Fordmods Logo

changing timing chain on EL 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: changing timing chain on EL
Posted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 6:04 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 143

Joined: 19th Oct 2007

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Hi

I'm about to change the timing chain on my EL i6 due to it rattling. Got a few questions - i'd search for answers but it's not working properly (i'm sure there's more than 7 threads with the words timing chain in them)

1. I understand the sump needs to be lowered. On an EL, do you need to lift the engine or lower the K-frame - or can you manage just by undoing the sump?

2. How do I set the cam timing? I have an AU manual and I think its different on the early EL's like mine.

3. I'm sure I'll figure this out when I get it all apart, but what gaskets are needed for the timing chain cover?

Thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: changing timing chain on EL
Posted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 6:28 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

natho wrote:
Hi

I'm about to change the timing chain on my EL i6 due to it rattling. Got a few questions - i'd search for answers but it's not working properly (i'm sure there's more than 7 threads with the words timing chain in them)

1. I understand the sump needs to be lowered. On an EL, do you need to lift the engine or lower the K-frame - or can you manage just by undoing the sump?

2. How do I set the cam timing? I have an AU manual and I think its different on the early EL's like mine.

3. I'm sure I'll figure this out when I get it all apart, but what gaskets are needed for the timing chain cover?

Thanks



Since the New Forum Update, the search isn't working too well. (its getting looked at)

1: You can just lower the sump slightly, BUT it you break the rubber seal, you'll need to drop the K-Frame or Lift the engine.

2: There are timing marks on the Gears, the crank and aux shaft mate up, and the Cam itself needs to be at 3 o'clock (3mm above the head cast)

3: two paper seals for the cover, o-ring for the chain tensioner, timing cover to head seal, RTV sealant, and non some #3 form-a-gasket.

Heres a Picture of a EF Setup, Similar to EL

 

 

Attachments:
timing2.JPG
timing2.JPG [ 104.89 KiB | Viewed 280 times ]

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: changing timing chain on EL
Posted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 10:31 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 143

Joined: 19th Oct 2007

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

ugh. i'm really dreading this job.

if i drop the k-frame, do I need to support the engine on chain or similar (i.e. is the engine bolted to the k-frame as in the commodores i've done sumps on in the past?) and if so any suggestions on how to do this without spending lots of money hiring cranes etc?

thanks for your help though - that diagram is exactly what i need
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: changing timing chain on EL
Posted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 10:34 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

natho wrote:
ugh. i'm really dreading this job.

if i drop the k-frame, do I need to support the engine on chain or similar (i.e. is the engine bolted to the k-frame as in the commodores i've done sumps on in the past?) and if so any suggestions on how to do this without spending lots of money hiring cranes etc?

thanks for your help though - that diagram is exactly what i need


I believe you would have to support the engine when dropping the K-frame...

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: changing timing chain on EL
Posted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 10:38 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

Yes, engine is bolted directly on the K-Frame.

If you need to remove the sump:
You'll need to remove the bonnet and chain the engine up if your opting this way.
Or get a steel box section or a strong timber, and prop it up on the strut towers.
undo the engine mounts, raisr engine, chain up and lower.

Remember, removing the K-Frame requires suspension removal also.

your garage will look like this!

 

 

Attachments:
Mess.JPG
Mess.JPG [ 74 KiB | Viewed 78 times ]

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: changing timing chain on EL
Posted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 11:20 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 143

Joined: 19th Oct 2007

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

argh. it'd probably be easier to remove the engine. how much of the suspension do you have to remove? i'm hoping that 'suspension' doesn't include the gearbox and exhaust in your picture?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: changing timing chain on EL
Posted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 11:28 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

Nah, just lower control arms, radius rods, power steering etc.

I removed the the engine due to idler gear failure. (came loose and seized the engine via chain)

While I was at it I replaced the K-Frame as it was slightly 'dented' from being a country car traveling on dirt roads prior to my purchasing.

With the car on stands, engine propped, it should take about an hour to remove the K-Frame.
Takes longer to put in with one person!

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: changing timing chain on EL
Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 3:03 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 143

Joined: 19th Oct 2007

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

so i've got it apart now. managed to do it without damaging the sump seal too!

only thing is, the little regulator valve (circled in blue on your picture) is hanging out the block about 5mm. i can push it back in but it just springs back out. I thought it was supposed to be an tight fit? should I replace it?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 7:58 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names