Fordmods Logo

Barra into Ef auto 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Barra into Ef auto
Posted: Sun Oct 03, 2021 9:13 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 3

Joined: 3rd Oct 2021

Ride: 96 EF gli 4.0

Location: Oudtshoorn
Oustide Australia

Hi guys.
Greetings from South Africa.
Quick question , bearing in mind parts availability here vs Aus.
Can i swap my tired EF sohc with a barra, while retaining all EF electronics , transmission ect ?
I know it might not be optimal , but the EF coilpack and injectors , crank sensor , everything should be able to run the dohc ?
Will the torque converter bolt up ?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Barra into Ef auto
Posted: Mon Oct 04, 2021 2:30 am 
NSW Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 7335

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: TE50

Location: ɹǝpun uʍop
NSW, Australia

simply put. No, you cannot.

 

_________________

Image

I have a car.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Barra into Ef auto
Posted: Mon Oct 04, 2021 4:33 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 3

Joined: 3rd Oct 2021

Ride: 96 EF gli 4.0

Location: Oudtshoorn
Oustide Australia

Anyone care to explain why ?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Barra into Ef auto
Posted: Mon Oct 04, 2021 9:12 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Online
User avatar

Posts: 3733

Joined: 22nd Jan 2009

Ride: '03 BA Wagooon & EB Wagooon

Location: Geeelong
VIC, Australia

mustang460 wrote:
Anyone care to explain why ?


because the EF is a single cam, where as the later is a twin cam. plus even using the AU system to 'run' the barra it's a comprise. you can bolt up the earlier box but you cannot use the later system to run the earlier box. if you really wanna run the barra in the EF ...... run the barra as a stand only with everything else running off the EF ECU/BEM etc.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Barra into Ef auto
Posted: Tue Oct 05, 2021 2:00 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 3

Joined: 3rd Oct 2021

Ride: 96 EF gli 4.0

Location: Oudtshoorn
Oustide Australia

Thanks Mad2,
To be quite honest, as long as the EF ecu gets the correct crank trigger, the coilpack will fire it correctly
EF also use batch firing, couldnt give a flying whether the head got 1 or 2 cams.
Locking the vct will have no effect since it is really a fuel saving and emmission measure.
My concern is sump clearance, engine mountings , bellhousing and torque converter fit.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Barra into Ef auto
Posted: Tue Oct 05, 2021 5:31 am 
Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 2474

Joined: 6th Oct 2005

Ride: 93EB Fairmont / BA Falcon XR6T

Location: Western Sydney
NSW, Australia

A Barra engine needs a Barra ECU to run it.
K Frame does need to be modified or the Barra sump modified to fit E series.
Gear box will partially bolt up.
Wiring looms need to be modified.
There is many threads on here with people who have done it. Its not a job for the faint hearted.

 

_________________

93 EB II Fairmon8 with 17' EL GT's / Clear indicators / H.I.Ds / Sports exhaust / Lowered 2' / K&N / XR6 ECU.
2004 BA MKI XR6T in Lightning Strike paint / K&N / XR8 bonnet / BF lights and a few tweaks.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 32 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri May 27, 2022 2:21 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names