Fordmods Logo

Where to get Diagnostic Plug? 

 

Page 2 of 3 [ 43 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

 
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 11:20 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3097

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: VU SS

Location: Ivanhoe
NSW, Australia

Hehe, cool.

So what other outputs are there from the diagnostic plug?

Jeez you could make a cool little device with a bit of time and effort.

 

_________________

EF Fairmont now Sold!
Guides: Polishing|Modifications |Manual Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 12:28 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I haven't read into it too much, but yeah, the diagnostic connector is a useful little thing. Ill test some stuff with the other pins, see what happens, gotta do some more reading.

As for a cool little device, I guess that data logger is what you would end up with if you put some time and effort into it... I dunno fi yuo saw it, the guy had it in his EF? and it logged RPM, time, fuel, and some other stuff...

I just want something basic, but if there's potential for other cool things from there, then why not.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 2:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 516

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL Manual

Location: S.E. Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Yeah I have done a bit of mucking around with the diagnostic port and PICAXE micro's.

Counting pulses and interfacing an LCD would be easy. Although the PICAXE only has 2K code space max so writing error codes would be hard on that.

I have written a program that displays a bargraph on the "vehicle datalogger" and I get the Tach input from that pin on the diagnostic connector. Unfortunately the other pins dont generate any easily readable signals so all you can get from it is error codes, tach and batt V.

I am using a more advanced chip with a bigger display for version 2.0 I might also integrate a code reading function.

If you don't know much about microcontrollers a picaxe development board is a good start. Easy to get into and writing programs but not too powerfull. about $50 - $70 from jaycar. LCD is about $30-50.

 

_________________

Manual EL Gli.
Mods: Crow Stg3, Chiptorque Dynotune. Lukey Exhaust. DBA slotted rotors, EBC Pads. Whiteline Low Susp. EL GT Swaybars, ROH Envy 17 x235 wheels. Vehicle Datalogger Display V2.0,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 2:48 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Ive read up on PICAXE, and its not my "cup of tea", cos from what I see they use BASIC, and that is limitied in my opinion. Id prefer C, and Assembly.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 4:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 492

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: EF Fairmont Wagon, ph34r!

Location: Northam
WA, Australia

Programming a PIC in assembler isn't all that hard. The software is pretty much free and the programming interface is fairly simple - at least on the ones I was messing with a few years back. Complete development kits are also available reasonably cheaply.

 

_________________

Team Argon Silver

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 5:18 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

voxace wrote:
Ahah, lol. So multiple d**k/vaginas hey. Well that convention is just stupid - but I'll take note of it. Thanks.


Just wait til you get into the computer world. we've got:

homo/leso/bi gender benders (all male, all female, both)
and
haemophrodite cables (got both ends!!)

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: vt radio plug DON'T FIT
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 12:34 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 183

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: NC fairlane + f150 4X4

Location: berwick
VIC, Australia

just brought an (aerpro 711784H )for vt comadores which looked very similar to the ford self test plug.

IT DON'T FIT :cry:

Ford plug has more pins and the guide lugs are offset.
looks like wredking yard and wire cutters for me.

very interested in progress of home built code reader any info would be great

 

_________________

If mistakes are the best way to learn why the hell arn't I a freekin genius yet.

I AM THE SPELLING KING BEHOLD MY
ineqati-inekwati-enequoati.....crapness!

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 1:26 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

lol, if you're referring to me, progress = no time. it's just a thought thats been lindering for a while now. If you want any information, just ask.

Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 10, 2005 6:55 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 514

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: V8 VE Calais V Spec

Power: 262 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

The EF Low and Mid Series BEM (Lower Connector) Fits the diagnostic connector like a charm.

I have a simple breakout box that I made for work, that has a couple of switches and LEDs to display error codes for the EEC, Trans computer (V8) Airbag, ABS, and one for the fuel pump.

Ive always been thinking of connecting the pins up to a PC parallel port, and using some software to count the pulses, then display a walkthrough on how to fix the displayed problem.

The coding is easy enough. I could write something up very quickly in .net.
The parallel port interface may be a bit iffy, might need to isolate voltages with Transistors or something.....

Anyone want to have a go helping me out with some ideas ?

 

_________________

VE Calais V8, IQ, HSV instruments and brembos fitted.
IQ, IPC, BCM all hacked and programmed without TECH2 :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 10, 2005 7:46 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

If you want to isolate the voltages, a transistor probably would be the best bet. But I don't see why you'd need to. Also a transistor then would require a power supply, possibly from the parralel port which is 5V?

Wouldn't it be much easier to just have a direct connection, and count the pulses that way? The voltage or amperage is not big enough to damage anything.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 10, 2005 8:38 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

I'd put in protection anyway. The car electrics could put up to 15V into your computer - not nice. some transistors would do the job nicely, or if you were real paranoid: optoisolators.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: pin outs
Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 7:32 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 183

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: NC fairlane + f150 4X4

Location: berwick
VIC, Australia

Xyphoid wrote:
The EF Low and Mid Series BEM (Lower Connector) Fits the diagnostic connector like a charm.

I have a simple breakout box that I made for work, that has a couple of switches and LEDs to display error codes for the EEC, Trans computer (V8) Airbag, ABS, and one for the fuel pump.

Ive always been thinking of connecting the pins up to a PC parallel port, and using some software to count the pulses, then display a walkthrough on how to fix the displayed problem.

The coding is easy enough. I could write something up very quickly in .net.
The parallel port interface may be a bit iffy, might need to isolate voltages with Transistors or something.....

Anyone want to have a go helping me out with some ideas ?


Hey dude just wondering if you could share the pin out's for the self test connector and where you short to activate the self tests I have got the ecu test working but the wire location for the abs wiring is different in the plug from whrere the workshop manual list's them and manual is usless for doing the test without the ford code readers.

Also just wondering if the conection for the eec IV is the same as the eecV I'm never ditching the NC but someone else might want to use it once i've got it sussed.

 

_________________

If mistakes are the best way to learn why the hell arn't I a freekin genius yet.

I AM THE SPELLING KING BEHOLD MY
ineqati-inekwati-enequoati.....crapness!

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: pin outs
Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 8:01 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 514

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: V8 VE Calais V Spec

Power: 262 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Quote:
Hey dude just wondering if you could share the pin out's for the self test connector and where you short to activate the self tests I have got the ecu test working but the wire location for the abs wiring is different in the plug from whrere the workshop manual list's them and manual is usless for doing the test without the ford code readers.

Also just wondering if the conection for the eec IV is the same as the eecV I'm never ditching the NC but someone else might want to use it once i've got it sussed.


No problems
I have uploaded an image to my gallery.
Link to my gallery

Note this is for EF and EL....
Also Note EL models from 97 onwards had the ABS and Airbag diagnostic connectors REMOVED !?!?!?!?! Dunno why....

FINALL NOTE : For EBII-ED Models (POssibly all) the ABS Diagnostic pin (STO) is located where this picture says AES....

 

_________________

VE Calais V8, IQ, HSV instruments and brembos fitted.
IQ, IPC, BCM all hacked and programmed without TECH2 :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 8:06 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 514

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: V8 VE Calais V Spec

Power: 262 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Also, I think the Airbag thing changed from this picture....
I know early EFIs displayed the Airbag diagnostics using the Air Bag warning light.
I cant remember for the life of me if this is the same for Series II onwards.

 

_________________

VE Calais V8, IQ, HSV instruments and brembos fitted.
IQ, IPC, BCM all hacked and programmed without TECH2 :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: pin outs
Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 8:07 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Xyphoid wrote:
Quote:
Hey dude just wondering if you could share the pin out's for the self test connector and where you short to activate the self tests I have got the ecu test working but the wire location for the abs wiring is different in the plug from whrere the workshop manual list's them and manual is usless for doing the test without the ford code readers.

Also just wondering if the conection for the eec IV is the same as the eecV I'm never ditching the NC but someone else might want to use it once i've got it sussed.


No problems
I have uploaded an image to my gallery.
Link to my gallery

Note this is for EF and EL....
Also Note EL models from 97 onwards had the ABS and Airbag diagnostic connectors REMOVED !?!?!?!?! Dunno why....

FINALL NOTE : For EBII-ED Models (POssibly all) the ABS Diagnostic pin (STO) is located where this picture says AES....


I've got a 98 EL, and the air bag one definately works. Haven't had a problem with ABS, so haven't checked that one.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 3  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 3:00 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names