Fordmods Logo

Fordmods Advertising

cam sensor 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: cam sensor
Posted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 12:34 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 24

Joined: 24th Sep 2016

Ride: EF falcon AU motor

Location: kambalda west
WA, Australia

I em putting a AU motor in my EF flacon and came across this that i have to do but i dont understand can anyone explain in amuter language please

Remove the block where the Dizzy (EL) or cam sensor (EF) goes and remove the gear from the shaft and fit to your Dizzy (EL) or Cam Sensor (EF). This will then mean that the gears are matching and you should have no issues, there have been issues with dizzys failing when this has not been done. Some modding will be requiered to use the existing mount point, extra notch/gring Cam sensor.
Note:Do not try and drill hole in existing EF position on AU block, you will drill through the block.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam sensor
Posted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 8:11 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 59

Posts: 6794

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

Which part don't you understand from these instructions?

Remove the Oil Drive Block where the Dizzy (EL) or cam sensor (EF) goes and remove the gear from the shaft and fit to your Dizzy (EL) or Cam Sensor (EF). This will then mean that the gears are matching and you should have no issue’s, there have been issues with dizzy’s failing when this has not been done. Some modding will be required to use the existing mount point, extra notch in the clamp plate or grind the tab off the Cam sensor.
Note:Do not try and drill hole in existing EF position on AU block, you will drill through the block.

 

_________________

SWC

South West Customs


Members of the SWC Stable, fordebgt93, TROYMAN, Benj, svo_matt, Mrs C, eb_fairmont, Total_tool, Terroristghia

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam sensor
Posted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 11:26 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 24

Joined: 24th Sep 2016

Ride: EF falcon AU motor

Location: kambalda west
WA, Australia

do i take the gears from the EF cam sensor and put it on the cam sensor on the au

or do i take the gears off the Ef cam sensor and put it on the oil drive on the au

or do i take the gears off the EF cam sensor and put it on the AU dizzy

sorry if this question seams dumb but its the first time doing anything like this
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam sensor
Posted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 11:38 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 59

Posts: 6794

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

davo1990 wrote:
do i take the gears from the EF cam sensor and put it on the cam sensor on the au

or do i take the gears off the Ef cam sensor and put it on the oil drive on the au

or do i take the gears off the EF cam sensor and put it on the AU dizzy

sorry if this question seams dumb but its the first time doing anything like this


You remove the AU Oil Drive, remove the gear from the AU Oil Drive. Remove the gear from the EF Cam Sensor and replace it with the Gear from the AU Oil Drive. This then means that the gear is from the AU and matches the gear on the AUX Drive shaft.

AU's don't have dizzy's.

Do you know how to lock the EF Cam Sensor before fitting?

 

_________________

SWC

South West Customs


Members of the SWC Stable, fordebgt93, TROYMAN, Benj, svo_matt, Mrs C, eb_fairmont, Total_tool, Terroristghia

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam sensor
Posted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 11:46 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 24

Joined: 24th Sep 2016

Ride: EF falcon AU motor

Location: kambalda west
WA, Australia

so i put the gears form the oil drive on the cam sensor and put the cam sensor were the oil drive cam from and nar i dont know how to lock it.....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam sensor
Posted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 1:39 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 24

Joined: 24th Sep 2016

Ride: EF falcon AU motor

Location: kambalda west
WA, Australia

And how do i get the gears off does thatpin thing just push through
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam sensor
Posted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 1:59 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 59

Posts: 6794

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

davo1990 wrote:
so i put the gears form the oil drive on the cam sensor and put the cam sensor were the oil drive cam from.

A) Yes that is correct.

and I dont know how to lock it.

A) There is a small hole in the base of the cam sensor on the side of the casting. Insert a 4mm drill or pin and this locks the cam sensor in what will the the TDC in relation to the engine. You then need to set the motor to TDC and insert the cam sensor. Both will then be at TDC. Don't forget to remove the Drill/Pin when you lock the cam sensor down.
....

davo1990 wrote:
And how do i get the gears off does thatpin thing just push through.

A) The pin just pushes out using a small pin punch and a small hammer ( don't belt the hell out of it). Rest the shaft on a piece of wood when you knock it out. The gear should just slide off with the pin removed. Install is the reverse.

 

_________________

SWC

South West Customs


Members of the SWC Stable, fordebgt93, TROYMAN, Benj, svo_matt, Mrs C, eb_fairmont, Total_tool, Terroristghia

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam sensor
Posted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 2:06 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 24

Joined: 24th Sep 2016

Ride: EF falcon AU motor

Location: kambalda west
WA, Australia

ok awsome thanks mate iam sure ill have more questions later thanks again
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam sensor
Posted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 4:25 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 24

Joined: 24th Sep 2016

Ride: EF falcon AU motor

Location: kambalda west
WA, Australia

ok problem number two i need to either re tap the knock sensor to fit the EF one in or change the plug i dont have the tools to do the tap so how can i change the plug
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam sensor
Posted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 4:59 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 24

Joined: 24th Sep 2016

Ride: EF falcon AU motor

Location: kambalda west
WA, Australia

all good sorted it out
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cam sensor
Posted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 5:05 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 59

Posts: 6794

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

davo1990 wrote:
ok problem number two i need to either re tap the knock sensor to fit the EF one in or change the plug i dont have the tools to do the tap so how can i change the plug


Remove the stud for the AU Knock sensor and check the thread. You may find it the right size for the E series Knock sensor. Some AU engines are and some arn't.

 

_________________

SWC

South West Customs


Members of the SWC Stable, fordebgt93, TROYMAN, Benj, svo_matt, Mrs C, eb_fairmont, Total_tool, Terroristghia

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 07, 2016 7:33 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names