Fordmods Logo

EA Aircon 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: EA Aircon
Posted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 8:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

I have to replace my heater core and whilst I'm there I was thinking of replacing the A/C core as well.
What I would like to know is it worth going to the A/C from an EF/EL for my EA. I know I would have to replace hoses and the compressor,but is it worth it and whats involved in fitting the EF/EL compressor to the EA block
Any advice /help appreciated.

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 6:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 557

Joined: 20th Aug 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF

Location: Keilor, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

The pulleys on the ea comps and ef comps dont sit in line with each other., one will appear to stickout more than the other.

There is no gain or even loss i think by changing to the newer comp. If yours is a Sanden, then it will cost the same to rebuild as would the ef comp, which is a Sanden trs 105.

All in all, just stick to the same as you got now. Just get it rebuilt if you wanna be sure. Anywhere between $250 and $300 for rebuild through myself. Depends on which comp you have.

 

_________________

<img src="http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c260/demoniquekryes/Bothcars1.jpg" alt="Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting"><br><br>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 6:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

Thanks for that I will just replace the a/c core in the heater box with an EA one and stay standard.
Cheers

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 9:52 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Posts: 322

Joined: 27th Jan 2006

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

you do realise that you will have to get the system re-gassed if you pull that out don't you?

unless i'm talking out my a*** again...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 10:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

Yes I did know that but thanks anyhow. I have to replace the a/c radiator in the front of the radiator as it has been flattened by stones etc, so I will do everything in one go

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 11:15 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5589

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

IIRC the refrigerant changed from freon R12 to R134A during the E series, from memory around the ED time, I'd suspect yours is maybe R12 (if it's the original charge), which isn't available any longer - no big deal, the system will need to be flushed first before filling with the new oil and R134A.
Correct me if I'm wrong . . . .

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2007 2:23 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 557

Joined: 20th Aug 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF

Location: Keilor, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

spot on....

 

_________________

<img src="http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c260/demoniquekryes/Bothcars1.jpg" alt="Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting"><br><br>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2007 9:57 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

snap0964 wrote:
IIRC the refrigerant changed from freon R12 to R134A during the E series, from memory around the ED time, I'd suspect yours is maybe R12 (if it's the original charge), which isn't available any longer - no big deal, the system will need to be flushed first before filling with the new oil and R134A.
Correct me if I'm wrong . . . .
Doesn't all the rubber hoses and seals need to be changed if it ran R12 or is this a myth?

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2007 11:08 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5589

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

I thought that too, but a few years ago when I regassed my HJ ute, all that was requiring changing was the receiver/dryer unit, which will be needed in this case also.

My HJ did have flare fittings and not O rings, so it will be wise to ask.

The EF/EL's need the bumper pulled to get to the dryer unit, not sure if the EA-ED's are easier.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 1:47 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names