Fordmods Logo

Whats the max KW for the stock pump? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Whats the max KW for the stock pump?
Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1960

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 22 images

Power: 315 rwkw

Location: Under the flight path of incoming packpackers
NSW, Australia

Anyone know this from experience? ie, you had leaning out at high rpm due to fuel supply? Thinking mines at its limit now.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2005 9:02 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

When I was replacing mine most people told me around 250rwkw I think... but maybe they were trying to sell... who knows.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2005 9:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1960

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 22 images

Power: 315 rwkw

Location: Under the flight path of incoming packpackers
NSW, Australia

yeah, Im sitting at around that kw so maybe its at the end
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2005 9:10 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

didn't you have a walbro in there? It's good to have a consistent fuel supply anyway, so its probably a necessary upgrade either way.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2005 9:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1960

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 22 images

Power: 315 rwkw

Location: Under the flight path of incoming packpackers
NSW, Australia

I had a Walbro in the EA, but when I put it in the ED it wouldnt work... dunno if I dropped it and broke it while it was in between cars, or it just died... I have a new stock one in there now
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2005 9:16 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

hmm.. when I put mine in the other day.. wouldn't work... ended up been the polarity. Took it out, and put it back in a million times trying to figure it out... switched the wires... bam, start. But anyway, thats a different topic.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2005 9:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1960

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 22 images

Power: 315 rwkw

Location: Under the flight path of incoming packpackers
NSW, Australia

I did all that too... EA wires are opposite to ED for some reason... I could hear it going, just not pumping
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2005 9:23 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

yeah, mine was making noise aswell.. just not pumping... reversed the wires and 3000% less noise, and car runs.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2005 9:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1960

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 22 images

Power: 315 rwkw

Location: Under the flight path of incoming packpackers
NSW, Australia

ok, maybe I'll have a go at it again tomorow, will be nice if I dont have to buy a new one
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2005 9:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1440

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: 320kw BA XR8

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Mine maxed out at only 180rwkw but most people I talk to say 220-250rwkw. For the price of a walbro pump I would always just run one as soon as I started modifying the engine, especially with forced induction.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2005 9:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1960

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 22 images

Power: 315 rwkw

Location: Under the flight path of incoming packpackers
NSW, Australia

Ok, 220/250 sounds about right then

Thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 08, 2005 1:35 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

L/H=HPxBSFCx0.6094x1.3

Stock pump has approx 90L/HR.

Therefore HP=L/H / (BSFCx0.6094x1.3)

HP= 90 / (0.5x0.6094x1.3)

HP= 90 / 0.39611

HP= 227.2

If your engine is very efficient you can sometimes get Brake Specific Fuel Consumption(BSFC) rates of less than 0.5. Obviously this would increase the power rating. Forced applications however generally run in the 0.6 range due to energy losses, therefore the pump capability is diminished eg;

HP= 90 / (0.6x0.6094x1.3)

HP= 90 / 0.4753

HP= 189.3

Pete.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 08, 2005 2:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

EF/EL ones fit without any issue, just have to swap the fuel sender over, do they support any more KW.

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 08, 2005 4:50 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Dellboy999 wrote:
EF/EL ones fit without any issue, just have to swap the fuel sender over, do they support any more KW.


Nope...they are the same.

Pete.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 08, 2005 4:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

XR9UTE wrote:
Dellboy999 wrote:
EF/EL ones fit without any issue, just have to swap the fuel sender over, do they support any more KW.


Nope...they are the same.

Pete.


Guessed as much, but worth asking :)

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 15 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 2:57 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names