Fordmods Logo

CAM for a BA Falcon 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: CAM for a BA Falcon
Posted: Tue May 30, 2006 10:55 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 573

Joined: 27th Apr 2006

Ride: BA XT FALCON (2003)

Location: Cairns
QLD, Australia

Hey Guys,

Does anyone know where i can get a Stage 2 or stage 3 Cam from... i've had a quick look around but can't seem to find one on the net

Thanks in Advance

Cheers

Josh
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 30, 2006 11:40 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 4401

Joined: 25th Mar 2005

Ride: BA XT, BA XR6T, ED Ghia 5.0

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Nizpro does them.. but they're not exactly what you'd call cheap.

http://www.nizpro.com.au

 

_________________

What's the difference between a Holden and a sheep? It's less embarrasing getting out of the back of a sheep..

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: CAM for a BA Falcon
Posted: Tue May 30, 2006 12:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 3025

Joined: 28th Oct 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: BA MKII XR8

Location: Caroline Springs
VIC, Australia

Mr_Soul wrote:
Hey Guys,

Does anyone know where i can get a Stage 2 or stage 3 Cam from... i've had a quick look around but can't seem to find one on the net

Thanks in Advance

Cheers

Josh


TICKFORD_6 had a stage 2 going for like $210 I think. Dunno if he's sold it or not....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 30, 2006 12:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4849

Joined: 19th Feb 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA Falcon Suzy Across

Power: 178 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

nizpro expect 160-165rwkw with only a fuel pressure regualtor and edit, thats not bad. But like fnp said, very expensive, I mean $2000 for cam and spring install is a bit much.

 

_________________

178.3 rwkw
15.1@96 mph
Now with 3.9 shrooms

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 30, 2006 12:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 573

Joined: 27th Apr 2006

Ride: BA XT FALCON (2003)

Location: Cairns
QLD, Australia

Damn firk that ... i would prefer not to be ripped a new a***hole...

Might have to do a little more hunting... would Jim Mock Motorsports have anything? i couldn't find diddily squat on his site
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 30, 2006 3:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 2256

Joined: 5th May 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 5 Star Boxcar

Location: blu mtns
NSW, Australia

this a cam for a BA i guess?

 

_________________

Kezz's 5sp Box Car ---> RPD enhanced with a bunch of other stuff

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 30, 2006 4:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4849

Joined: 19th Feb 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA Falcon Suzy Across

Power: 178 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Now that I think about it, You don't need a new cam because the cam varies and you can make it change from the ECU, this just rings a bell, can't remember where I read it.

 

_________________

178.3 rwkw
15.1@96 mph
Now with 3.9 shrooms

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 30, 2006 4:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

smiley235 wrote:
Now that I think about it, You don't need a new cam because the cam varies and you can make it change from the ECU, this just rings a bell, can't remember where I read it.


Your talking about VCT. That only changes the timing of the opening/closing of the valves. Cant change duration, lift, etc (i.e. everything you want to change for more power)

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 30, 2006 4:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 573

Joined: 27th Apr 2006

Ride: BA XT FALCON (2003)

Location: Cairns
QLD, Australia

kezz wrote:
this a cam for a BA i guess?


Yeah for a BA... Can't seem to find any

"Now that I think about it, You don't need a new cam because the cam varies and you can make it change from the ECU, this just rings a bell, can't remember where I read it."

Ive heard Simliar but didn't think that there was any truth behind it...

Might be tho... I'll look into it with more depth
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 30, 2006 4:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 2256

Joined: 5th May 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 5 Star Boxcar

Location: blu mtns
NSW, Australia

hmmm pretty new motor so there wouldnt be much out there and if there is it would be exxy. solution? buy a SOHC e-series car!

 

_________________

Kezz's 5sp Box Car ---> RPD enhanced with a bunch of other stuff

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 30, 2006 4:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 573

Joined: 27th Apr 2006

Ride: BA XT FALCON (2003)

Location: Cairns
QLD, Australia

stockstandard wrote:
smiley235 wrote:
Now that I think about it, You don't need a new cam because the cam varies and you can make it change from the ECU, this just rings a bell, can't remember where I read it.


Your talking about VCT. That only changes the timing of the opening/closing of the valves. Cant change duration, lift, etc (i.e. everything you want to change for more power)


Argh... i think that Dave was talking about similar to that... hence why i was confused...
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 7:18 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names