Fordmods Logo

Tuning 4.0L SOHC with Moates Quarterhorse Chip 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 25 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
 Post subject: Re: Tuning 4.0L SOHC with Moates Quarterhorse Chip
Posted: Mon Dec 09, 2013 5:04 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

Can't see why not. It is still basicly a J3 but as you said with tuning on the fly. No more having to pull the chip out, burn it and plug it back in. Once I work out the tuning side, with the help of Troyman and Warmachine .... Hint Hint :wink: , I will see what I can get it the live data log. If not, it will make tuning on the Dyno easier.

Have a small issue with the tune that was loaded on it, s**t AFR's, it was supposidly a 4TBD "Performance Tune", I just wanted a stock tune uploaded, so I am going to plug back in the 4TBC ECU tomorrow and see what the difference is with the AFR's etc.

Tune is good except for the AFR's and also it has a high idle which has been set in the tune for the ISC, Idle is only 850 to 900 in Neutral which isn't too bad.

Will see what the old ECU gives me tomorrow.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Tuning 4.0L SOHC with Moates Quarterhorse Chip
Posted: Mon Dec 09, 2013 5:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 1110

Joined: 27th Dec 2011

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: ef falcon futura

Power: 154 rwkw

Location: Koo Wee Rup
VIC, Australia

i have a copy of a stock 4TBD tune if you want a copy of it?

 

_________________

ef futura, pacemakers, 2.5inch catback, k&n panel filter and 3.45 lsd. extractors/cat, ticky head, custom cam grind, t5. now onto cosmetics.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Tuning 4.0L SOHC with Moates Quarterhorse Chip
Posted: Mon Dec 09, 2013 6:46 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

That would be great.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Tuning 4.0L SOHC with Moates Quarterhorse Chip
Posted: Mon Dec 09, 2013 6:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 1110

Joined: 27th Dec 2011

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: ef falcon futura

Power: 154 rwkw

Location: Koo Wee Rup
VIC, Australia

will need an email address as i cant send .bin through pm here

 

_________________

ef futura, pacemakers, 2.5inch catback, k&n panel filter and 3.45 lsd. extractors/cat, ticky head, custom cam grind, t5. now onto cosmetics.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Tuning 4.0L SOHC with Moates Quarterhorse Chip
Posted: Mon Dec 09, 2013 7:33 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

PM sent

Thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Tuning 4.0L SOHC with Moates Quarterhorse Chip
Posted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 2:03 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 807

Joined: 28th Oct 2008

Location: melburn
VIC, Australia

how are you going with this dude?
think you can get the patch made in america for around the $100 mark on some forums.
if its a bit more, what if a few of us chipped in?
i'd be happy to pay $50-$70 kinda thing to get the patch made, thats if it gave us data logging guaranteed lol.

otherwise, we can brainstorm s**t together and mayeb if we all attack it we can get it done?
i'm super keen on this lol.

 

_________________

XG Panelvan
mild engine, EL ECU & J3, HI6 & MSD coil

in the shed - .595" lift cam, GT4202, forged AU engine, ems 4424 ecu, glide & 5500 stall - next-bellhousing

XH ute daily - DOHC BA XR6 engine, T5, AU3 ECU, J3 chip, wideband & logger, ported BBM, 3" intake

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Tuning 4.0L SOHC with Moates Quarterhorse Chip
Posted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 8:38 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

How is someone in the US going to do a patch for an I6 ECU? Most of them over there don't even know what a 4.0l I6 is.

Moates will do work for me but as I said will cost.

I have been told this couldn't be done, don't waste my time etc. Well the car is running on the chip.

I just need update my laptop so I can run the software.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Tuning 4.0L SOHC with Moates Quarterhorse Chip
Posted: Wed Jan 22, 2014 1:28 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 807

Joined: 28th Oct 2008

Location: melburn
VIC, Australia

from what i understand, you just send the bin and def file and they create the patch from that...
i may not understand it correctly though :)

i'd be happy to contribute if it came to paying, but also happy to help in any way.
let us know how you go and what you need to get it 100% working.

would love to have the data logging working.

 

_________________

XG Panelvan
mild engine, EL ECU & J3, HI6 & MSD coil

in the shed - .595" lift cam, GT4202, forged AU engine, ems 4424 ecu, glide & 5500 stall - next-bellhousing

XH ute daily - DOHC BA XR6 engine, T5, AU3 ECU, J3 chip, wideband & logger, ported BBM, 3" intake

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Tuning 4.0L SOHC with Moates Quarterhorse Chip
Posted: Wed Jan 22, 2014 11:22 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

misk_one wrote:
from what i understand, you just send the bin and def file and they create the patch from that...
i may not understand it correctly though :)

i'd be happy to contribute if it came to paying, but also happy to help in any way.
let us know how you go and what you need to get it 100% working.

would love to have the data logging working.


Moates require the ECU as well as the Files required. I know this because I asked the question.

Plenty of support is it is US V8 or V6. Not a big market for I6. Also our ECCV is not a True EECV as the US. Ours is more EEC4.5.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Tuning 4.0L SOHC with Moates Quarterhorse Chip
Posted: Thu Jan 23, 2014 1:41 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 807

Joined: 28th Oct 2008

Location: melburn
VIC, Australia

id be happy to pay for the ECU to be sent over.
i still dont see a reason why it cant work

 

_________________

XG Panelvan
mild engine, EL ECU & J3, HI6 & MSD coil

in the shed - .595" lift cam, GT4202, forged AU engine, ems 4424 ecu, glide & 5500 stall - next-bellhousing

XH ute daily - DOHC BA XR6 engine, T5, AU3 ECU, J3 chip, wideband & logger, ported BBM, 3" intake

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mad351 and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 9:27 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names