Fordmods Logo

reset ecu 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: reset ecu
Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2011 11:20 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 13

Joined: 18th Jul 2011

Ride: ef futura 95

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

hey people ,new here. wondering if i reset ecu will this cancel my 'check abs' light problem i have? Any feedback will be appreciated thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: reset ecu
Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2011 11:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 623

Joined: 24th May 2007

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: 97 TICKFORD XR6 Manaul

Location: Aldinga Beach
SA, Australia

no if there is a fault with your abs then itll come back on even if you reset the ecu
but there is no harm in trying just disconect the battery for 30 mins thatll reset the electronics
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: reset ecu
Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2011 11:34 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

If you have an ABS issue, you will need to reset the ABS Computer not the ECU.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: reset ecu
Posted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 12:06 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 66

Posts: 2548

Joined: 18th Mar 2006

Ride: EF-XR8chaser

Location: wollongong
NSW, Australia

back of brake discs the encoder wheels may be full of grease or dirt and has to be cleaned up.also clean the pick up head-black plastic with a small metal pickup in centre,do all 4 wheels.make sure all discs have the encoder rings fitted,if that doesnt fix it,1 pick up is faulty or unpluged.

 

_________________

R.I.P HANS HARTMAN

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: reset ecu
Posted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 2:51 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 13

Joined: 18th Jul 2011

Ride: ef futura 95

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

i hav checkd all abs sensors,fair bit of crap built up, cleaned them.visual check of brakes turned up nil. does any1 no about reset abs module? Alro my brake fluid is a dark shade of green ,maybe bleed brakes?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: reset ecu
Posted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 3:04 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 13

Joined: 18th Jul 2011

Ride: ef futura 95

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

i hav checkd all abs sensors,fair bit of crap built up, cleaned them.visual check of brakes turned up nil. does any1 no about reset abs module? Alro my brake fluid is a dark shade of green ,maybe bleed brakes?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: reset ecu
Posted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 3:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 66

Posts: 2548

Joined: 18th Mar 2006

Ride: EF-XR8chaser

Location: wollongong
NSW, Australia

corpse wrote:
i hav checkd all abs sensors,fair bit of crap built up, cleaned them.visual check of brakes turned up nil. does any1 no about reset abs module? Alro my brake fluid is a dark shade of green ,maybe bleed brakes?

bleed or flush the crapout?are all calipers working,the light should reset when the fault is fixed.i have had calipers off and drained the lines,bled the system,ok.how may ks on the unit?

 

_________________

R.I.P HANS HARTMAN

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: reset ecu
Posted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 10:02 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 13

Joined: 18th Jul 2011

Ride: ef futura 95

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

havent checkd calipers,encoder rings- did u meen abs sensor? Wood my cruz control not working hav n e thing 2 do wit it?how wood i reset abs ecu?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: reset ecu
Posted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 10:03 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 13

Joined: 18th Jul 2011

Ride: ef futura 95

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

havent checkd calipers,encoder rings- did u meen abs sensor? Wood my cruz control not working hav n e thing 2 do wit it?how wood i reset abs ecu?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: reset ecu
Posted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 10:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 4599

Joined: 30th Aug 2010

Ride: BF XR6,

Location: NEWCASTLE
NSW, Australia

you need to physically fix the problem then wipe the codes from the brakes safety check feature, the codes that are flashing up will need to be wiped one by one if theres more than 1, look it up in the tech docos and check what codes are flashing up and come back to us with a question on how to fix the problem

 

_________________

BF XR6
xr8 snorkel,typhoon lower snorkel,territory intake pipe,20% underdrive kit,pacemaker extractors,high flow cat,xforce exhaust,t56 conversion hd turbo clutch/ flywheel,m86 3.45 lsd,custom tune187.1rwkw as an auto

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: reset ecu
Posted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 10:14 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 13

Joined: 18th Jul 2011

Ride: ef futura 95

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

also its done 303k, thought cr-cntrl deactivator switch on master cylinder may b suspect, checkd with meter resulting in 0.00 ohms, same as plug from that switch. shouldnt it b 1 ohms closed?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: reset ecu
Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2011 10:16 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 13

Joined: 18th Jul 2011

Ride: ef futura 95

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

started abs diagnostic testing, come up wit 34= rear left speed sensor, yet 2 replace or meter will do next wk end. Once sorted will erase code, test again hopefuly will be ok. Thanks bry401 4 refering tech resourses and knowledge much apprec.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 12 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 5:06 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names