Fordmods Logo

Can u run a E series Cam in A Au 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Can u run a E series Cam in A Au
Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 10:37 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 274

Joined: 22nd Feb 2006

Ride: AU 6

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

Im little bit confused at this at the moment, Crow dont have any cams for a Au for the next 6 months bloody crap!! SO CAN I run a eseries cam cos they have plenty of them. they tell me i gotta change my head to eseries is this correct?? i reckon there wrong.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 11:09 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

You will need to change the rockers to e-series rockers. Heads and valves are identical when we are talking the cam side of things. Its the rockers and their ratio thats different.

But you may not fully benefit using an e-series cam in an AU head.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 11:10 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 9453

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Fordrunner 5.0 Turbo

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

Need the e series rocker gear and the valves as well cause they are thicker than the AU units. On top of that you then need the E series valve springs and guides. In effect it is much easier to get an E series head on an AU block. That is the most potent and safest combination.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 11:29 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 1169

Joined: 23rd Oct 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA MKII Futura

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

or get another brand cam?

wade?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 8:12 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 274

Joined: 22nd Feb 2006

Ride: AU 6

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

wade dont offer anything for a au. im gona have to find someone else.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 9:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

short answer? kinda.

the el's after feb 98 on the rego will have the AU head and therefore the au cam. if you put a 1.8:1 ratio or whatever in there it'll break something. beleive me

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: cam
Posted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 10:39 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 1132

Joined: 11th Jun 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: ef fairmont,

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

sorry to bounce off this thread a little bit but can you run an au cam in an ef and a au computer to go with it

 

_________________

95 ef montfor sale pm for info, 88 hilux mud truck

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 9:11 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Pre Feb-98 = E-series Head/Cam
Post Feb-98 = AU head/cam

Can't mix match, without changing alot of other stuff. = Not worth it. Get the right cam for your engine.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 9:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

data_mine wrote:
Get the right cam for your engine.


Best bit of advice I have read on the forum all day :P

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 10:32 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

What a perfectly cromulent sig quote you have.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 10:36 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Posts: 330

Joined: 26th Apr 2006

Location: rockingham
WA, Australia

seeing as this is sort of a hot topic...ish, can anyone confirm taht std ratio roller rockers in an ef run a 1.5??? or have i been led way off? cheers :)
and i also know taht diff ratio rockers are available for commodores, is this the same with falcons?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 10:45 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

E series I6's run 2:1 ratio. The AU's (and those late ELs) run 1.8:1 ratio.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 11:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

They are not actually roller rockers either - they are roller followers. There are no aftermarket replacements for them.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:54 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names