Fordmods Logo

DOHC on EF ECU... 

 

Page 1 of 3 [ 34 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: DOHC on EF ECU...
Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 6:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 993

Joined: 26th Sep 2007

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Hi fella's think ive broken a timing chain guide in my AU motor, never done this before so i'm a bit s**t, has noise above 3500 on decel... anyway..

my EL is running the EF ECU with the Camshaft and Crank angle sensor on the front of the motor.

I wish to run an DOHC motor in this car off the E series ECU, can't see why I can't as long as I lock the cams....(ive had dohc in an eb before and ran bf ecu but ive already converted this el to EDIS)

can someone tell me why I can't... I can wire the coil packs to trigger the same as an ef would fire 2 at a time. and as far as i know the cam angle and crank angle tone wheel is the same... So it should just be a case of tuning... and I want to cam it as well...

please correct me if I'm wrong... but if it can be done it will be a very cost effective DOHC converstion.

 

_________________

ED Fairmont Barra 190rwkw 4.10 Gears 3500 Stall 1/4 to come

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: DOHC on EF ECU...
Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 7:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 993

Joined: 26th Sep 2007

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

did a search couldnt find any info on the subject.

 

_________________

ED Fairmont Barra 190rwkw 4.10 Gears 3500 Stall 1/4 to come

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: DOHC on EF ECU...
Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 7:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 4599

Joined: 30th Aug 2010

Ride: BF XR6,

Location: NEWCASTLE
NSW, Australia

Tickford_6 and a few other people have mentioned running a dohc motor in an au falcon off its au ecu. But there could be just enough difference between ef and au to make it impossible on the ef but quite simple on the au

 

_________________

BF XR6
xr8 snorkel,typhoon lower snorkel,territory intake pipe,20% underdrive kit,pacemaker extractors,high flow cat,xforce exhaust,t56 conversion hd turbo clutch/ flywheel,m86 3.45 lsd,custom tune187.1rwkw as an auto

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: DOHC on EF ECU...
Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 7:22 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

it will work as the crank sensors is pretty much the same, except you need to work out the cam sensor as there are differences in the way they work...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: DOHC on EF ECU...
Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 7:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 993

Joined: 26th Sep 2007

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Ohh poo are the cam sensors essential? On my old ef it was unplugged and made no difference hmmmm

 

_________________

ED Fairmont Barra 190rwkw 4.10 Gears 3500 Stall 1/4 to come

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: DOHC on EF ECU...
Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 8:23 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

you may be able to get away with it in the ef..
is there any reason why you dont want to run a ba/bf ecu??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: DOHC on EF ECU...
Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 8:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 993

Joined: 26th Sep 2007

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Bit of cbf and I would like to retain working trip computer etc

 

_________________

ED Fairmont Barra 190rwkw 4.10 Gears 3500 Stall 1/4 to come

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: DOHC on EF ECU...
Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 8:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1140

Joined: 27th Feb 2005

Ride: Supercharged EF Fairmont

Location: T.I. Performance HQ
VIC, Australia

Have had a few guys do this. Would make the electrical side of a conversion a lot easier.

Cheers,
Jason
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: DOHC on EF ECU...
Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 10:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

bry40l wrote:
Tickford_6 and a few other people have mentioned running a dohc motor in an au falcon off its au ecu. But there could be just enough difference between ef and au to make it impossible on the ef but quite simple on the au


didn't the guys from ferntree gully put a BA motor in a s**t AU wreck and made it run on a VCT AU ECU?

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: DOHC on EF ECU...
Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 10:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6449

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

bry40l wrote:
Tickford_6 and a few other people have mentioned running a dohc motor in an au falcon off its au ecu. But there could be just enough difference between ef and au to make it impossible on the ef but quite simple on the au




CKP signal is the same. BA-AU and I assume EF Given they all use a 36-1 wheel with the missing tooth at 60 BTDC. I'm also going to scope with the BA and AU sensors with a reference off no. one injector just to be sure
CMP signal is different, as it the resistance across the sensor it self. I'm going to pull the covers of one of my spare BA/F engines to see if the teeth for the came sensor can be changed to get the signal to mimic the AU one. I don't know if the different resistance will be an issue.
Again I will scope these to check.

I've only really given it a little thought and read through the PCM section of the BA manual and compared stuff to what Autodata says about the AU. I'm waiting for an AU manual to turn up so I can have some complete AU info.

I'm really only interested in getting the ignition system functioning as the car i'm thinking about is a gas only ute.

A bolt in, plug and play conversion would be cool.

 

_________________

PERMANENTLY BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: DOHC on EF ECU...
Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 11:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 993

Joined: 26th Sep 2007

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Sounds great man will stayed tuned in.

I'm in 2 minds at the moment, flog this car off and Get a nice AU fairmont and leave it alone. Or persist with this car and DOHC it. May have to go the old BF ecu and EB1 auto computer again like I did in my EB to retain the stock auto.

 

_________________

ED Fairmont Barra 190rwkw 4.10 Gears 3500 Stall 1/4 to come

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: DOHC on EF ECU...
Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 3:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 4307

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: EF Falcon XT-T

Location: Mornington Peninsula
VIC, Australia

Cam sensor is basically just used to sync the fuel system with the correct stroke, ignition wise it will work as it fires both cyl's at the same time.

fueling may be out of sync, with the injectors firing on the wrong stroke the motor, given EF is batch fire this is probably less of an issue then it would be if it was sequential like AU.

run the EF motor with the cam sensor unplugged to get an idea of what it'll run like.
its got a 50% chance of getting it right lol.

Quote:
It consists of a Hall sensor
which produces a 12 V square wave with one rising edge for
each engine cycle.
The actual adjustment of the CMP sensor Is not critical as
its purpose Is only to Identify which part of the cycle cylinder
1 Is In. The CMP rising edge must occur between 5° BTOC
(cylinder 1) and 45° ATOC (cylinder 1).

 

_________________

FALCN6 - EF GLi Turbo, 20" Rims, Air Bag Suspension, Straight LPG, 225rwkw
DTHWGN - EA GL Wagon, LTD Interior, Satin Black, 5.0, Turbo
RACER - EF Futura , 5.0, 5 Speed
PROJECT - 83 Thunderbird, Lowered, 18" Billet Wheels
DAILY - BA Fairmont Ghia 5.4 3V

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: DOHC on EF ECU...
Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 3:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 4307

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: EF Falcon XT-T

Location: Mornington Peninsula
VIC, Australia

This thread will help with the AU ECU question.

http://fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11381458

 

_________________

FALCN6 - EF GLi Turbo, 20" Rims, Air Bag Suspension, Straight LPG, 225rwkw
DTHWGN - EA GL Wagon, LTD Interior, Satin Black, 5.0, Turbo
RACER - EF Futura , 5.0, 5 Speed
PROJECT - 83 Thunderbird, Lowered, 18" Billet Wheels
DAILY - BA Fairmont Ghia 5.4 3V

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: DOHC on EF ECU...
Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 3:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 1322

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Gallery: 40 images

Ride: EF GLi/Ghia bitsa

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

It will eithier idle but not go, or it'll go but not idle, it's not designed to run with the camshafts locked, the cam profiles wont suit being locked and it wont run properley in my opinion.

Gab
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: DOHC on EF ECU...
Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 3:41 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

it will run fine with the cams locked,
the vct function is really only for economy and to meet emissions, its not like the jap "vtech" design where its for performance....
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 3  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:50 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names