Yeah I can't wait until it arrives.....one day....

 

_________________

EF Fairmont now Sold!
Guides: Polishing|Modifications |Manual Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 12:13 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1518

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Power: 175 rwkw

Location: The Shire, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Hi Pete.
So have you reflashed any EF/ELs 6's before ? Or you don't have anything to flash them with ?
Have you heard of freak ECUs around ? Mark from ITS was telling me that his car doesn't seem to have a rev limiter and revs out over 6k or something like that.

Are you still coming out to the sydney dyno day ?

 

_________________

ImageImage

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 12:28 am 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Hi Hyena,

Are you the guy I talked to on the phone?
No I haven't reflashed an EF-L EEC but I do have some code worked out(which I had hoped to be able to use with the tweecer). I have never actually tried the reflash procedure because my whole aim is to allow the end user to be able to reprogram their own car.
Have you looked into making your crank encoder adjustable...at least you could set your base timing where you want it.
I've never seen a "freak" ecu. What EEC are we talkin about here? What catch code?

Yes I'm still coming to Sydney.

See ya there.
Cheers,
Pete.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 12:37 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1518

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Power: 175 rwkw

Location: The Shire, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Nah I didn't speak to you on the phone, I sent you a PM the day before fordmods died, but you probably never got it.

I'm not sure what ECU Mark has or any details about it. Maybe an EF XR one ? I'm not sure, he'll probably be at the dyno day and if not I'll speak to him before hand so I'll find out. I won't be able to run my car at the dyno day as it'll have less that 1000ks on the new engine, but I'll come down and have a chat with you :)

And no I hadn't heard about making an adustable crank angle encoder. Who does that work ? Do you fit a variable resistor the the output of the crank angle sensor or something ?

 

_________________

ImageImage

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 11:56 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Ah ok,
Maybe it's tjb that called

No I mean you actually make an adjustable mount for your crank sensor. It has the same effect as turning the distributor on an engine so equipped, thus it will allow you to advance or retard the base timing.

Pete.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 5  [ 64 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 1:58 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names