Fordmods Logo

Fordmods Advertising

Au 2 falcon engine swap 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Au 2 falcon engine swap
Posted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 7:38 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 22

Posts: 6

Joined: 29th Oct 2012

Ride: Ford Au 2

Location: Bundaberg
QLD, Australia

Hey guys i got a Au 2 forte falcon I wanna swap the engine to a AU VCT engine but i am wonder if both of the engine have the same engine block so i can just swap the engine head and the computer or their engine blocks are different or runs different compression or whatever?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au 2 falcon engine swap
Posted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 9:43 pm 
Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 14323

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: AU3 XR8

Power: 268 rwkw

Location: somewhere deep inside
NSW, Australia

au engine blocks are all the same, the std, xr6 and vct run the same compression .

 

_________________

Driving a v8 ford is like pizza and sex, even when its bad its still good!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au 2 falcon engine swap
Posted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 9:45 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 22

Posts: 6

Joined: 29th Oct 2012

Ride: Ford Au 2

Location: Bundaberg
QLD, Australia

TROYMAN wrote:
au engine blocks are all the same, the std, xr6 and vct run the same compression .


cool so i can just swap the head and the computer?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au 2 falcon engine swap
Posted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 9:49 pm 
Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 14323

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: AU3 XR8

Power: 268 rwkw

Location: somewhere deep inside
NSW, Australia

SunnyyBoi wrote:
TROYMAN wrote:
au engine blocks are all the same, the std, xr6 and vct run the same compression .


cool so i can just swap the head and the computer?


head yes, computer, well you will also need to use the vct engine harness, unless you want to add wires to the ecu plug and run them to the vct unit.

also the vct ecu must be from a series 2 if your car is a series2, series 1 ecu wont work in a series2.

 

_________________

Driving a v8 ford is like pizza and sex, even when its bad its still good!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au 2 falcon engine swap
Posted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 9:51 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 22

Posts: 6

Joined: 29th Oct 2012

Ride: Ford Au 2

Location: Bundaberg
QLD, Australia

TROYMAN wrote:
SunnyyBoi wrote:
TROYMAN wrote:
au engine blocks are all the same, the std, xr6 and vct run the same compression .


cool so i can just swap the head and the computer?


head yes, computer, well you will also need to use the vct engine harness, unless you want to add wires to the ecu plug and run them to the vct unit.

also the vct ecu must be from a series 2 if your car is a series2, series 1 ecu wont work in a series2.

what are the vct engine harness and add wires to the ecu plug what do you mean by that sorry please tell me more
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au 2 falcon engine swap
Posted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 10:18 pm 
Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 14323

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: AU3 XR8

Power: 268 rwkw

Location: somewhere deep inside
NSW, Australia

the vct engine harness/ wiring loom.. wires from engine to ecu (computer)..

the wires are different from std au to the vct au. also wiring is different from series1 to series2, the std au doesnt have the wires for the vct that go from the engine to the ecu..

 

_________________

Driving a v8 ford is like pizza and sex, even when its bad its still good!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au 2 falcon engine swap
Posted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 10:21 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 22

Posts: 6

Joined: 29th Oct 2012

Ride: Ford Au 2

Location: Bundaberg
QLD, Australia

TROYMAN wrote:
the vct engine harness/ wiring loom.. wires from engine to ecu (computer)..

the wires are different from std au to the vct au. also wiring is different from series1 to series2, the std au doesnt have the wires for the vct that go from the engine to the ecu..


oh so there are harness on the vct engine block which i dont have
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au 2 falcon engine swap
Posted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 5:38 am 
Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 14323

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: AU3 XR8

Power: 268 rwkw

Location: somewhere deep inside
NSW, Australia

yes, its only 2 wires though

 

_________________

Driving a v8 ford is like pizza and sex, even when its bad its still good!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au 2 falcon engine swap
Posted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 7:23 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 22

Posts: 6

Joined: 29th Oct 2012

Ride: Ford Au 2

Location: Bundaberg
QLD, Australia

TROYMAN wrote:
yes, its only 2 wires though

do you know what and where are they?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au 2 falcon engine swap
Posted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 8:41 am 
Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 14323

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: AU3 XR8

Power: 268 rwkw

Location: somewhere deep inside
NSW, Australia

yes, they run from the ecu to the front of the engine,
have you not seen what a vct engine looks like compared to a std one??
std
http://www.goauto.com.au/mellor/mellor. ... penElement
vct
http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f171/ ... ure018.jpg

 

_________________

Driving a v8 ford is like pizza and sex, even when its bad its still good!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au 2 falcon engine swap
Posted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 8:43 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 22

Posts: 6

Joined: 29th Oct 2012

Ride: Ford Au 2

Location: Bundaberg
QLD, Australia

TROYMAN wrote:
yes, they run from the ecu to the front of the engine,
have you not seen what a vct engine looks like compared to a std one??
std
http://www.goauto.com.au/mellor/mellor. ... penElement
vct
http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f171/ ... ure018.jpg

yeah didnt notice that bit and thanks for the help mate
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Au 2 falcon engine swap
Posted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 10:33 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 23

Posts: 1

Joined: 23rd Jul 2014

Ride: Ford AU3 Fairmont

Location: Colombo
NSW, Australia

Hey Guys
I have an AU Fairmont series 3 LPG (Dual Fuel). I am planning to do the same VCT conversion and I am glad to know that I have to only change the cylinder head, computer and wiring harness. I want to know if it is actually possible to do a VCT conversion on a LPG Car? And is there any additional sensors that I have to wire and add to the instrument cluster Or is it only the VCT wiring Harness, VCT Head unit and the computer that I have to replace as mentioned by TROYMAN? Is there a seperate ECU for a dual fuel VCT conversion? If not does that mean that I have to choose between LPG and VCT? Did the VCT versions come with the same BTR transmission or do I have to change the transmission as well?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 12 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Oct 01, 2014 9:31 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names