Fordmods Logo

Fordmods Advertising

___ Car wont start after changing cluster 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: ___ Car wont start after changing cluster
Posted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 6:25 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 204

Joined: 14th Oct 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: EF futura 96

Location: Le BrisVois
QLD, Australia

Reason: no speedo.

After changing vss and checking all voltages through cpu I went to wreckers and got another cluster.

When I put that one in and went to start it, I think it may have shorted something out?

The cluster lights up ok when turned to on, but only turns over once slowly and power to almost everything dies. Headlights are real dim too when turned on.

Putting in the old (originally working) cluster now does the same as the wrecker one.

(cluster came out of ef gli, mine is ef futura)

Was there something to smartlock or bcm that I had to do beforehand??

thanks.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ___ Car wont start after changing cluster
Posted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 6:38 pm 
NSW Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 7231

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: TE50

Location: ɹǝpun uʍop
NSW, Australia

Sounds like a flat battery to me.

Changing a cluster out should not effect anything else there, its not like your cutting and soldering anything. its all plugs.

 

_________________

Image

I have a car.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ___ Car wont start after changing cluster
Posted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 7:05 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 204

Joined: 14th Oct 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: EF futura 96

Location: Le BrisVois
QLD, Australia

battery voltage was fine, wouldnt start with a jump start either.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ___ Car wont start after changing cluster
Posted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 8:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 6345

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

rdiigen wrote:
battery voltage was fine, wouldnt start with a jump start either.


Did you do a voltage test whilst trying to start the engine ????? ( in car load test, bascially )
I replaced a battery today that was like that...had 12.58 volts, and when you tried to start the car, it took a dive down to 4 volts.....that means the battery is fvcked.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ___ Car wont start after changing cluster
Posted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 9:11 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 204

Joined: 14th Oct 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: EF futura 96

Location: Le BrisVois
QLD, Australia

may have a short in one of the lights? park lights come on ok, but when I turn to headlights, strange stuff starts to happen. With key out, ign off, when I pull on the Full beam handle, full beam doesnt come on but there is a fast paced ticking sound coming from somewhere when I do it?

All fuses inside the car are fine, fuses next to the battery seem fine (although one copper looks a little corroded but not broken).

Though I dont know how to check relays. Where are all the relays and which one is which and how to test?

cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ___ Car wont start after changing cluster
Posted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 9:19 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 22

Posts: 262

Joined: 21st Nov 2010

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: EF SERIES 2 XR6

Location: Wyong
NSW, Australia

rdiigen wrote:
battery voltage was fine, wouldnt start with a jump start either.


Did you use good quality jumper leads?? not elcheapo jumper leads from repco??

 

_________________

96 EF XR6 Factory 5 sp, currently in the middle of building a new motor
75 XB hardtop, factory 351-4speed 9 inch 81000 genuine km's
84 XE falcon s pack
84 XE falcon pov pack

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ___ Car wont start after changing cluster
Posted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 10:08 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11503

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

sounds like a dead battery symptom...find a good working battery and see how that goes. If that doesn't help, then you can check your relays.

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ___ Car wont start after changing cluster
Posted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 10:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1268

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Gallery: 39 images

Ride: EF GLi/Ghia bitsa

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

It wont be to do with the cluster, I'd be looking elsewhere, as mentioned, sounds like a dead battery, I am 99% sure than an EF/EL will start WITHOUT a cluster, so pretty sure it wont matter what is wrong with the cluster it should still start

Gab
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ___ Car wont start after changing cluster
Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2012 12:31 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 204

Joined: 14th Oct 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: EF futura 96

Location: Le BrisVois
QLD, Australia

ok thanks all, just very coincidental that it happened directly after installing the other cluster.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ___ replace cluster and speed sender, still no speedo
Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2012 11:15 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 204

Joined: 14th Oct 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: EF futura 96

Location: Le BrisVois
QLD, Australia

yeah ok, i just scanned the engine and code 578 came up (Battery voltage is too low - transmission).

I noticed in the book there is a code 513 (which I dont have) - Battery voltage is too low.

Why transmission though? Whats the difference.
_____________--

new battery and car starts, thanks.

But still no speedo reading after replacing VSS and the cluster. I do have a speedo corrector in between the cluster and ecu (changed 3.11 to 3.45 a couple of years back), maybe this has gone bad? what else could it be
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ___ Car wont start after changing cluster
Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2012 3:19 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 204

Joined: 14th Oct 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: EF futura 96

Location: Le BrisVois
QLD, Australia

Though i'm still getting voltage fluctuations at the ECU when I have someone turn the wheel?

Getting sick of driving around manual changing an auto... :(
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Aug 21, 2014 9:09 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names