Fordmods Logo

Fordmods Advertising

ba trans in ef 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 22 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: ba trans in ef
Posted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 10:40 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 238

Joined: 18th Apr 2009

Ride: ba mk2 xr8

Location: nyngan
NSW, Australia

will a ba trans bolt up to and fit in an ef any one plz help
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ba trans in ef
Posted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 11:00 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 1934

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Falcon XR8

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

Depends how you look at it, if you're using the BA bellhousing only the top half of the bolts will line up to the block, but you can swap over the EF bellhousing and bolt the BA box to it. Electronically, it won't work, the wiring inside the box is completely different. On another note you will need to use the BA torque converter.

So simply, yes you can get it to bolt up to the EF block, and no it wont operate correctly.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ba trans in ef
Posted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 11:03 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 238

Joined: 18th Apr 2009

Ride: ba mk2 xr8

Location: nyngan
NSW, Australia

k thanks heaps
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ba trans in ef
Posted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 12:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2410

Joined: 4th Sep 2006

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Ive read that transmission workshops reco EL tranny's and use them on BA's, isent EF/EL box the same???

 

_________________

Wanted Either Capri/Cortina/XY/XW/XR/XT with tough V8 stroker engine, auto, 9inch, upgraded brakes etc[/SIZE][/size][/color]

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ba trans in ef
Posted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 1:02 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 238

Joined: 18th Apr 2009

Ride: ba mk2 xr8

Location: nyngan
NSW, Australia

yes ef/el's use the same box so if thats true it will fit and work
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ba trans in ef
Posted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 1:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 4181

Joined: 30th May 2005

Ride: 1993 EB XR8

Location: BrisVegas
QLD, Australia

spinner1987 wrote:
yes ef/el's use the same box so if thats true it will fit and work


It doesn't work. twason tried and couldn't get it to work. Fordman351 also tried going the other way, EL Box into EL with BA motor and ECU, put the BA wiring in and it would not work correctly.

 

_________________

The Toy - EF XR8, Sunroof, Ticky Kit, 19x8.5/19x11 TE37's, 451ci Windsor, custom converter, Hurst Quarterstick, huge billet cam.

The Daily - DL LTD - 343, AFR185, BoxR, Billet Solid Roller cam, built BTR, 4200rpm stall

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ba trans in ef
Posted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 1:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 3775

Joined: 22nd Apr 2007

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: DENTED UP OLD AUT WAGON

Location: Wellington
New Zealand

Shifter position is different from E series to AU and beyond too.......
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ba trans in ef
Posted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 1:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 4181

Joined: 30th May 2005

Ride: 1993 EB XR8

Location: BrisVegas
QLD, Australia

fiend wrote:
Shifter position is different from E series to AU and beyond too.......


Only with the manual box.....

 

_________________

The Toy - EF XR8, Sunroof, Ticky Kit, 19x8.5/19x11 TE37's, 451ci Windsor, custom converter, Hurst Quarterstick, huge billet cam.

The Daily - DL LTD - 343, AFR185, BoxR, Billet Solid Roller cam, built BTR, 4200rpm stall

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ba trans in ef
Posted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 1:10 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 238

Joined: 18th Apr 2009

Ride: ba mk2 xr8

Location: nyngan
NSW, Australia

yes ef/el's use the same box so if thats true it will fit and work
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ba trans in ef
Posted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 1:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 3775

Joined: 22nd Apr 2007

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: DENTED UP OLD AUT WAGON

Location: Wellington
New Zealand

67RCE wrote:
fiend wrote:
Shifter position is different from E series to AU and beyond too.......


Only with the manual box.....

The actual position of the shifter in the cabin further back on AU... Are you suggesting that they cut the hole in the floor of the car in different positions for manual and auto? With the auto I guess you can just change the linkages from one to the other and it will then fit just fine... The manuals don't have that facility so you have to chop your floor and change some interior about 50mm... All good...

EF with dipstick FTW.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ba trans in ef
Posted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 1:55 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14498

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

spinner1987 wrote:
yes ef/el's use the same box so if thats true it will fit and work


ive heard trans shops only use ef/el auto oil pumps in the ba boxes.. but not the ef boxes in ba!!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ba trans in ef
Posted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 4:05 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

The internals of the box, bar the pump and converter, are exactly the same. Ford actually usues EF/EL parts to beef up their BA boxes when they fail. Just the same as I used XR6T parts in my EL auto when I rebuilt it.

But the electronics are different as others have found out.

So ultimately its a no, but with time and patience, it can be a yes.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ba trans in ef
Posted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 10:37 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 51

Posts: 253

Joined: 22nd Mar 2008

Ride: BF F6 Typhoon. XP Van.XF Hearse

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

The T-Bar linkage is on the opposite side of the box compared to the earlier models & 90% of the BA's don't have the speedo gear or unit on the output shaft - speedo readings are done through the ABS sensors. Both boxes are made by different companies - BTR & ION. The BA geartrain is similar to the earlier V8 BTR's (fine teeth) but are a lot more brittle & blow up easily due to the more powerful twin cam engine.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ba trans in ef
Posted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 10:10 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 3775

Joined: 22nd Apr 2007

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: DENTED UP OLD AUT WAGON

Location: Wellington
New Zealand

Cheers XPVANMAN. You are the man when it comes to this sort of thing alright...

Suppose converting the linkages from left to right and moving the shifter position in the cabin along with everything else that needs re-working would suggest to most that putting the BA trans into the EF is overly complicated and perhaps even a waste of time when there's still a lot of good strong 1990's units available.....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ba trans in ef
Posted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 10:31 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 238

Joined: 18th Apr 2009

Ride: ba mk2 xr8

Location: nyngan
NSW, Australia

to me it sounds like to much work more then its worth anyway. mite just reco my one and add a shift kit sounds easer prob cost less to
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], MSNbot Media, TOP DOG and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 10, 2016 12:29 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names