Cam vernier adjustment 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

Post subject: Cam vernier adjustment
Posted: Sun Jul 13, 2008 6:41 pm 
Tyre Shredder

Ride: EL Falcon

Power: 146 rwkw

NSW, Australia

I just instaled a wade 1636 cam in my car with a worked head & au gasket. I put the tensioner in & checked the cam tdc. I noticed that tdc dot was way to high (not 3 deg.). I got my degree wheel & checked,it was approx. 6 degrees. I advanced the cam one line & made it worse.
I retareded the cam one line & got 3-4 degrees. I drove the car & the cam kicks in hard from 2500-3000 up to 5500rpm.
Could anyone please tell me if that sounds right.
I did check tech doc. & it said to check tdc with the tensioner out
I don't see reason to check tdc with the tensioner out because with the shaved head & thin gasket it's the tensioner that throws the tdc out.
Please let me know if anyone has encountered this before. :?
SORRY FOR THE LONG STORY.

FORD EL 4.0L. Crow cam, T.I Performance J3 Chip, Vernier cam gear, SPR ported head, 68mm TB, AU head gasket + ARP studs, AU injectors, Pacey 4480, High flow cat, Shift kit, Stallie, 3:73 TrueTrac.

Posted: Sun Jul 13, 2008 7:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways

yes mine has a slightly shaved head and AU gasket, new timing kit and the cam gear mark sits roughly 5mm above the head at piston TDC

Went and bought a vernier gear and adjusted many ways with many different cams and found the lift is about right where it is and the cam gear mark position is irrelevant when certain things throw out the mark

All cams 'should' be dialed in, but ive found the Wade cams are usually ground very close and as long as no.6 valves are "on the rock" when piston no.1 is at TDC then its pretty close to dialled in.

Posted: Sun Jul 13, 2008 8:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 22 images

Ride: AU2 XR8 ute & 91 EA bitsa

VIC, Australia