Fordmods Logo

Fordmods Advertising

Resetting your ECU. 


Page 2 of 2 [ 22 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

Posted: Mon May 08, 2006 12:32 am 
Getting Side Ways
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Resetting the ecu wont fix anything that wont fix itself within a few days, and it will take that long for the computer to learn anyway. I find it easier to let the computer sort itself out.



Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

 Post subject: Everything?
Posted: Fri Mar 09, 2007 4:02 pm 
Stock as a Rock

Posts: 189

Joined: 5th Mar 2007

Ride: 94 Futura

Location: Midland
WA, Australia

stockstandard wrote:
Resetting the ecu wont fix anything that wont fix itself within a few days, and it will take that long for the computer to learn anyway. I find it easier to let the computer sort itself out.

Will it learn the WOT settings?
Posted: Fri Mar 09, 2007 4:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 624

Joined: 5th Jul 2005

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: Fairlane NC

Location: Melbourne. SE
VIC, Australia

i reset my ecu wednes day as an experiment because i know it wasent done properly when the engine was put in and it started perfectly on gas first time which it wasent doing but now seems to be back to normal; ill see how it goes over the next week or so.



NC Fairlane Ghia. AU engine. Pacemaker 4499. 2.5" Redback Zorst, tints, red dash. 17in ba xr (e-series). Suzuki Across (suzi) Sexy in Black

Posted: Mon May 07, 2007 6:00 pm 
Oompa Loompa

Age: 28

Posts: 22

Joined: 19th Apr 2007

Ride: EB

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

i think it made mine run worse fuel avg is up the s**t
Posted: Wed May 16, 2007 10:10 pm 
Oompa Loompa
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 23

Joined: 10th May 2007

Ride: EL Falcon

Location: Bayside Brisbane
QLD, Australia

efbignik wrote:
(this is not my post i came across it)

I found this thread the other day while doing a search as despite what people have said, that all you need to do to reset the ECU is just a matter of taking the Negative off the Battery for 2 hours or overnight then re-connecting it and then thrash your ride for the next 2 days. Nooo not at all! As their is a complete set of steps you have to do to after you have reconnected the battery which are as follows. Thanks to GTBob and Itchione for their input with these instructions from the EF & EL Workshop Manual:

Any time the battery is disconnected, the transmission must re-learn the closed and wide-open throttle positions to enable the PCM to determine the proper gear to select for the appropriate throttle position. If the calibration is not performed following power source interruption, the transmission will shift hard and perform poorly from then on.

So to calibrate as follows:

First of all drive the car to normal engine temp and the thermostat has opened etc
Then to verify the correct idlespeed of the engine the following 4 steps should be taken with the vehicle being idled while stationary for approx 1-2 minute in each of the following conditions.

1. Neutral with all electrical loads OFF.
2. Neutral with Air conditioning ON.
3. *Drive with all electrical loads OFF.
4. *Drive with Air conditioning ON.

After all this has been done then proceed to go on and to do these steps which actually set the TPS values;

5. *To set the closed throttle referance position , place the transmission
in Drive, Air con off, and let the engine idle for a minimum of 1 minute.
6. Next, set the wide-open throttle reference position by turning the
engine off- but leave the ignition switch to the "ON," position, ie;Idiot lights on etc, then press the accelerator
pedal to the floor and hold it their for 1 minute, minimum.
7. Then Place the gear selector to Park and switch off the ignition.
8. Drive the vehicle and check for proper shifting patterns.

*As a clarifying note, I guess that for steps 3, 4 & 5 you can place the car in D with the handbrake firmly applied.

I recently followed these steps and I must say my Falcon has a lot more smoother and responsive acceleration now

I have also done this method of resetting Ecu for the past 2 years after seeing the light. As I have found after doing that set procedure and then driving an initial 250km the Power and smoothness in acceleration always flattens out quite nicely



SIGNITURE REMOVED. pics must not exceed 120x500 pixles.

 Post subject: Re: Resetting your ECU.
Posted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 4:27 am 
Fordmods Newbie

Age: 25

Posts: 1

Joined: 9th May 2014

Ride: AU2 Falcon

Location: Beaconsfield
TAS, Australia

As much as this may be bumping an old post.

I'm unable to follow the right procedure as my AC Compressor is currently FUBAR and needs replacement - It's in free-wheel mode and I can drive the car.

IS it viable to still do without being able to turn A/C on?
 Post subject: Re: Resetting your ECU.
Posted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 12:02 pm 

Posts: 14496

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

you dont necessarily need to follow the procedure, just drive the car and it will learn its idle and light throttle as you drive..
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum



It is currently Sat Oct 29, 2016 4:56 am All times are UTC + 11 hours



(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names