Fordmods Logo

Disconnecting the computer Idle control 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 24 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Disconnecting the computer Idle control
Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 3:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1687

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: 1994 ED Ricer

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I have disconnected the wires from the throttle body and the car is idling much better..

apart from it being a bit of a b**ch in the cold mornings, are there any other CONS for leaving the computer idle control disconnected? cheers.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 4:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 740

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

theres gotta be a reason why ford put it on there in the first place :lol:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 4:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1687

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: 1994 ED Ricer

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

i think its to help the cold starts.... tahts it.
i may be wrong tho, which is why i posted!!
;)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 4:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1102

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA MkII XR6 Ute

Location: Gippsland
VIC, Australia

Ryan0001 wrote:
theres gotta be a reason why ford put it on there in the first place :lol:


Also to do with emissions i believe.

 

_________________

We'll keep our cow s**t in the country, you keep your bull s**t in the city.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 9:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 916

Joined: 27th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL Futura

Location: Berri
SA, Australia

I've had mine disconnected for months, haven't had any bad side effects yet.

I think Ford put it there so the car would idle on cold mornings, and with the air con on.

 

_________________

5 Speed EL Futura
Stock as a rock*
Image
A1 Oils - Synthetic lubricants: www.a1oils.com.au
* A rock that has been Alted

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 9:25 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3097

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: VU SS

Location: Ivanhoe
NSW, Australia

If you do a bit of a search... I had a thread a while back askign the exact same thing.

Yes it does idle better, and yes it sucks for cold mornings.
That's why I have it connected to a switch which I have on in the morning only.

 

_________________

EF Fairmont now Sold!
Guides: Polishing|Modifications |Manual Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 17, 2005 1:45 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 280

Joined: 30th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

The ISC is used to control the idle speed during cold and warn engine periods and maintains the base idle when various loads are placed on the motor, like aircon and lights.

AFAIK, the ISC isn't used for emission control as such as this is done buy controlling the amount of fuel injected into the motor using the MAP, IAT and O2 sensors.

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 17, 2005 12:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1102

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA MkII XR6 Ute

Location: Gippsland
VIC, Australia

ItchiOne wrote:
The ISC is used to control the idle speed during cold and warn engine periods and maintains the base idle when various loads are placed on the motor, like aircon and lights.

AFAIK, the ISC isn't used for emission control as such as this is done buy controlling the amount of fuel injected into the motor using the MAP, IAT and O2 sensors.

Cheers


Ever noticed how little engine braking the I6 has for a reasonably large displacement engine? Disconnect the ISC and go for a drive and you will notice that it doesnt 'hang' revs as much, dropping linearly when your foot is taken off the accelerator. Also when backing off when driving at for example, 100km/h, RPM will drop further than it does with the ISC connected and you experience greater engine braking. I had been told this was due to the ISC holding revs (hence the 'hanging revs' that people talk about in regard to these engine) to decrease emmissions.

 

_________________

We'll keep our cow s**t in the country, you keep your bull s**t in the city.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 17, 2005 1:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 2537

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EFII Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

The hanging revs s**t me to tears. I plugged the ISC back in because the idle was low on cold startups. Otherwise I love it. Last week on one cold startup the engine revs went very low as if to stall, when I gave the accelerator a bit it kinda knocked and made an internal noise I didn't like as it wanted to stall but all of a sudden got a dose of fuel. Reconnected the ISC until I can be bothered to adjust the idle.

What s**t me about the ISC holding revs and mine being an auto is. When you go up the drive way, and place the auto into neutral, the revs rise to 1100rpm and you accidentally put the shifter into reverse before the revs come down (which takes almost 10 seconds). I don't appreciate the bang from the auto in that circumstance.

Another thing is I hate with the ISC connected to is doing oil changes with it. Drain the oil, fill her back up with the good stuff. Turn her on at the end of service and the engine spools to almost 3000RPM because of the temporary lack of oil at the top of the motor. The lifters hammer away as the stupid ISC holds the revs up there. NEVER a friggin again now that I know a couple of things. What a stupid system that is hey...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 17, 2005 1:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 4967

Joined: 22nd Nov 2004

Location: FAR FAR AWAY LAND
QLD, Australia

oil changes, hell kit ,no one told me you had to change the oil

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 17, 2005 1:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1102

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA MkII XR6 Ute

Location: Gippsland
VIC, Australia

The cold starts are the only real disadvantage i can find of not running the ISC, which is why i think having a switch for it could be a good idea.

Only other thing i wondered about is whether error codes are logged when ISC is not functioning?

 

_________________

We'll keep our cow s**t in the country, you keep your bull s**t in the city.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 17, 2005 1:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 2537

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EFII Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

noisuf wrote:
oil changes, hell kit ,no one told me you had to change the oil


There you go noisy. Theres no end to my tutoring you is there my little friend :wink:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 17, 2005 1:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 2537

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EFII Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

tomcolahan wrote:
The cold starts are the only real disadvantage i can find of not running the ISC, which is why i think having a switch for it could be a good idea.

Only other thing i wondered about is whether error codes are logged when ISC is not functioning?


That's a thought. I wonder about that as-well. As usually with ISC on, the car does a quick diagnostic on each and every start-up doesn't it. Indicative of the way it ramps up to 1500RPM or more before settling down to base Idle on every turn of the key. I can't see how the ECU would have time to enter a diagnostic mode with ISC off? :?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 17, 2005 1:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1102

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA MkII XR6 Ute

Location: Gippsland
VIC, Australia

Thats along the lines of what i was thinking.

I wonder, if we assume (just for example purposes, i really have no idea whtere or not they are) that error codes are logged if the ISC is not functioning on start up, are error codes logged if the ISC is not functioning during normal driving conditions, not start up?

Everything so far is pointing towards a switchable ISC. Have it on whenever starting the car and turn off once warmed up.

 

_________________

We'll keep our cow s**t in the country, you keep your bull s**t in the city.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 17, 2005 1:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 2537

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EFII Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Not sure. Someones going to have to test this theory out I think. They are valid issues that need some sort of confirmation one way or the other. I must make that led for retrieving codes.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 3:21 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names