Fordmods Logo

CAM vs CAM for Tickford 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

Post subject: CAM vs CAM for Tickford
Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2014 2:00 pm 
Smokin em up

Ride: EA Falcon

ACT, Australia

So Ive been looking on ebay at a cam for my Tickford that describes itself as a 219/219.

This doesnt actually mean anything to me as I have no experience with cams rated like this.
Years ago I had a cam that was a 39/71, and it was a decent size.

Does anyone know how to relate first rating with second rating?
Or could anyone describe the 219/219 compared to a 977B cam?
Does anyone know what size the CVE stage 1 cam is? (there are only two stages)

I had been sold on the CVE cam, but for days now no call back and no answer on the phone and no reply to email, so that idea is gone.

What I really want is a cam that quarter miles well.
Cheers

Post subject: Re: CAM vs CAM for Tickford
Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2014 2:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF XR6 Wagon, AU2 XR6 VCT

Power: 148 rwkw

New Zealand

I would be guessing, but that looks like the degrees int/exh duration at .050" lift. If that's correct, it is marginally hotter than the Wade 1521a (217/217) and quite a bit hotter than the 977b (206/206). As that would be hotter than any Wade grind, it would be at home on the dragstrip with a manual or maybe high-stalled auto, and not so much on the street.

95 EF XR6 wagon, 17" FTRs, DBA rotors, KYB/Koni, AU bottom end, ported EF head, backcut valves, SS Inductions, Territory intake, 10.2 CR, Auckland 1258 cam, vernier gear, PH4480 headers, no cat, Tickford 2.5", 2800rpm stall, J3 chip

Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2014 3:03 pm 
Smokin em up

Ride: EA Falcon

ACT, Australia

efxr6wagon wrote: