Fordmods Logo

DOHC on EF ECU... 

 

Page 2 of 3 [ 34 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: Re: DOHC on EF ECU...
Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 3:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6449

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gab1 wrote:
It will eithier idle but not go, or it'll go but not idle, it's not designed to run with the camshafts locked, the cam profiles wont suit being locked and it wont run properley in my opinion.

Gab


One of the failure mods the PCM uses if a CMP signal is not present is to shut down the VCT, most people wouldn't notice there was any change.

 

_________________

PERMANENTLY BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: DOHC on EF ECU...
Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 3:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 4599

Joined: 30th Aug 2010

Ride: BF XR6,

Location: NEWCASTLE
NSW, Australia

People lock the cams on the barra when doing the conversion on aftermarket ecu's

 

_________________

BF XR6
xr8 snorkel,typhoon lower snorkel,territory intake pipe,20% underdrive kit,pacemaker extractors,high flow cat,xforce exhaust,t56 conversion hd turbo clutch/ flywheel,m86 3.45 lsd,custom tune187.1rwkw as an auto

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: DOHC on EF ECU...
Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 5:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 993

Joined: 26th Sep 2007

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Well this pleases me muchly.... Looks like barra 190 for me locked cams with a nice set of atomic cams and ef ecu with j3 should be good :D

 

_________________

ED Fairmont Barra 190rwkw 4.10 Gears 3500 Stall 1/4 to come

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: DOHC on EF ECU...
Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 5:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 993

Joined: 26th Sep 2007

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Conversion should be cheap apart from cam and headers.

 

_________________

ED Fairmont Barra 190rwkw 4.10 Gears 3500 Stall 1/4 to come

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: DOHC on EF ECU...
Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 6:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6449

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

I'd still be getting a copy of the genuine workshop manuals for each car before getting in to deep.

 

_________________

PERMANENTLY BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: DOHC on EF ECU...
Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 6:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

Gab1 wrote:
It will eithier idle but not go, or it'll go but not idle, it's not designed to run with the camshafts locked, the cam profiles wont suit being locked and it wont run properley in my opinion.

Gab


In your opinion. Lol!!

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: DOHC on EF ECU...
Posted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 5:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 993

Joined: 26th Sep 2007

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

krisisdog wrote:
Gab1 wrote:
It will eithier idle but not go, or it'll go but not idle, it's not designed to run with the camshafts locked, the cam profiles wont suit being locked and it wont run properley in my opinion.

Gab


In your opinion. Lol!!



Lolol

Well after all of this all it was, loose torque converter bolts..im a Nob clearly!!
So motor is fine so looks like it will stay SOHC turbo plans for now, thanks all for the info though!

 

_________________

ED Fairmont Barra 190rwkw 4.10 Gears 3500 Stall 1/4 to come

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: DOHC on EF ECU...
Posted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 6:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 51

Posts: 433

Joined: 18th Jul 2009

Ride: NL FAIRLANE BA TURBO POWERED

Location: ballarat
VIC, Australia

Have read a thread somewhere don't know where about a guy who is running BArra in Au using au ecu. Great read sounded pretty simple.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: DOHC on EF ECU...
Posted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 6:19 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

fezlane wrote:
Have read a thread somewhere don't know where about a guy who is running BArra in Au using au ecu. Great read sounded pretty simple.


the link is on the previous page..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: DOHC on EF ECU...
Posted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 6:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 51

Posts: 433

Joined: 18th Jul 2009

Ride: NL FAIRLANE BA TURBO POWERED

Location: ballarat
VIC, Australia

Not to good at speed reading haha. Its very interesting though.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: DOHC on EF ECU...
Posted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 12:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6449

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

TROYMAN wrote:
fezlane wrote:
Have read a thread somewhere don't know where about a guy who is running BArra in Au using au ecu. Great read sounded pretty simple.


the link is on the previous page..


He pretty much did what I was thinking would be needed, But I would spend the extra money on and get some adjustable cam gears.

 

_________________

PERMANENTLY BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: DOHC on EF ECU...
Posted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 1:15 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

tickford_6 wrote:
TROYMAN wrote:
fezlane wrote:
Have read a thread somewhere don't know where about a guy who is running BArra in Au using au ecu. Great read sounded pretty simple.


the link is on the previous page..


He pretty much did what I was thinking would be needed, But I would spend the extra money on and get some adjustable cam gears.


i am considering doing it this way aswell, this way i get to keep a working trip comp, i can use the current au cruise control, and i cant see the overall power being any different..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: DOHC on EF ECU...
Posted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 1:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 993

Joined: 26th Sep 2007

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Do it troyman! Factory ecu ftw I had the same reasons cruise and trip comp etc while keeping factory interior etc

 

_________________

ED Fairmont Barra 190rwkw 4.10 Gears 3500 Stall 1/4 to come

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: DOHC on EF ECU...
Posted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 2:24 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

and mine beng an au the engine conversion could almost be done in one day..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: DOHC on EF ECU...
Posted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 2:47 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

TROYMAN wrote:
and mine beng an au the engine conversion could almost be done in one day..


Not if its a Fordmods working bee :shock:
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 3  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 2:56 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names