Fordmods Logo

EA falcon misfire 

 

Page 3 of 4 [ 51 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

 
 Post subject: Re: EA falcon misfire
Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2014 1:19 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

ECU won't affect individual spark, If it isn't your cap, check your leads.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA falcon misfire
Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2014 1:28 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 21

Posts: 233

Joined: 2nd Sep 2013

Ride: 1988 5spd DOHC EA Falcon S

Location: ACT
NSW, Australia

Cap didn't do anything, the same thing happens with different leads, it is running rich as hell.
It runs fine for a few seconds after a cold startup and then starts shaking / misfiring. If only i could avoid all the BS and see live data from the ECU via laptop.

 

_________________

Rolling around with a Barra 182 - equipped 1988 EA falcon

http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/ ... 27639.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA falcon misfire
Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2014 2:57 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 21

Posts: 233

Joined: 2nd Sep 2013

Ride: 1988 5spd DOHC EA Falcon S

Location: ACT
NSW, Australia

Well i did a compression test and results are :

1 - 140
2 - 135
3 - 130
4 - 130
5 - 130
6 - 130

 

_________________

Rolling around with a Barra 182 - equipped 1988 EA falcon

http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/ ... 27639.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA falcon misfire
Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2014 3:14 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 21

Posts: 233

Joined: 2nd Sep 2013

Ride: 1988 5spd DOHC EA Falcon S

Location: ACT
NSW, Australia

Also that test wasn't done WOT

 

_________________

Rolling around with a Barra 182 - equipped 1988 EA falcon

http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/ ... 27639.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA falcon misfire
Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2014 4:59 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 21

Posts: 233

Joined: 2nd Sep 2013

Ride: 1988 5spd DOHC EA Falcon S

Location: ACT
NSW, Australia

Did a code extraction using LED test light

I have code 54 and code 67

i have the air temp sensor disconnected so that explains 54

i'm guessing 67 means the vehicle is in neutral? ( AC isn't on and why would a manual have that kind of switch? )

I'm going to try and perform a key on engine on test, the last time i attempted this i got nothing.

 

_________________

Rolling around with a Barra 182 - equipped 1988 EA falcon

http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/ ... 27639.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA falcon misfire
Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2014 5:01 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 21

Posts: 233

Joined: 2nd Sep 2013

Ride: 1988 5spd DOHC EA Falcon S

Location: ACT
NSW, Australia

And as i guessed, there had been no flashing on the key on engine on test. After 8 minutes of the car trying to slowly suffocate me i decided to clear the codes and turn off the engine. It has this weird idle now, revving up and down like it's lost. I'll post a video of the idle in a minute.

 

_________________

Rolling around with a Barra 182 - equipped 1988 EA falcon

http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/ ... 27639.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA falcon misfire
Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2014 5:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 21

Posts: 462

Joined: 24th Jun 2013

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Ford Fairlane na2

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

When in diag mode with engine on the idle will change it should stop after the test is done.

 

_________________

NA2 fairlane - 3.9 with au headgasket & injectors, ef fans, 2.5" zorst, lowered on selby springs , kenwood head unit and 6 speakers, fusion sub, el ecu & ti chip

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA falcon misfire
Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2014 5:11 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

GrannyFalcon82 wrote:
Did a code extraction using LED test light

I have code 54 and code 67

i have the air temp sensor disconnected so that explains 54

i'm guessing 67 means the vehicle is in neutral? ( AC isn't on and why would a manual have that kind of switch? )

I'm going to try and perform a key on engine on test, the last time i attempted this i got nothing.


You need the intake temp sensor connected otherwise idle and fuel will be all over the place.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA falcon misfire
Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2014 5:12 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 21

Posts: 233

Joined: 2nd Sep 2013

Ride: 1988 5spd DOHC EA Falcon S

Location: ACT
NSW, Australia

Should it go on for over 8 minutes? I was pretty much finding it hard to breath at that point, such rich mixture.

 

_________________

Rolling around with a Barra 182 - equipped 1988 EA falcon

http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/ ... 27639.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA falcon misfire
Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2014 5:13 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 21

Posts: 233

Joined: 2nd Sep 2013

Ride: 1988 5spd DOHC EA Falcon S

Location: ACT
NSW, Australia

SWC wrote:
GrannyFalcon82 wrote:
Did a code extraction using LED test light

I have code 54 and code 67

i have the air temp sensor disconnected so that explains 54

i'm guessing 67 means the vehicle is in neutral? ( AC isn't on and why would a manual have that kind of switch? )

I'm going to try and perform a key on engine on test, the last time i attempted this i got nothing.


You need the intake temp sensor connected otherwise idle and fuel will be all over the place.



Ah i didn't think that sensor did much ( it didn't change anything beforehand ) I'll give it a shot with it connected.

 

_________________

Rolling around with a Barra 182 - equipped 1988 EA falcon

http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/ ... 27639.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA falcon misfire
Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2014 5:15 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 21

Posts: 233

Joined: 2nd Sep 2013

Ride: 1988 5spd DOHC EA Falcon S

Location: ACT
NSW, Australia

Here's the video for those interested http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5CNc92z7 ... e=youtu.be

 

_________________

Rolling around with a Barra 182 - equipped 1988 EA falcon

http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/ ... 27639.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA falcon misfire
Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2014 5:31 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

Hunt and high revs at idle, try the air temp sensor. Ford does't put things there just for the fun of it.

Do you have a oil pressure sender hooked up because that oil pressure is off its head.

Also you need fuel :D .
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA falcon misfire
Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2014 6:17 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 21

Posts: 233

Joined: 2nd Sep 2013

Ride: 1988 5spd DOHC EA Falcon S

Location: ACT
NSW, Australia

So it turns out i left the map sensor disconnected :oops:

I tried again with the air temp sensor hooked up, still no go.

It doesn't get into the diagnostic mode at all, just sits there and stumbles over itself at idle like it normally does. I'll have a video showing what it does with everything hooked up.

 

_________________

Rolling around with a Barra 182 - equipped 1988 EA falcon

http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/ ... 27639.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA falcon misfire
Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2014 6:42 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 21

Posts: 233

Joined: 2nd Sep 2013

Ride: 1988 5spd DOHC EA Falcon S

Location: ACT
NSW, Australia

Here's another video of the misfiring idle, sounds terrible and shakes the car.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bSMPRRwN ... e=youtu.be

 

_________________

Rolling around with a Barra 182 - equipped 1988 EA falcon

http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/ ... 27639.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA falcon misfire
Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2014 7:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

Check the MAP Sensor hose at the Intake connection......they have a habit of splitting down there.....which will give a wrong reading of vacuum from the MAP Sensor.
Have you back probed the O2 sensor to see if it switches ???

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 3 of 4  [ 51 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 7:34 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names