Fordmods Logo

Are thermo fans really worth upgrading to? 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 25 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
Posted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 7:13 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 84

Joined: 28th Mar 2005

Ride: Ea Monty

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

akademiks wrote:
12slot wrote:
akademiks wrote:

man just glue the probe to the top of the radiator and adjust temp accordingly lol. thats what ive done


lol on the outside of the radiator?




whats the problem with that? it still gets a heat signal yes?



heheh yeh but its sorta like putting an airconditioning sensor outside the room ur air conditioning hahaha.. but hmm i spose if the thermo switch has a range high enough it would work..

 

_________________

Ea Monty: 12 slotters/t5/ef thermos/stezza/2.5" redback catback/climate control conv/white venetian/ Old School Baby

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 7:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 1169

Joined: 23rd Oct 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA MKII Futura

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

my thermos are going fair sweet and its been 3 weeks now not a single problem with heat (never gone past N)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 9:53 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 21

Joined: 12th Jan 2005

Ride: EB II Fairmont

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

I have a EBII Fairy, is there any way to just tap off the temp sensor already connected for the gauge, I also read somewhere that it's harder to hook up thermofans if you have climate control.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2007 12:14 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 84

Joined: 28th Mar 2005

Ride: Ea Monty

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Vulture wrote:
I have a EBII Fairy, is there any way to just tap off the temp sensor already connected for the gauge, I also read somewhere that it's harder to hook up thermofans if you have climate control.


The thing about the temp sensor in thermostat housing for the gauge is that its not a switch, its just a sensor, it wont tell the relay to turn on the thermos when it gets to x temperature.

Im pretty sure there is a screw in thing like a t piece, that u can screw the gauge sensor and the switch sensor into, but i havent looked into that very much.

And yeah its harder to hook up thermo fans to work with the climate control. If you wanted everything to be automated, then it would be much harder. but personally mine are just hooked up to 2 switches, if i wanted to use the climate control (cold air) , id just move my hand 10 more cm and switch my fans on with it.. no sweat

 

_________________

Ea Monty: 12 slotters/t5/ef thermos/stezza/2.5" redback catback/climate control conv/white venetian/ Old School Baby

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2007 4:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 491

Joined: 19th May 2007

Ride: fairmont ED

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

that t-piece you speak of would be a life saver for me at the moment. I have just purchased a thermatic switch but my climate control sensor is already in the way...

does anyone know what would happen if i remove the climate control switch?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2007 5:06 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 84

Joined: 28th Mar 2005

Ride: Ea Monty

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

your climate control will show a fault code and probably wont work on the heater setting or at all.

why dont u go to bunnings or a fastening joint and tell them what u need, its a pretty basic t piece.

 

_________________

Ea Monty: 12 slotters/t5/ef thermos/stezza/2.5" redback catback/climate control conv/white venetian/ Old School Baby

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 13, 2007 11:41 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

i picked up my EL thermos on ebay 2 weeks ago for 50 bucks (with an EL radiator :P )

i done a bit of modification to mine. i added new plugs as no one could suply me with EL loom side plugs, then i removed the factory relay holders from my old EA and left some wires on it. i thin wired them up so the relays are removable easily.

i also used the 3 relays however i havnt hooked up the aircon yet (wil be done next week when the head comes off the car to get shaved) i bought a davis craig thermo switch of dansedgli for 30 bucks posted, and i slipped it into the radiator hose and tightened and not 1 leak in it (altho i have awesome quality hoses not the crap hard supercheap ones) and it works great.

altho at the moment i dont have fuses on the input lines as my old alarm with the inline fuses got thrown out so i need to buy some new ones. but as my car isnt driven at the moment i shouldnt have an issue


ill get some photos and do a write up if people are interested

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 10:38 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 254

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: NA Series II Fairlane Sportsman

Location: Surrey Downs
SA, Australia

Sorry for dredging up old posts but I have bought all the stuff to do this mod and I have a quick question.

If I tap off the AC pump for the 3rd relay on the fairlane it means the thermal fans would be on even when the heater/ac combo is on, making the car cooler and reducing the effectiveness of the heater.

Can I just leave the thermal fans to switch on and off via the temp sensor? In hot weather I would assume instead of being on all the time with the a/c, they would just turn on and off more frequently?

I am trying to get my head around the logic of it all but it is late and I keep having homer simpson thoughts *clown ballet*

 

_________________

1990 NAII Fairlane Sportsman
194,000 kms
MP3, HID, LPG, and a few other 3 letter abbreviations too.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 10:14 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

you dont have to add it to the aircon line. my fairlane has the relays but its not hooked up to the aircon yet. having one all when the fan is on wont do any halm, id prefere it that way i rekon.

but let us know how iif your temp stays down and aircon stays cold with the fan off while aircon is ont goes and

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 10:23 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

You absolutely *must* have the thermos on with A/C

on the EF/EL, there is a pressure sensor in the A/C condensor at the front of the car - pressure goes up, Fans go on.

On the EB etc there isnt such a thing, so you *must* assume that the fans need to be on.

If you dont, the A/C system pressures go too high and do damage.

If your wiring them in using EF Relays you should be able to work the logic with a 2-stage thermo switch (try a BMW 7-series one tapped into the top of the thermostat cover)

You should be able to get :

Engine Temp A/C On Fan Speed
Cold Off Off
Cold On Low (Fans in Series)
Medium Off Low (Fans in Series)
Medium On High (Fans in Parallel)
High On or Off High (Fans in parallel)

I did this with my EB and the fans almost never went above Low speed unless I was Idling on 35 deg day at the Goldy for lots of minutes with A/C on H (Climate)

Cheers

Nigel
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 1:55 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names