Fordmods Logo

speed limiter 

 

Page 1 of 3 [ 34 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: speed limiter
Posted: Sun Nov 28, 2004 1:19 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 28

Joined: 28th Nov 2004

Ride: AU XR8 Series 3

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

after changing the diff ratio in a friends EF, we have since found that the speed limiter cuts in at 140... is there any way of removing the limiter via software, or will we have to do it the hard way and get a pulse multiplier/divider and bend the VSS signals?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 28, 2004 2:21 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

We assume you have also changed the speedo gear in the transmission to suit the new ratio?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 28, 2004 2:42 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 28

Joined: 28th Nov 2004

Ride: AU XR8 Series 3

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

hmmm... if my memory serves me correct all the ones ive replaced before in taxis had the same red(ish) gear, all the way from ED when i started to the EL's... all the AUs were still under factory warranty when i left so i never had to do anything on them.
Although... correct me if im wrong, but the gearbox output speed should still be the same as with the standard diff, just turning the wheels more times per GB revolution should it not??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 28, 2004 2:51 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

If they had the same colour it means they were all for the same diff, which im guessing is for a 3.08.

If you change the diff, the speed at which the gearbox output is the same, but the speed at which the wheels turn is different. The different speedo gears compensate for this.

What diff did you take out, and what did you replace it with.

http://www.fordmods.com/phpBB2/documents.php?doc=30

See that link for further info...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 28, 2004 4:44 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 284

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Location: x
NSW, Australia

go and get a black 23 tooth speedo drive gear from ford for $8 and put that in. It will get the speedo closer to reality and up the speed limiter.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 28, 2004 9:13 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

jonbays wrote:
go and get a black 23 tooth speedo drive gear from ford for $8 and put that in. It will get the speedo closer to reality and up the speed limiter.
yer and the limiter is 180 not 140 so your spedo is now 40kmhr out!

only way to remvove limiter is for xr ecu

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 30, 2004 5:27 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 64

Posts: 225

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Ride: EDV8 Fairmont

Location: perth
WA, Australia

I have ED 5.0L Fairmont - i think diff is open centre 3.27. Am doing engine mods for more KW.
Can I change diff to LSD from NC Fairlane and change ratio to 3.45 for more acceleration?
Apart from speedo sender gear what else needs change ?
Does the EECIV need changing/edit?
Any conflict with auto trans ratios?

Richie

 

_________________

1993 ED F/mont 5.0L, Auto, Edelbrock RPM's, CompCam XE276HR, Crane Gold Race 1.7's, Edelbrock Performer, 75mm T/B, MAP, 42lb , GenIII coils, PH4000's , Twin 2.5", Thermos & underspeeds, 3.7 LSD, 2800 stall and MoTec M800, 372fwhp @ 5400rpm & 387 ft-lb @ 4400 rpm.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 7:28 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 47

Posts: 189

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: FGX xr6

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I thought AUs were the first ones with a speed limiter. Feel free to flame me if I'm wrong, but I aint never heard of anything earlier than AU being limited.........

 

_________________

-Dave

If you can't do the speed limit, get the F*ck out of the right lane!
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 8:12 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 256

Joined: 13th Nov 2004

Ride: AU1 XR6 VCT

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

There is only one way to remove the limiter and keep the speedo correct.

Brief note: The limiter is controlled by the ECU and is not an actual speed limiter as much as a tailshaft rpm to gear ratio limiter. That is why when changing the diff the speed limititer drops. As far as the ECU knows the car still has the original diff gears. Therefore X rpm in X gear = 180kph, the safe operating point of the tailshaft. Unfortunatly, with a different diff, this calculation produces a lower speed as it takes more rpm's to achieve the same speed.
The only way to change this is to either increase or remove this limiter and that, at this point, is only possible through a chiptorque chip that plugs into the ECU and overrides certian parts of it.

Also, be warned, that tailshaft limit is there for a reason and WILL start to vibrate quite badly.

The XR's had a different tailshaft and therefor had a higher limit.

 

_________________

Image
AU XR6 VCT 14.57 @ 92.92mph.
Auto - NA - Unopened
Proudly tuned and prepared by G&D Performance Tuning - Get the Edge!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 9:14 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Nanger wrote:
I thought AUs were the first ones with a speed limiter. Feel free to flame me if I'm wrong, but I aint never heard of anything earlier than AU being limited.........


nope e series were all limited bar the xr's
i know 1 ef and my dad eb is limited as well

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 9:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2976

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BF Typhoon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

EL GT and NL FBT arent Limited as such, could swap ECU's..
The ECU is hard to get ahold of, but not impossible! :wink:

 

_________________

BF Typhoon, Dejavu - 6sp Auto, Leather, Sunroof, 19"s, Electric Pedals, Tint, FPV Sports Wheel, FPV Mats.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 10:47 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 256

Joined: 13th Nov 2004

Ride: AU1 XR6 VCT

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Actually, I have to change my comment on the chiptorque chip being the only way. There is also a way to do it with the unichip too called speed clipping. Although the unichip cant change rev limiters etc it can remove the limiter. So there you go, another piece of info for you all.

 

_________________

Image
AU XR6 VCT 14.57 @ 92.92mph.
Auto - NA - Unopened
Proudly tuned and prepared by G&D Performance Tuning - Get the Edge!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 05, 2004 1:26 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 107

Joined: 1st Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: ED futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

i think speed limiter came in on EB seris II... when i looked at a EB XR8 about 6 months ago the guy said it was the last model before speed limiters... my cousins EA 5 speed mont would sit on 200 so that wasnt limited

 

_________________

It puts the lotion on its skin.. or else it gets the hose again!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 10, 2004 1:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 451

Joined: 29th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: XR8(EF) & XR8BOSS290 Ute(FG)

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

If its auto and you change the speedo gear alone you will bugger up the shift patterns :shock:

 

_________________

________________________________________

Better off with not enough traction than not enough power.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 11, 2004 12:10 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 1097

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: GU patrol, XH XR6, Isuzu Mux

Location: Mackay
QLD, Australia

are speed limiters on a standard falcon different then a fairmont?? coz I can get 191Km/h out of mine before cutout.

 

_________________

' 96 Xh XR6 Ute
'96 DF LTD 6cy
'08 GU Nissan Patrol
'15 Isuzu MUX LST

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 3  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 7:50 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names