Fordmods Logo

BAXR6T in ED 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 23 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
Posted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 12:46 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 11791

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Holden VF Calais / NL FBT

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

If you are serious about it call NIzpro in Bayswater
they have done a few cars but expect teh conversion to set you back 10

 

_________________

Nicko

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 1:01 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4849

Joined: 19th Feb 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA Falcon Suzy Across

Power: 178 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

stockstandard wrote:
Rapier wrote:
stockstandard wrote:
Why are you guys saying the install is going to be massively expensive?


A) the motor doesnt fit will not clear bonnet and will not clear k frame, they will need to be modified. and good luck getting it engineered.

B) you will need a very flashy Aftermarket computer to run it all, its doable for sure but its not cheap.


As far as I can tell the k-frame mods required are no different to that of the AU conversion. And as for the bonnet, thats hardely going to be expensive or difficult

And you dont need a flashy ecu to do it. JetXR did his with a wolf

And as far as it being hard to engineer, why? You dont touch any structural part of the car.


interesting this, its always been the general consensus that its extremely hard to do but logically, why should it be?? Also, stockstandard, what are your thoughts on say for example, turboing an xt, people say its impossible to engineer and expensive but I don't see why, when so many people turbo their e-series.

 

_________________

178.3 rwkw
15.1@96 mph
Now with 3.9 shrooms

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 1:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 972

Joined: 6th Feb 2005

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: XHII pano, Landau

Location: S.E Subs
VIC, Australia

people who have turbo's the e series cars have done it after reg. They wont be able to sell with a rwc. It can be tested and engineeered but that costs big bucks

 

_________________

Automatics only come in assult riffles
---------------------------------------
www.aussiecoupes.net

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 4:12 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 334

Joined: 7th May 2005

Ride: BA Falcon

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

as said before the electronics would be that hard bit. as far as i've been told unless you have the ICC in the car then you can't run the electronics.

Rhyso

 

_________________

BA XT, typhoon intake, K&N filter, XR 17" wheels, red/black brakes, Ford scuff plates

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 5:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

smiley235 wrote:
interesting this, its always been the general consensus that its extremely hard to do but logically, why should it be?? Also, stockstandard, what are your thoughts on say for example, turboing an xt, people say its impossible to engineer and expensive but I don't see why, when so many people turbo their e-series.


If you bolted the turbo gear on a NA DOHC I would say it might be hard to register as the engines are internally different (different compression ratios) so they may want emissions testing. If you bolted the whole turbo engine in, I cant see it being hard as your car is then as it would have came out the factory.

Its different in every state though

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 5:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

In SA at least, if you whacked a turbo on an ba XT motor, you'd need full compliance. No ifs or buts - its fairly clear on this in the legislation.

But just really need an engineers report (ok, a few of them) and pass any roadworthy/emissions tests.

Nothing's impossible. Some things are impractical.

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 6:06 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

in order for the BA ECU to function properly u need to adapt full BA electrics. That includes cluster, igniton barrel, bem, icc, him, and full BA ABS Wiring etc. this is because BA Speed input on turbo cars comes from the ABS Module. Aftermarket ecu will do it, but then u still need to make it fit.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 6:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

The few people who are doing these conversions are finding all sorts of creative ways to make them fit.

My personal favourite:

Image

Little plate between a set of EA engine mounts and the BA block which lowers the engine about an inch. Enought to fix the bonnet problem :)

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 33 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 7:01 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names