Fordmods Logo

BA MkI Engine cut out weird, HELP? ASAP 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 29 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
Posted: Mon Sep 18, 2006 11:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 7029

Joined: 18th Apr 2005

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

smiley235 wrote:
Slick wrote:
water in the fuel, to close to a substation {EMP} or close to a electrical magnetic field source.


I didn't think a substation was able to create emp strong enough to cause interference, as if it did, it would have to be shielded somehow.
power spike can cause emp but not to the extreme that'll cook the ECU. solar flares has been reported to have caused interference some cars electronics.

 

_________________

Mind f**k!!! it works on feeble minded ignorant sheeples... there's plenty of em on this site... some are very intelligent but by god they are so thick!!!

Pakrat wrote:
You can buy them seppertly

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 18, 2006 11:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4849

Joined: 19th Feb 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA Falcon Suzy Across

Power: 178 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

true, well I think morotists will be in for a rough period as i've heard solar flare activity will be increasing leading up to our impending anhialation in 2012. :shock:

 

_________________

178.3 rwkw
15.1@96 mph
Now with 3.9 shrooms

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 12:44 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 7029

Joined: 18th Apr 2005

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

Sorry, my mistake. EMI, not EMP.
its not 2012, 2008 is the day of total annihilation of man. it'll happen just a day after the release of the new model Falcon. I'll be the only man who survive to enjoy it, imagine all the loney beutiful woman in this world :lol:


Now back to the main topic!

 

_________________

Mind f**k!!! it works on feeble minded ignorant sheeples... there's plenty of em on this site... some are very intelligent but by god they are so thick!!!

Pakrat wrote:
You can buy them seppertly

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 10:06 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

smiley235 wrote:
people dont realise how hard you have to push the brake when the engine is off and simply assume its not working. I learnt when I nearly crashed my dad's old VC commo into the gate a while back. (man that car loved to stall).


You should still have enough vacuum to push the pedal once before it becomes hard.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 8:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

has anyone placed a scanner on it to see if it's come up with any fault codes?

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 8:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1079

Joined: 18th Sep 2005

Ride: AUII Fairmont

Location: Belmont
WA, Australia

If she didn't have any brakes whatsoever I would say it's a vacum leak
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 12:50 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 38

Joined: 16th Jul 2005

Ride: EA2 5 spd

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

if it was a vacuum leak the car wouldnt behave right to begin with.
this is a very very very common things with the ba's and yes when this happens the computer will shut close the thottle body and the car will stall. nothing can be done.
im suprised it happened in a standard car becuase it mainly happens in modded ones.

as for why? could be many many things the ba pcm is a nasty piece of hardware and will freak out if you look at it wrongly. put it on the ford scanner and see if it comes up with anything if it doesnt nothing really can be done but put up with it.
hard? yes but as a ba owner its a part of life. everyday occurance for me anyway.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 12:51 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4849

Joined: 19th Feb 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA Falcon Suzy Across

Power: 178 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

every day occurence? I think you better take your car to the doctors.

 

_________________

178.3 rwkw
15.1@96 mph
Now with 3.9 shrooms

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 6:43 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 7029

Joined: 18th Apr 2005

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

Should this be a recall issue?

Take it to Ford & see if they can fix it, you wouldn't want to drive out of a steep drive way then suddenly it does that. wouldn't want a semi going past at the time or even run someone over at the bottom of the driveway.

if this is a common occurrence with the BA's, that is!

your safety & the safety of the general public is a recall issue.

 

_________________

Mind f**k!!! it works on feeble minded ignorant sheeples... there's plenty of em on this site... some are very intelligent but by god they are so thick!!!

Pakrat wrote:
You can buy them seppertly

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 4:54 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 246

Joined: 6th Jun 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EA svo turbo, ef Fairmontl

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

in the factory book it says that once engine is swithed off there i still enough vacum for one stop?? thats for the ef so should be the same on ba ye??

 

_________________

R.I.P George.D.Gogas!!!
4.5.85 - 27.2.05

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 8:44 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

Ruger3 wrote:
if it was a vacuum leak the car wouldnt behave right to begin with.
this is a very very very common things with the ba's and yes when this happens the computer will shut close the thottle body and the car will stall. nothing can be done.
im suprised it happened in a standard car becuase it mainly happens in modded ones.

as for why? could be many many things the ba pcm is a nasty piece of hardware and will freak out if you look at it wrongly. put it on the ford scanner and see if it comes up with anything if it doesnt nothing really can be done but put up with it.
hard? yes but as a ba owner its a part of life. everyday occurance for me anyway.


Clearly you need to find another ford dealer. It is NOT a common BA Problem, nor is it a problem we see even relatively often. BA/BF Engine electrics are complex, and alot of mechanics blame the "computer" because they dont fully understand how the system works.

did the engine light illuminate? if there is any problem with the electronic throttle the engine light WILL illuminate with the exception of a faulty Throttle position sensor which will still log a fault code...

other things to check are

*does the vehicle have the latest PCM calibration on it (yes this will mean the car has to go to ford)
*is the throttle body clean (after cleaning the throttle body disconnect the battery for 1 min of it wont idle correctly)
*Check for Codes AND both Engine off and Engine On Self test
*Check all earth points (Engine, Body, Negative terminal)
*Is the wiring damaged anywhere. (pay attention to the drivers side cam position sensor wiring, it sometimes burns on the exhaust and could cause this problem among others)
*Fuel System, (fuel pump, fuel pump relay etc.
*There are 2 connectors between the airbox and the LH headlamp that sometimes fill with water and cause all sorts of things to happen, it would be worth checking them...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 21, 2006 10:28 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 38

Joined: 16th Jul 2005

Ride: EA2 5 spd

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

my engine looks like this thats why its an every day occurance. ecu dont like it at all.

Image

how do i don an engine on and off self test?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 21, 2006 6:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 3928

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: ED 5 Speed GLiXR

Location: Now in Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Ok update, problem has been fixed they scanned the computer and a few error messages came up. It was something to do with a carb something or other (will ask dad when he gets home).
Basically ford wiped the computer and reloaded new software onto the computer (well they re-did the whole computer with new software and an update), and damage actually wasnt too bad, only $250 worth of damage.

 

_________________

17" Tezza Steelies, King F**king lows, pedders sports ryders, 2.5" cat back exhaust, pacemaker extractors, T5 manual
Low, loud and Slow

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 21, 2006 9:28 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

Ruger3 wrote:

how do i do an engine on and off self test?


u need a ford diagnostic tool...
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 25 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 11:53 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names