Fordmods Logo

VCM Suite , HP Tuner and Mongoose Cables. 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: VCM Suite , HP Tuner and Mongoose Cables.
Posted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 4:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 4629

Joined: 23rd Nov 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: 5.0 AU's and 5.0 Maverick

Power: 139 rwkw

Location: Sydney West
NSW, Australia

Ok all.
Providing the sale of my Windsor conversion gear goes through like its meant to , within the next few months Ill be embarking on a Barra Swap into my GU Patrol.
So Im looking at tuning options.
Basically I need to do a few things to make it work.
1. Disable PATS
2. Change VSS input to Hall Effect instead of CAN BUS
3. Change Diff Ratio
4. Change Tyre Revs per mile.

Then in the further future Ill be changing the tune from NA to Turbo once I fit the turbo gear.

I have the option of sending my ECU off to Bullet Performance Racing or Similar and having it reflashed to what I need for about $400. That is no issue.
BUT I am thinking I might be better off spending a bit more and buying some tuning gear and doing it myself , mainly for the reason that if Im on an extended holiday many miles from home and lose a PCM , I can get one from the nearest wreckers , plug it in and make the tune changes myself and get back on the road instead of having to arrange another unit , send it to BPR and wait for it to be sent to wherever I am in the country.

So what setup if any will allow me to do what I want to do?
Has anyone got any links or info they can share with me? I know Frankieh in WA is playing with this stuff pretty heavily and I have contacted him , but accidently deleated the PM he sent me..............

So if this stuff gets out in the public viewing area it will be better for anyone looking at this setup anyway.
Cheers

 

_________________

xr6turnip wrote:
More people paid for a ride in a VT commodore then an AU Falcon so the VT is superior.
Based on that fact my Mum is the best around!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: VCM Suite , HP Tuner and Mongoose Cables.
Posted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 5:18 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

Get yourself the SCT X4 Matt. You can do all that through it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: VCM Suite , HP Tuner and Mongoose Cables.
Posted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 5:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 4629

Joined: 23rd Nov 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: 5.0 AU's and 5.0 Maverick

Power: 139 rwkw

Location: Sydney West
NSW, Australia

SWC wrote:
Get yourself the SCT X4 Matt. You can do all that through it.


I did think of that but I am of the understanding that the SCT needs to be setup by a distributor and then is VIN locked.
So I wont be able to use it to set up another PCM miles away in the off chance that one f**k out.

 

_________________

xr6turnip wrote:
More people paid for a ride in a VT commodore then an AU Falcon so the VT is superior.
Based on that fact my Mum is the best around!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: VCM Suite , HP Tuner and Mongoose Cables.
Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2014 12:02 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 4629

Joined: 23rd Nov 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: 5.0 AU's and 5.0 Maverick

Power: 139 rwkw

Location: Sydney West
NSW, Australia

I have contacted Herrod about the SCT X4 and recived a reply.
Straight out said that changing the VSS to Hall Effect instead of can is not possible at all and to just ring them.
That's a load of s**t as other people have done it.
His reply was somewhat blunt.
I think Ill be looking at other options.

 

_________________

xr6turnip wrote:
More people paid for a ride in a VT commodore then an AU Falcon so the VT is superior.
Based on that fact my Mum is the best around!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: VCM Suite , HP Tuner and Mongoose Cables.
Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2014 12:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 429

Joined: 3rd Jan 2005

Ride: AU XR6 with BF Turbo engine

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Matt, with the SCT you can return the original ecu to stock and reflash the tune to a new ecu. You can do this 5 times before it has a dummy spit. Joe @ CMS can set the speedo etc up for you

 

_________________

RIP :( 1x confused Falcon..EL Falcon with full AU running gear...VCT, 5 speed, IRS, AUII front suspension, brakes, and steering RIP

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: VCM Suite , HP Tuner and Mongoose Cables.
Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2014 9:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 4629

Joined: 23rd Nov 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: 5.0 AU's and 5.0 Maverick

Power: 139 rwkw

Location: Sydney West
NSW, Australia

macxr8 wrote:
Matt, with the SCT you can return the original ecu to stock and reflash the tune to a new ecu. You can do this 5 times before it has a dummy spit. Joe @ CMS can set the speedo etc up for you


So it is something I could do on the side of a track by myself with no issues?

 

_________________

xr6turnip wrote:
More people paid for a ride in a VT commodore then an AU Falcon so the VT is superior.
Based on that fact my Mum is the best around!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: VCM Suite , HP Tuner and Mongoose Cables.
Posted: Fri Sep 12, 2014 8:08 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 429

Joined: 3rd Jan 2005

Ride: AU XR6 with BF Turbo engine

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

usually yes :)

 

_________________

RIP :( 1x confused Falcon..EL Falcon with full AU running gear...VCT, 5 speed, IRS, AUII front suspension, brakes, and steering RIP

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: VCM Suite , HP Tuner and Mongoose Cables.
Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2014 2:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

Matt_jew wrote:
I have contacted Herrod about the SCT X4 and recived a reply.
Straight out said that changing the VSS to Hall Effect instead of can is not possible at all and to just ring them.
That's a load of s**t as other people have done it.
His reply was somewhat blunt.
I think Ill be looking at other options.
Talking s**t...exactly that has been done mine and I was there when it was done by Ford service department. It is an option for BA and possibly later utes without ABS, so the VSS signal has to come from somewhere other than the ABS, the faithful gearbox sender from the E and A series.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 9:07 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names