Fordmods Logo

About the different ford 6's and engine retrofit information 

 

Page 6 of 17 [ 251 posts ] Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 ... 17  Next

 
Posted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 6:50 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 153

Joined: 28th Apr 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EA Falcon Hybrid

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

caqn any one tell me the dif in legth from the xf i6 and the ea i6? im puttin the ea 6 in my rolla, and i know i guy with a XF one in the same model so if there not to much dif then it will work :o

 

_________________

<<<DAN's CARS>>>
* 88 EA Falcon X2
* 81 FJ40
* 73 KE26 X2
* 73 KE20 x2
* 69 KE10 X2
and more

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 8:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

polish'd wrote:
caqn any one tell me the dif in legth from the xf i6 and the ea i6? im puttin the ea 6 in my rolla, and i know i guy with a XF one in the same model so if there not to much dif then it will work :o


670mm front of block to back of block
810mm from front of water pump pulley to back of block

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 10:05 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 153

Joined: 28th Apr 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EA Falcon Hybrid

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

yeah ok well it looks like i can still get it in there, was looking at it before, will have to sit the number 5 and 6 zorst ports into the wall :D

 

_________________

<<<DAN's CARS>>>
* 88 EA Falcon X2
* 81 FJ40
* 73 KE26 X2
* 73 KE20 x2
* 69 KE10 X2
and more

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 11:03 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 108

Joined: 5th Oct 2005

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

has anyone got any better pics of the au sump modified to suit ef el, demensions or somthing so i can figure out were to cut and weld?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 10:51 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 156

Joined: 24th Apr 2005

Location: campbelltown
NSW, Australia

top thread thumbs up
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 10:41 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 108

Joined: 5th Oct 2005

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Image
Image
Image



heres a pick of a au sump to suit ef/el should be able to get it pretty close to that.

does anyone know anything about the manual bellhousing were the clutch cable hole fouls on the sump?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:39 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 262

Joined: 5th Nov 2006

Location: wilcannia
NSW, Australia

has anyone had a look at a territory sump ? they have a removable steel bowl section. surely this could be helpful.

 

_________________

vote for pedro ? f**k pedro, f**k him up his stupid a***hole.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 9:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

FYI the BA BBM doesnt fit under an EA-ED bonnet.

Well you cant fit a 3 inch pipe on top of the rocker cover to go to the throttle body.

Its something I hadnt tried until tonight, I was planning on fitting the stock BBM and make the car run NA while I got it all sorted.

I still will but with the aftermarket plenum which I imagine will suck for low end torque.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 09, 2007 5:06 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 295

Joined: 3rd May 2006

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: falcon

Location: lower plenty
VIC, Australia

gday guys

couldnt find much doing a search but how possible is it to change my ef i6 to an 8?

much hassle?

thanx guys

dave

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 09, 2007 7:03 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 21

Joined: 28th Dec 2005

Ride: 97 EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

ef biff wrote:
gday guys

couldnt find much doing a search but how possible is it to change my ef i6 to an 8?

much hassle?

thanx guys

dave



meh, just turbo the i6.

~Cawer

 

_________________

Cheers,
Chris.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 10, 2007 11:30 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 295

Joined: 3rd May 2006

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: falcon

Location: lower plenty
VIC, Australia

correct me if im wrong though...

if im gonna turbo properly then im gonna need an engenieers certificate yeah?

what if i put in an 8???
what would need to be done in regards to RWC?
still need an engineers certificate?

any help much appreciated..

cheers

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 11, 2007 8:35 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 148

Joined: 23rd Dec 2005

Ride: el falcon

Location: perth
WA, Australia

if u want an 8 why dont u just sell ur car and buy one with an 8, it would work out cheaper and less hassel than doing a conversion, its not like e series falcons r expesive

 

_________________

only 2 things should come in a 2 litre, milk and juice
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 17, 2007 10:21 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 3

Joined: 15th May 2007

Location: wynnum
QLD, Australia

About 8 years ago when i worked in a wreckers i ended up putting an ef intake on a ea motor. I used the standard computer but ran a simple taco shift light kit from j-car(aprox $50)to activatr the vacume valve for the intake. They are set to 3800rpm at factory but i tuned mine to 3720rpm to get the best responce. The only otherthing you have to keep/ change is the idle by-pass or was it the tps, the value is a little different. I use to flog vr ss's with just the usual mods. :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: au in to el
Posted: Sun May 20, 2007 10:00 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 3

Joined: 15th May 2007

Location: wynnum
QLD, Australia

i am currently fitting an AU ser2 in to a ef fairmont and the things you need to change are:-
mod sump from Aussie spairs $220
au alternator
ef thermo housing
ef aircon compressor and spacers
ef intake and harness
ef oil pressure sensor(xr dash)
ef intake gasket
au sump gasket
ef thermostate housing gasket
au plug and wire for the knock sensor
ef cam angle sensor (the dizzy thing)
au fan belt
a full day to fit, 400 swear words and 10 tin's of degreaser :? :D
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 24, 2007 1:00 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 33

Joined: 21st Oct 2006

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Hey 09RQR I recently did an AU1 into an EF falcon. Below is my response to what I did different:


ef thermo housing - I used the AU housing and simply added the sensor wire for the back of the head.

ef aircon compressor and spacers - Spacers need to be cut down as the AU has large spacers on the block. I was not ablt to make the spacers at the time so I used some M12 nuts. 2 between the block and compressor and one on the other side. Used EF bolts as well.

ef intake and harness - I onlu used the top half of manifold with EF harness.

au plug and wire for the knock sensor - I simply unscrewed the AU sensor stud from the block and used the EF sensor that screws into the block.

AU Fan Belt - I used the EF Belt.

I did not swear much either. It just goes straight in.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 6 of 17  [ 251 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 ... 17  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Oct 18, 2017 1:52 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names