Fordmods Logo

EA Falcon Misfire Cannot be diagnosed 

 

Page 2 of 5 [ 62 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

 
 Post subject: Re: EA Falcon Misfire Cannot be diagnosed
Posted: Mon Dec 30, 2013 1:54 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

GrannyFalcon82 wrote:
One more image, just from a different side of the gear.

If you don't have the experience you'd think by looking at the distributor gear, that the idler shaft gear would be fine! That is until you bite the bullet and take it out.


Which is why I have been saying for years, when you change your dizzy (or Cam Sensor-EF) switch the original gear over to match the Aux Gear. Only takes 5 mins and prevents the above problem.

I have 2 Aux shafts here with matching gears. Why, because you can't get new shafts and these were perfect when pulled out of the engines they were in.

They say the same thing for your diff gears as well.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA Falcon Misfire Cannot be diagnosed
Posted: Mon Dec 30, 2013 2:03 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 21

Posts: 233

Joined: 2nd Sep 2013

Ride: 1988 5spd DOHC EA Falcon S

Location: ACT
NSW, Australia

SWC wrote:
GrannyFalcon82 wrote:
One more image, just from a different side of the gear.

If you don't have the experience you'd think by looking at the distributor gear, that the idler shaft gear would be fine! That is until you bite the bullet and take it out.


Which is why I have been saying for years, when you change your dizzy (or Cam Sensor-EF) switch the original gear over to match the Aux Gear. Only takes 5 mins and prevents the above problem.

I have 2 Aux shafts here with matching gears. Why, because you can't get new shafts and these were perfect when pulled out of the engines they were in.

They say the same thing for your diff gears as well.


Well at least I've learned, the hard way maybe but i can educate others on such topic.

I have a mate who's wrecking an ED falcon, i'm gonna pick up his engine for 70 bucks and use its idler shaft and distributor, might throw its aircon onto my engine too.

 

_________________

Rolling around with a Barra 182 - equipped 1988 EA falcon

http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/ ... 27639.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA Falcon Misfire Cannot be diagnosed
Posted: Mon Dec 30, 2013 2:42 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

You will have metal particles through your engine now. How long has it been like this, ie Km?

If you aren't going to replace the engine then ensure that you flush every thing with kero, fill with a mineral oil, new filter and when you restart it, run it for 30 mins and drop the oil and replace the filter.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA Falcon Misfire Cannot be diagnosed
Posted: Mon Dec 30, 2013 3:34 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 21

Posts: 233

Joined: 2nd Sep 2013

Ride: 1988 5spd DOHC EA Falcon S

Location: ACT
NSW, Australia

SWC wrote:
You will have metal particles through your engine now. How long has it been like this, ie Km?

If you aren't going to replace the engine then ensure that you flush every thing with kero, fill with a mineral oil, new filter and when you restart it, run it for 30 mins and drop the oil and replace the filter.



About 50km now.

 

_________________

Rolling around with a Barra 182 - equipped 1988 EA falcon

http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/ ... 27639.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA Falcon Misfire Cannot be diagnosed
Posted: Mon Dec 30, 2013 3:56 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

Hope your lucky.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA Falcon Misfire Cannot be diagnosed
Posted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 11:55 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 789

Joined: 9th Dec 2011

Ride: S1 eb 5speed

Location: Coffs Harbour
NSW, Australia

Y'all know that when you pull the dizzy out you can turn the motor over by hand and inspect the aux shaft Through the hole...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA Falcon Misfire Cannot be diagnosed
Posted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 1:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 1044

Joined: 4th Aug 2010

Ride: NA Fairlane, DC LTD

Location: Alice Springs
NT, Australia

If this happens to my rebuilt engine I WILL cry.......

This is the worst fault of these engines..

 

_________________

[color=#004080]Cheers, Jacob.

NA Fairlane Build thread:
the-garage-f53/my-fairlane-build-lowlane-t94891.html.
Also in the garage....
AU LTD, DC LTD, and Lowlane.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA Falcon Misfire Cannot be diagnosed
Posted: Fri Jan 17, 2014 10:27 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 21

Posts: 233

Joined: 2nd Sep 2013

Ride: 1988 5spd DOHC EA Falcon S

Location: ACT
NSW, Australia

Finally got my gasket set, I was wondering if there's a trick to getting the front timing cover crankshaft seal out, the darn thing will not budge, the rubber just separates if i try anything.

 

_________________

Rolling around with a Barra 182 - equipped 1988 EA falcon

http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/ ... 27639.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA Falcon Misfire Cannot be diagnosed
Posted: Fri Jan 17, 2014 3:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 1044

Joined: 4th Aug 2010

Ride: NA Fairlane, DC LTD

Location: Alice Springs
NT, Australia

It the cover still on the engine or have you removed it?

You need to get a tool that will hook right in behing the steel band in the seal and pry it out.

I used a flat blade screwdriver. There is also a $10-$20 tool at auto stores for the job too.

 

_________________

[color=#004080]Cheers, Jacob.

NA Fairlane Build thread:
the-garage-f53/my-fairlane-build-lowlane-t94891.html.
Also in the garage....
AU LTD, DC LTD, and Lowlane.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA Falcon Misfire Cannot be diagnosed
Posted: Fri Jan 17, 2014 4:17 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 21

Posts: 233

Joined: 2nd Sep 2013

Ride: 1988 5spd DOHC EA Falcon S

Location: ACT
NSW, Australia

Lowlane7 wrote:
It the cover still on the engine or have you removed it?

You need to get a tool that will hook right in behing the steel band in the seal and pry it out.

I used a flat blade screwdriver. There is also a $10-$20 tool at auto stores for the job too.


Well i cracked open a VB, turned the cover upside down and gave it a few good wacks through the back via long flathead screwdriver :P . Popped right out, now, onto scraping off the old gasket that is stuck to the engine block, is there an easy solution to getting rid of old brittle gaskets? Might just crack another VB and grab a razor blade :mrgreen: .

 

_________________

Rolling around with a Barra 182 - equipped 1988 EA falcon

http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/ ... 27639.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA Falcon Misfire Cannot be diagnosed
Posted: Fri Jan 17, 2014 4:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 1044

Joined: 4th Aug 2010

Ride: NA Fairlane, DC LTD

Location: Alice Springs
NT, Australia

Yeah alcohol is a good inspirer... Jus watch the inaccuracies that come with too much though..

Having memories of scraping gaskets p****d and slicing my finger open....

Pretty much razor blades and paint scrapers do the home job.

 

_________________

[color=#004080]Cheers, Jacob.

NA Fairlane Build thread:
the-garage-f53/my-fairlane-build-lowlane-t94891.html.
Also in the garage....
AU LTD, DC LTD, and Lowlane.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA Falcon Misfire Cannot be diagnosed
Posted: Sun Jan 19, 2014 5:24 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 21

Posts: 233

Joined: 2nd Sep 2013

Ride: 1988 5spd DOHC EA Falcon S

Location: ACT
NSW, Australia

So an update on the falcon.

I installed the new shaft, bought new gaskets and what not, did everything absolutely fine, i changed over the harmonic balancer because the standard one was shot, the new balancer had a ribbed alternator belt, so i had to change over my existing alternator pulley and the old clutch fan pulley.

Once everything was on it fired up.

It has no f**k balls, it didn't make much of a difference HOWEVER, the distinct missing it had is now gone, but it's gutless on the road, hesitates and all around just has nothing to properly move the car around. It's chewing fuel as well. The idle fluctuates like the computer is trying to make adjustments...

I Got no idea, was hoping for a better result. Back to the fridge fellas.

 

_________________

Rolling around with a Barra 182 - equipped 1988 EA falcon

http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/ ... 27639.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA Falcon Misfire Cannot be diagnosed
Posted: Sun Jan 19, 2014 5:43 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

ignition timing sounds retarded..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA Falcon Misfire Cannot be diagnosed
Posted: Sun Jan 19, 2014 6:07 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 21

Posts: 233

Joined: 2nd Sep 2013

Ride: 1988 5spd DOHC EA Falcon S

Location: ACT
NSW, Australia

TROYMAN wrote:
ignition timing sounds retarded..



Does the same thing when advancing the ignition timing. Even more concerning is that the engine is retarding the timing when you accelerate, got the timing light out and the mark is moving forwards when applying throttle. That's not right.

 

_________________

Rolling around with a Barra 182 - equipped 1988 EA falcon

http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/ ... 27639.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA Falcon Misfire Cannot be diagnosed
Posted: Sun Jan 19, 2014 8:19 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

are you sure the cam timing is right??

which way is the ignition timing mark going when you rev it?
is it going clockwise towards the tdc mark or away from tdc mark?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 5  [ 62 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 12:06 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names