Fordmods Logo

reprogramming a chip 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: reprogramming a chip
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 5:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 2280

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF Falcon 95

Location: Rosebud
VIC, Australia

I recently bought a chiptorque HP4 chip of a mate, and im wondering if i can put it in my car now, its for an EF 4 litre auto, but his car had a wade cam,extractors,exhaust and bigger injectors.

I've got the extractors and exhaust, but not the cam (yet). Is it good for the car to put it in now or wait till i get my cam, and on the subject of that, would i need it reprogrammed to suit a high lift cam such as JMM, or are the cam settings universal to a chip like that (would his injectors being bigger make any difference). Lots of questions i know but i have no idea in the ECU area of things.

Regards, Luke.

 

_________________

Cougar Zero makes my pants fit nice.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: reprogramming a chip
Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2004 4:49 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 59

Posts: 161

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Guildford
NSW, Australia

Hi there, I hope I can be some help. If you do not have the same specifications as the guy you bought the chip from it ain't goning to work for you. You might be able to fix the problem by going to an authorised ChipTorque reseller and have hime reprogram the chip for about $45.
That's what I did with my ChipTorque chip when I got extractors. Give it a go, you have nothing to loose.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2004 4:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

Yeah i agree with ol' blue text there.

But hey - not too hard to install/remove. Chuck it in and see how it goes.

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2004 7:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 2280

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF Falcon 95

Location: Rosebud
VIC, Australia

ive posted this in 6 cylinder forum and was pretty much told not to put it in yet as it will overfuel the engine and do bad bad things! Im gonna wait and get it reprogrammed to my ECU's hex code (apparantly it will not work as its programmed for my mates ECU hex) and also get it reprogrammed for my mods in a couple of months time most likely.

its up for sale but i had no idea how much it was worth so i wacked $650 on it (ebay), which im also told is wayyyy to much. oh well, if someone wants to buy it for that much they can go for it! if it doesnt sell ill keep it cause apparantly its worth reprogramming it cause it gives u a good performance gain

 

_________________

Cougar Zero makes my pants fit nice.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 2:06 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names