Fordmods Logo

EA CFI Base Timing set 


Page 1 of 1 [ 3 posts ] 

 Post subject: EA CFI Base Timing set
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 4:19 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

Age: 60

Posts: 7

Joined: 24th Mar 2006

Location: Warners Bay
NSW, Australia

:?: how do i put the ECU into timing mode so i can change the timing?

Now Guys I have searched and found, but the gentleman failed to tell us which one of the female spades it is.

There is a pink round, it isn't it.
orange with white streak ?
then there is a white with red streak?

Could somebody be so kind as to tell me which one I earth to put ECU into timing mode.

Oh, by the way could the pink round drive my techo in the sports instrument panel.
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 5:45 pm 
Parts Gopher

Age: 30

Posts: 64

Joined: 15th May 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Location: bundaberg
QLD, Australia

Yours is different to the other one i mentioned. You need to find the plug out of the 3 that the two connectors are in the shape of a T, once you have found that get yourself a paper clip and join them to then start the motor. It will then rev up for a few secs.

As for the Tacho if the pink one is a single bullet connector that can be used for your rpm signal
Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2006 7:59 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

Age: 60

Posts: 7

Joined: 24th Mar 2006

Location: Warners Bay
NSW, Australia

:D Thank you nick81xd

Their seem to be quite a few different makes and ways to do it between models ?

This is one version I found at Blue Oval, which deals with 3.9 base timing.
The trapazoidal plug has 2 wires, a black/white trace and a white/black trace
Also present is a pink/blue trace (tacho output), and a white/red trace

Engine off
Ground out the black/white trace wire to set the timing
You get about 1 or 2 minutes to get the timing set then it drops out of the mode, you will hear the engine change when it does.
If you need longer, then turn engine off then back on and try again.
Engine off disconnect wire when done.

Maybe try an ECU reset as well.

The EA silly Gregorys manual says on page 89.
using a jumper lead, earth the self diadgnosis input connector.

on page 87 it says the, "input connector is connected to the red/white wire refering to key on/engine off test using input and output connectors.

But right now i'm no wiser.

Thank anyhow
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 3 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 21 guests

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum



It is currently Fri Oct 21, 2016 11:04 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours



(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names