Fordmods Logo

cam for my set up??? 

 

Page 1 of 8 [ 108 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next

 
 Post subject: cam for my set up???
Posted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 10:13 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 359

Joined: 22nd Dec 2009

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: el xr6, r33 series 2 skyline

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

i have a el xr6 so far have, full exhaust, extractors, cat, chip and some sort of cam so far im pulling 150rwkw
im getting some head work done in a few days any guess at the performance gains from this head work??
also my car is auto and the cam doesnt feel like it pulls enough so was wondering what people would suggest since i need it to be drivable for the streets but only just. iv looked at the wade cam 977b-14 so far people have said it goes very well but rather than a quater mile time im more so going for a 0-100time

 

_________________

God made s**t, Holden put wheels on it

skyline daily
ford building

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 10:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 4182

Joined: 30th May 2005

Ride: 1993 EB XR8

Location: BrisVegas
QLD, Australia

paulos wrote:
i have a el xr6 so far have, full exhaust, extractors, cat, chip and some sort of cam so far im pulling 150rwkw
im getting some head work done in a few days any guess at the performance gains from this head work??
also my car is auto and the cam doesnt feel like it pulls enough so was wondering what people would suggest since i need it to be drivable for the streets but only just. iv looked at the wade cam 977b-14 so far people have said it goes very well but rather than a quater mile time im more so going for a 0-100time


150rwkw with a stock cam and the auto, NO WAY IN HELL. You have an auto, to go quick, get a manual or 4.11 diff gears

 

_________________

ILL60 - EF XR8, Sunroof, Ticky Kit, 19x8.5/19x11 TE37's, 347, AFr185's, TFS BoxRcustom converter, Hurst Quarterstick, huge billet cam.

51TER - DL LTD. Stock.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 10:42 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 359

Joined: 22nd Dec 2009

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: el xr6, r33 series 2 skyline

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

im not changing auto, i will be changing diff gears l8r on, and its a very very mild cam its like stage 1, hav u got any suggestions on a cam for a 0-100 tho?

 

_________________

God made s**t, Holden put wheels on it

skyline daily
ford building

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 10:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 887

Joined: 8th Aug 2006

Ride: Falcon

Location: Central Highlands
QLD, Australia

paulos wrote:
im not changing auto, i will be changing diff gears l8r on, and its a very very mild cam its like stage 1, hav u got any suggestions on a cam for a 0-100 tho?


I would suggest a WADE 1636 but most cars with extractors, high flow cat, 2.5in exhaust, intake and j3 chip only get around 130-140rwkw with that cam.

 

_________________

97 EL Fairmont 4l OHC .Silver.
Exhaust: Pacemaker's, 2.5" exhaust and Hiflow cat
Intake: FRAM AIRHOG , EL GT snorkel
XR6 300kpa fuel reg Stg 2 Auto Shift Kit.6DJA ECU
PM in Qld looking too buy Toyota 4*4 SR5 Dualcab Hilux 91-97 with 2.8l diesel engine/5spd manual

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:01 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 359

Joined: 22nd Dec 2009

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: el xr6, r33 series 2 skyline

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

well im deffinitly making 150rwkw in bout a week il post a pic of the dyno, so from what you are saying is i must be running a higher stage cam to get that power then? im not sure what cam is in there but i dont imagine it could be the expensive since for extractors cat and cam i only paid 1000, but the cam feels very lifeless in my car there no kick in the power no matter where the revs sit

btw got ne ideas on the power increase with the head work?

 

_________________

God made s**t, Holden put wheels on it

skyline daily
ford building

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 887

Joined: 8th Aug 2006

Ride: Falcon

Location: Central Highlands
QLD, Australia

paulos wrote:
well im deffinitly making 150rwkw in bout a week il post a pic of the dyno, so from what you are saying is i must be running a higher stage cam to get that power then? im not sure what cam is in there but i dont imagine it could be the expensive since for extractors cat and cam i only paid 1000, but the cam feels very lifeless in my car there no kick in the power no matter where the revs sit

btw got ne ideas on the power increase with the head work?


The shop must have fitted a stage 3 cam for those sort of numbers... You should be happy with that and just get diff gears changed.

 

_________________

97 EL Fairmont 4l OHC .Silver.
Exhaust: Pacemaker's, 2.5" exhaust and Hiflow cat
Intake: FRAM AIRHOG , EL GT snorkel
XR6 300kpa fuel reg Stg 2 Auto Shift Kit.6DJA ECU
PM in Qld looking too buy Toyota 4*4 SR5 Dualcab Hilux 91-97 with 2.8l diesel engine/5spd manual

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:10 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

hp maybe!

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:20 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 359

Joined: 22nd Dec 2009

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: el xr6, r33 series 2 skyline

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

enough on doubting if its 150rwkw, it keeps up with vx ss and stock r33, if it was stage three cam wouldent i be able to feel some sort of pull from a certain rev point?
like i said tho i dident pay much at all as far as my tunner said ( henrich performance and tunning) he said it was a basic upgrade from the stock cam

any one wonna try posting something that might actualy put me in the right direction for a hotter cam

 

_________________

God made s**t, Holden put wheels on it

skyline daily
ford building

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 5889

Joined: 2nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: '14 Grand Cherokee

Location: Port Lincoln
SA, Australia

Image

that is my EL Fairmont Ghia, with a Crescent Motorsport Stage 3 cam. and i cant keep up with a 200-something kW SS commodore.

 

_________________

11/93 ED OPT20 GLi | Full Boat Spec

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 5889

Joined: 2nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: '14 Grand Cherokee

Location: Port Lincoln
SA, Australia

and as for idle quality..... there isnt much but its there.

Image

Image

 

_________________

11/93 ED OPT20 GLi | Full Boat Spec

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:33 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 359

Joined: 22nd Dec 2009

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: el xr6, r33 series 2 skyline

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

your car sounds like it goes hard, but being as mine is auto mine still seems faster from 0-100 since it doesnt change gear till 80km, altho your revs seem to build faster than mine

i ment the 225kw holden not the series 3 which had 245kw

 

_________________

God made s**t, Holden put wheels on it

skyline daily
ford building

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 5889

Joined: 2nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: '14 Grand Cherokee

Location: Port Lincoln
SA, Australia

Image

theres a longer driving one around town if you want a better idea of a lumpy cam and street driveability, it lurches like a b**ch when slowing down between 1500-2800rpm.

 

_________________

11/93 ED OPT20 GLi | Full Boat Spec

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:40 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 359

Joined: 22nd Dec 2009

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: el xr6, r33 series 2 skyline

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

sounds very diffrent to my car tho, inside my car it sounds loud and deep, yours sounds deffs hotter cam or something. what sort of power are you pulling?

 

_________________

God made s**t, Holden put wheels on it

skyline daily
ford building

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 5:13 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 1953

Joined: 1st Feb 2006

Gallery: 25 images

Ride: BA on gas. EL on gas. XF on gas.

Location: Greenacres/Adelaide
SA, Australia

I had a RPD R1 cam in my old tired EF motor it pulled 119rwkw.
I didnt think it made much difference.
I recently fitted a much lower km EL motor and not fitted the cam yet.
I now know it pulled much harder from about 2,500rpm.
When I get around to fitting the cam to the current motor I will at least know how much of a difference it made.
The only way you will know how much of a difference your cam makes is fit a standard cam.
Dyno it or take it for a spin.

 

_________________

Member Number 8804
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam for my set up???
Posted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 11:45 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 2563

Joined: 19th Feb 2007

Gallery: 21 images

Ride: 98 EL Futura

Power: 199 rwkw

Location: Lilydale
VIC, Australia

You say you keep up with VX SS's and R33's but then you say it feels lifeless with no kick, there not slow cars. Do a vid of how yours takes off or a quarter mile then you will see how quick it is.

Also there is no series 3 with 245kw, it went VX 225kw, VY 235kw then VY series 2 245kw

 

_________________

EL Futura: CVE head, Wolf V500, ICE Ignition and Coil, 36lb injectors, Walbro 255lb, Paci comps, 3" exhaust, T5, Harrop Truetrac with 3.9s. Now with 198.9rwkw, (~185rwkw and 13.80 @99.1mph) with more power to come

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 8  [ 108 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 29 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 10:05 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names