Fordmods Logo

throttle bodys au to ba 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: throttle bodys au to ba
Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 6:24 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 45

Posts: 5

Joined: 28th Jan 2013

Ride: falcon and tf cortina

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

can a au falcon throttle be mounted to a ba engine if i take ba throttle body off and put au one on ????
and can a 2002 ba motor bolt straight into a au k frame to ???
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: throttle bodys au to ba
Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1507

Joined: 14th Aug 2009

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: BA XT V8

Location: Gosnells, Perth
WA, Australia

unsure of TB from au to ba. as ba has electronic TB i would assume they are a bit different.

ba motor onto au k-frame, it fouls the front by about a inch or so, so it had to be modified.

search au barra conversion. there should be plenty of threads covering it.

 

_________________

BA XT V8. Ice Mint. 18" Speedys. XR6T LSD. Full Pacemaker twin 2 1/2inch Stainless Steel system. Custom CAI. Black XR interior with white trimming. Powerbond underdrive kit 25%.
13.65@102mph. 2800 hi-Stall.
230RWKW@5250 rpm. 625NM.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: throttle bodys au to ba
Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:36 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

Benny D wrote:
unsure of TB from au to ba. as ba has electronic TB i would assume they are a bit different.

ba motor onto au k-frame, it fouls the front by about a inch or so, so it had to be modified.

search au barra conversion. there should be plenty of threads covering it.



benny, you need to do research yourself before posting dude..


ba engine will fit directly onto au k frame as the k frame and suspension is the same as ba/bf..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: throttle bodys au to ba
Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 8:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1507

Joined: 14th Aug 2009

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: BA XT V8

Location: Gosnells, Perth
WA, Australia

O shlt, was thinking barra into e series.. My bad.

 

_________________

BA XT V8. Ice Mint. 18" Speedys. XR6T LSD. Full Pacemaker twin 2 1/2inch Stainless Steel system. Custom CAI. Black XR interior with white trimming. Powerbond underdrive kit 25%.
13.65@102mph. 2800 hi-Stall.
230RWKW@5250 rpm. 625NM.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: throttle bodys au to ba
Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 10:17 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 45

Posts: 5

Joined: 28th Jan 2013

Ride: falcon and tf cortina

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

so i use au engine mounts or i goto custom make engine mounts
cheers for the answers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: throttle bodys au to ba
Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 10:28 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

you can use either au or ba, both will fit...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: throttle bodys au to ba
Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 10:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 1060

Joined: 5th Jan 2011

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: "08 XR6T Ute

Location: Northside - Brisbane
QLD, Australia

At the risk of sounding silly... Does that also mean FG to AU is more of less the same swap as B series to AU?

 

_________________

"08 XR6T Ute

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: throttle bodys au to ba
Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 10:48 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

not quite, fg has a different k frame design, which means different sump.

e series,au,ba and bf has the low section of the sump at the front of the engine, fg has it at the rear.. which also means the fg dip stick is in a different spot also...
so early fg can have ba/bf sumps fitted as the early fg block has the provision for the dipstick to be fitted either front or rear( bf/fg block)..
but latter bf one dont...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: throttle bodys au to ba
Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 11:41 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 45

Posts: 5

Joined: 28th Jan 2013

Ride: falcon and tf cortina

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

its for a race car thats all cant be street driven
i will have to find out if the au throttle body will bolt up to the ba if i take the ba tb off
thats my only other concern
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: throttle bodys au to ba
Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 11:49 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

you can fit the au upper manifold with the throttle body onto the ba lower manifold...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: throttle bodys au to ba
Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 11:56 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 45

Posts: 5

Joined: 28th Jan 2013

Ride: falcon and tf cortina

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

ok cool cheers i have asked people and been told alot of different storys lol
i just didnt want to go through all the dramas of changeing from a normal au accerlator cable to a ba one lol
so hopefully it will be a simple engine move i will post pics up when its done so i can show them how easy it was
cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: throttle bodys au to ba
Posted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 7:32 am 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

what ecu are you going to use??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: throttle bodys au to ba
Posted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 11:32 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 45

Posts: 5

Joined: 28th Jan 2013

Ride: falcon and tf cortina

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

i was going to use the ba computer that came with the motor is there a better ecu to use
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: throttle bodys au to ba
Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2013 8:26 am 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

if your going to run the ba computer you will need to use the ba throttle body and flyby wire pedal.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:44 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names