Fordmods Logo

Au2 vct into ef2 futura 


Page 2 of 2 [ 20 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 Post subject: Re: Au2 vct into ef2 futura
Posted: Tue Feb 01, 2011 7:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
User avatar

Posts: 2643

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

low_EF92 wrote:
What do you mean a switch to vct?

So if I got the au bcm? They would be for and all would be well?
So I'm going to have to rewire the entire car like remote locks and everything?

AU BEM has different plugs, either stick with the EF ECU or replace all the wiring and electronics.



BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

 Post subject: Re: Au2 vct into ef2 futura
Posted: Tue Feb 01, 2011 9:50 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

Age: 25

Posts: 18

Joined: 10th Oct 2010

Ride: EFII Falcon

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

Ash wrote:
I would suggest doing some searches with the search button, have a read of what others have done and how. It will help you a lot.

Have searched and on ausfords most people seem to stick with Ef ecu I'm just tryingto get all info I can before I buy this motor.. What benefit would be in installing au ecu, vct??

Sorry new to car electrics
 Post subject: Re: Au2 vct into ef2 futura
Posted: Tue Feb 01, 2011 10:37 pm 
SA Cruise Moderator
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 916

Joined: 7th Oct 2007

Ride: Ford Ed

Location: Edwardstown, Adelaide
SA, Australia

Ash wrote:
If your going to install a VCT motor, you may as well have the VCT operational.

There are poeple on here who have used MSD rpm switches to control the VCT. I think some others were using a Jaycar set up?

B0XCAR wrote:
But then looked into the RPM swich..

We still gonna have a look at the Wiring Diagram of both, And just see how hard would be to wire up the ecu...

But the Jaycar RPM switch is the way we more then likely be going



Adelaide E Series

 Post subject: Re: Au2 vct into ef2 futura
Posted: Tue Feb 01, 2011 10:43 pm 

Posts: 14496

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

imo..i wouldnt bother with the vct, i had the vct in my ed running off a rpm switch and worked great, but i still gained more overall power by throwing the vct cam and cam gear in the bin and fitted a aftermarket non vct cam and std cam gear...

in other words if i was to fit another au engine it wouldnt be a vct one, not that the conversion is to hard, just the gains are not that great for the effort...
 Post subject: Re: Au2 vct into ef2 futura
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:57 am 
Fordmods Newbie
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 6

Joined: 18th Jan 2011

Ride: XE ESP/ XE V8 Fairmont Wagon

Location: Jindera
NSW, Australia

I'm doing this conversion at the moment.

I am using the auto from an AU, easier to bolt up. Crossmenber mod is straight forward if you have the skills and a Mig welder. The EL ECU plug is different to the AU ECU plug, as are most of the accessory plugs etc., thats why its easier to use the AU looms. Try to get all the looms from one car, because they vary a lot between AU I II and III, as well as base models to Fairmonts.
If you have any questions, PM me or call me on 0411 025 833.
Regards Joe.
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum



It is currently Thu Oct 27, 2016 6:26 am All times are UTC + 11 hours



(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names