Fordmods Logo

EA Cruise Control Setup - HELP ME!! 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: EA Cruise Control Setup - HELP ME!!
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 1:03 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 296

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: EA II Fairmont Ghia S

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

GDAY, I Scored a full cruise control system from the wreckers, i have wired it up and the stupid thing wont work.

I have run all the hoses and wires got the little vacumn ball that sits on the passenger side behind the washer bottle. the hoses going from that go to the vacum thing on the firewall and the cruise control unit on the drivers side.

Wire goes down to the transmission and there is another outlet from the cruise unit that goes through a t-peice to the brake switch and -------- somewhere else but i don't have a bloody clue.

Other than that everything else seems fine.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 3:07 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

is it factory or after market?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 11:23 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 296

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: EA II Fairmont Ghia S

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Factory - and it came out of an automatic as well so the brake swith is normal and the clutch switch is jumpered.

The thing i cannot find is where this damn T piece is supposed to ga.

The one thing that is bugging me is that there is only one connection to the car, being the purple wire to the transmission. ( as well as the two for power)

so what is going on.

There are four wires going into the engine bay from the Cruise control Computer, three of them go to the Vacumn / cruise control unit (VCCU)(the one with the cable to the throttle) and the other one goes to the trans.

The vacumn lines are going from the VCCU to the foot switch and to the little VACUM BALL..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: cruise control
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 1:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

The T peice goes inline from cruise control unit drivers side to passenger side control unit. The vac tube from the T is to a brake/vac switch which mounts on a bracket on the brake pedal box.
The idea is that this switch electrically breaks the cruise circuit when u brake and as a fail safe it releases the vucuum as well. If this switch is not wired correctly or adjusted incorrectly yr c/control will not work.
I have attached the wiring diagramand u can see the dotted line which is the vac hose. ignore the clutch switch unless u have a manual. If ur manual u must have the extra switch or it will rev its head of when u push the clutch in.
As u will see it needs a few wires to pick up tacho feed speedo feed etc. If all ur wiring is correct chech the vac line for leaks. I had a very small crack in the vac hose just were it connects to the break switch. Took me days to find out why the cruise control did not work.
Hope this helps.
Cheers

 

 

Attachments:
cruisecontrol.jpg
cruisecontrol.jpg [ 136.33 KiB | Viewed 41 times ]

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 2:11 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 296

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: EA II Fairmont Ghia S

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

THANKS I WILL HAVE A LOOK TONIGHT.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: balizticbobo, Google [Bot] and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 9:53 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names