Fordmods Logo

Wiring an aftermarket ECU 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Wiring an aftermarket ECU
Posted: Thu Apr 15, 2010 8:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 539

Joined: 26th Nov 2008

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Anyone wired up an aftermarket ECU into an EF before and have any tips to share?

I have ordered all my parts for the ITB setup today including an EMS6860, and want to try and pre-empt any foreseeable snags that may arise with setting it up. I am not talking about the physical installing of it, but more along the lines of problems with BCM, smartlock, current ECU etc.

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Wiring an aftermarket ECU
Posted: Thu Apr 15, 2010 8:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 3763

Joined: 25th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EFII 5.8 NOS TerroristGhia

Power: 274 rwkw

Location: Sydney Australia
NSW, Australia

Do you have climate control. There are issues with the EMS and climate control, I dont remember how we sorted them, but EMS were very helpful.

The EMS needs to be run as a piggyback, as the cluster will no longer work if it is bypassed, also the ECU runs you auto, if you have one.

They are pretty straigh forwad, and EMS are very helk[ful when it comes to after sales service and advice.

Good luck.
Brett

 

_________________

The Terrorist ED Retired due to RUST.
The TerrosistGhia, EF Ghia 351 EFI 5 Speed.
Millennium Falcon, Sleeper EL DOHC 6 Speed Manual EFI LPG
Member#1131
I didn't Vote for Multiculturalism, DID YOU!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Wiring an aftermarket ECU
Posted: Thu Apr 15, 2010 8:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 539

Joined: 26th Nov 2008

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Cheers, no climate and it's manual, so looking good.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Wiring an aftermarket ECU
Posted: Thu Apr 15, 2010 8:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 539

Joined: 26th Nov 2008

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Also, can someone recommend a good book on 'EFI Performance tuning', something quite in-depth.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Wiring an aftermarket ECU
Posted: Thu Apr 15, 2010 9:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Its easy.

When I put the microtech into my EF a few years ago I left the stock ECU in to run the thermos, fuel pump and ISC for air con idle up, cold start etc. Im guessing you wont have an ISC with your ITB's though?

I spliced into the crank trigger wires and TPS at the ECU and ran seperate power wires to the battery. I went and bought another stock EF engine loom and plug with some of the wires that went to the stock ECU and wired the ECU to that so I could unplug the microtech easily if I needed to pull the motor out.

This made it a 2 minute job to put the disconnect the aftermarket ECU and plug the stock injector and coil plugs back in. I left both looms in the bay and hid the unused one under the BBM.

I put an EA thermostat housing on and ran a seperate water temp sensor for the microtech. You cant splice into that or the air temp sensor.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Wiring an aftermarket ECU
Posted: Thu Apr 15, 2010 9:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 539

Joined: 26th Nov 2008

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

That's interesting about the air and water temp sensors, I wondered why there were kits with air and water sensors.

I'm guessing Ford used weird voltage sensors?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Wiring an aftermarket ECU
Posted: Sun Apr 18, 2010 7:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Nah, I think (im guessing :P) its because they are resistors so if you splice into them the resistance changes or something. I just read it somewhere, I think on the megasquirt site, I dont know the specifics.

The microtech came to suit falcon sensors so I just added another stock one with the new thermostat housing.

I never got around to adding an air temp sensor in for it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Wiring an aftermarket ECU
Posted: Sun Apr 18, 2010 7:41 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

the ems can be spliced into the factory sensors without issues, there are calibration files available for the ford i6 temp and air sensors from AEM(ems forum)..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Wiring an aftermarket ECU
Posted: Sun Apr 18, 2010 11:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 539

Joined: 26th Nov 2008

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

TROYMAN wrote:
the ems can be spliced into the factory sensors without issues, there are calibration files available for the ford i6 temp and air sensors from AEM(ems forum)..

Thanks TROYMAN.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 7:37 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names