Fordmods Logo

Reflashing ECUs 

 

Page 1 of 5 [ 64 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

 
 Post subject: Reflashing ECUs
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 9:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1518

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Power: 175 rwkw

Location: The Shire, Sydney
NSW, Australia

I know there were a few threads about this back in fordmods v1.0 but that's all lost to us now :?

anyway...

There was talk of Tweecers and reflashing ECUs.
What options do we have currently ?
I know you can get plug in chip tweecers that do X Y and Z, but is there also an option where you can just plug in a laptop, flash the existing ECU, unplug the laptop and away you go ? There was mention of that, but reading around I'm not sure if you have to have a chip and install it in order to do so.

I really don't want to have to spend thousands on programmable chips but I'd like to remove or raise the rev limit on my EF now that I have a new engine that will rev higher. Removing the speed limiter and better fuel maps would be nice too :)

 

_________________

ImageImage

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 10:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1440

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: 320kw BA XR8

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

You cannot just rewrite the factory computer because ford has locked that info and protected it. The Tweecer is a great unit and can change nearly any parameter in the EEC but at the moment it only really has support for the EB&ED V8 EECIV's. For the I6, you will need to look at a programable chip like a chiptorque. The realtime tuned chips are the best but cost around $1k, preprogrammed ones are about $600.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 10:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

And oddly enough : If Mr Chiptorque was interested in helping a community instead of ripping them off, he would be able to tell us exactly what we could change using tweecer to tune the 6, 8 and any other e4ec-iv and v hes touched.

I didnt like his attitude "You dont know what your talking about", and the arrogance that I'll get his stuff just cause he has it. That was what had me walk out the door. Id much rather dissasemble the ford ecu and use a tweecer than give him anything.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 10:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1518

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Power: 175 rwkw

Location: The Shire, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Damn :(
Ok, so you can't unlock the ford codes - can you dump data from one ECU to another then using the tweecer ?

 

_________________

ImageImage

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 10:28 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

EMS 8860 is what ya want
jon SVO XR6 has one and it is f**k unreal the power and econ he gets is madness try 212rwhp and at least 650-700k's a tankl

up from around 180rwhp and 300k's a tank all he did was add the ems

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 10:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1518

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Power: 175 rwkw

Location: The Shire, Sydney
NSW, Australia

How much though ? It'd have to save me alot in petrol to pay itself off :)

edit: just had a browse at this site
http://www.enginemanagement.com.au/prod ... cts_id=108
seems they go for around $1600. They sound mighty cool, but its way more than what I want to spend. My whole engine cost me half that!

 

_________________

ImageImage

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 10:45 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3097

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: VU SS

Location: Ivanhoe
NSW, Australia

Far out Frank, really? That sounds awesome!
Gotta get me one of them, for the economy more than anything.

 

_________________

EF Fairmont now Sold!
Guides: Polishing|Modifications |Manual Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 1:27 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1518

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Power: 175 rwkw

Location: The Shire, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Just looking at the specs of that EMS 8860 and the 4424 Stinger offers very similar features for under a grand. It seems the only real difference is related to the "Real-time insertion of RPM and load sites" So tempting with all those cool features.
Arrrh.... must resist... :)

 

_________________

ImageImage

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 2:15 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2450

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: NL V8 Fairlane

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Come to the dyno day, talk to the man himself XR9Ute all about it. I think Chiptorque does the same thing as the TwEECer so I've heard as you plug it into the EEC and go from there.. Have the same features except for adjusting shift patterns.. No idea when it will be available for EECV for EF/EL. Next year I believe..

 

_________________

There are 10 types of people in this world.
Those who know binary and those who don't.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 2:18 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 409

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: Look at that RICE!!
SA, Australia

Can anyone remember who makes the adapter so i can keep my EECV to control my auto/CC/Dash/BEM etc etc?

 

_________________

Soo many idiots. So few bullets

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 3:05 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1518

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Power: 175 rwkw

Location: The Shire, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Yeah I'll come down to the dyno day and have a chat with xr9ute, assuming he's still coming. I actually PM'd him the day FM crashed but I dont think he ever got my message. My engine won't be ready to dyno unfortunately as I wont have enough Ks up on it.

 

_________________

ImageImage

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 8:12 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 575

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF

Location: Wodonga
VIC, Australia

I'm looking for something to control my EF also(now its turboed). I've been having a close look at the Greddy E-manage, Seems to have most of the features the rest have, but is very cheap..

Anyone else seen these E-manage ECU??

Cheers
Tim
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 8:38 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

Walkinshaw wrote:
Can anyone remember who makes the adapter so i can keep my EECV to control my auto/CC/Dash/BEM etc etc?


Probably just a Y harness walki. i.e. one loom, with the ECU connected to pins which used to control trans going to EEC and pins for engine management output/input going to new ECU. Can prolly do it yourself

Drone - yeah tweecer works the same as a chiptorque essentially. Plugs into the J3 port and substitutes values from there. Only difference is, can reprogram tweecer yourself with a laptop. Spose either way you'd want/need a dyno.

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 11:04 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 11791

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Holden VF Calais / NL FBT

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

Motec systems - ill proabbly be going down this route when the time comes
id really like to use tweecer as its nice to use all the factory sensors and wiring but its unfortunate that support is not yet a available for the eecv
i am keen to see the devlopments tho

 

_________________

Nicko

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 11:15 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1518

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Power: 175 rwkw

Location: The Shire, Sydney
NSW, Australia

tjb45 wrote:
Anyone else seen these E-manage ECU??

That's getting closer to what I want to spend :)
The unit itself looks pretty cheap but it looks like there's software, harnesses and other dohickies you need.

Flying performance have them here for $880
http://www.flyn.com.au/e-Manage.htm

Modyourcar.com.au for $626
http://www.modyourcar.com.au/product_in ... ts_id=2951

and cheapest of all $250 US off ebay ($330 AU)

Buy one and let me know how you go :D

 

_________________

ImageImage

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 5  [ 64 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 9:20 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names