Fordmods Logo

coolant level switch into EF GLi 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 3 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: coolant level switch into EF GLi
Posted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:26 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 17

Joined: 20th Jul 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Does any one know if it is possable to put coolant level switch into GLi EF I can see the plug for level switch which I shorted to gether but it does not bring the dash light on I am hoping its just requires a globe in the dash. After the top flang on the radiator broke and dumped all the water cooked the engine I want to have some sort of warning if it hapens again.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 10126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Gli Ghia, XP Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

all you need to do is install the switch, run 1 wire to the cluster and put a globe in. See the tech doco's

What's this about shorting together a plug ?????

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 67612 EF GLi Sedans made
FACT: "Chuck Norris owns the greatest Poker Face of all-time. It helped him win the 1983 World Series of Poker despite him holding just a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game Uno."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:54 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

He's shorted the plug provided on the ABS loom for the low level switch and obviously it didn't illuminate. (or in real terms 'un-illuminate')

The light will come on (if installed) when the wire is OPEN.

Unfortunatley this wire goes from the sensor to the firewall. but doesn't travel to the cluster so therefore the globe will remain on untill the circuit is complete.

You need to add the globe to the cluster and run a single wire from the cluster to the firewall engine loom connector.

I have a pic of where to get the wire from inside the car that way you dont have to run a cable all the way through!


http://www.fordmods.com/forums/documents.php?doc=14

wanna buy a police series cluster? =P

cheers

 

 

Attachments:
100_1383s.JPG
100_1383s.JPG [ 78.88 KiB | Viewed 1159 times ]

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 3 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 28 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 12:35 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names