Fordmods Logo

Barra in EF Falcon 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Barra in EF Falcon
Posted: Mon May 16, 2022 2:47 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 20

Joined: 1st Dec 2016

Ride: EA Falcon

Location: Dunedin
New Zealand

Apparently it's possible to run a Barra engine in an EF Falcon using the EF ECU, can anyone supply more details?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Barra in EF Falcon
Posted: Mon May 16, 2022 4:37 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3848

Joined: 22nd Jan 2009

Ride: '03 BA Wagooon & EB Wagooon

Location: Geeelong
VIC, Australia

EA Falcon wrote:
Apparently it's possible to run a Barra engine in an EF Falcon using the EF ECU, can anyone supply more details?



think i read ages ago about someone using the AU ECU [?] to run a Barra motor .... the only thing i vaguely seem to remember is - you won't have the variable cam setup as the cams are 'locked' & that's about all i know.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Barra in EF Falcon
Posted: Sat Jul 09, 2022 9:57 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 20

Joined: 1st Dec 2016

Ride: EA Falcon

Location: Dunedin
New Zealand

The camshaft angle sensor setup is what I need help with.

I've seen on a bloke on youtube doing a barra/AU falcon swap, he locked the camshafts, ground of the camshaft tabs except for the middle one and used(I think) an AU camshaft sensor on the inlet camshaft.

So would this be the way to do it in an EF and what camshaft angle sensor would be used?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Barra in EF Falcon
Posted: Sat Jul 09, 2022 10:21 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3848

Joined: 22nd Jan 2009

Ride: '03 BA Wagooon & EB Wagooon

Location: Geeelong
VIC, Australia

EA Falcon wrote:

So would this be the way to do it in an EF and what camshaft angle sensor would be used?


sorry NO idea.

why do you want to fit a barra but then not take advantage of barra motor benefits?.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Barra in EF Falcon
Posted: Sun Jul 10, 2022 3:48 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 20

Joined: 1st Dec 2016

Ride: EA Falcon

Location: Dunedin
New Zealand

I'm not planning on putting a barra into a vehicle yet, what I would like to do is set up a barra and run it on a stand.

What I have so far for this project is an EF ECU from a XR6, complete EF inlet manifold set up and EF radiator/fans.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Barra in EF Falcon
Posted: Sun Jul 10, 2022 8:40 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3848

Joined: 22nd Jan 2009

Ride: '03 BA Wagooon & EB Wagooon

Location: Geeelong
VIC, Australia

EA Falcon wrote:
I'm not planning on putting a barra into a vehicle yet, what I would like to do is set up a barra and run it on a stand.

What I have so far for this project is an EF ECU from a XR6, complete EF inlet manifold set up and EF radiator/fans.



i bought a complete BA sedan to do just that.......... :mrgreen:


however that project didn't eventuate :oops: & the only 'hard part' to running a loom for the engine ... is the tacho side i believe? [as in what cluster your using]. the PCM just needs the security removed & it will work as a stand alone [plus correctly wired up loom]. going by what i have seen on facebook.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 44 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Feb 05, 2023 2:31 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names