Fordmods Logo

EB/D/A and XE/F Distributors... 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 20 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: EB/D/A and XE/F Distributors...
Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 4:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

What are the differences between these series?
As far as I know :
XE = Just has an ignitor on it, and is non-ecu dizzy
XF = TFI
EA/B/D same as XF?

.. is the XE/F dizzy hole / mounts/ everything else the same as the EA/B/D?

.. Im toying with the idea of completely removing the ECU on my MPI EB. Will get rid of *heaps* of wires and would mean I can graph the Dizzy the way I want. Hmmmm

Ideas/Comments?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 7:50 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Ive compared the XF dizzy with the E series... they definately look the same. Could be wrong, but looks like they are interchangeable. Just remember as far as I know, early XF's had vaccum dizzy's, and later version had electronic controlled by the ECU.

As for your idea, not quite following... remove the ECU would mean rigging up another controller to control the fuel pump relay, all the dash stuff, if you have an auto, the control for that, and obviously your ignition control (unless you put vaccum dizzy on). And I presume you're running LPG.. so I guess quite a few of those have been taken care of.

Good luck, let us know how you go.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 7:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2449

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EB-s

Location: Manjimup
WA, Australia

Id like to see someone get an e series motor, stick in a vacuum advancing dizzy, and then bolt triple webbers to the side of it. Anyone game?

 

_________________

The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 7:55 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

lol, if you wanna donate your car, Ill do it lol.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 7:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2449

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EB-s

Location: Manjimup
WA, Australia

Lol, this calls for a bush bomb EA. I say we use chefs old car :D

 

_________________

The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 7:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 409

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: Look at that RICE!!
SA, Australia

Andrew J wrote:
Id like to see someone get an e series motor, stick in a vacuum advancing dizzy, and then bolt triple webbers to the side of it. Anyone game?


Could be a way to get my car to idle.

 

_________________

Soo many idiots. So few bullets

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 8:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Impco 200 Series LPG Setup, All the injectors out, Plugs in the holes, Wiring removed, Dizzy with LPG Curve, Leave the TPS on the Throttle body and use an EB/D V8 Auto Trans Control Unit (would the EA one work corectly : I thought the Speedo signal was a little different).

... OR...

... make your own trans control unit, with Full Manual Code, Trans Braking, Dial-Variable Shift harshness, and the ability to leap tall buildings etc etc.. oh hang on im ahead of myself again.

I bet anyone who used to work at BTR, or whatever they are now could get a really nice control unit that would have been used in testing...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 8:43 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

The EA auto controls were a seperate unit, Im sure it would work just aswell as the V8 ones. Not sure on the whole different signal part.

All that stuff sounds great (especially the last part lol), but you still need the ECU to control the trip computer (if applicable)? and Im sure there was something esle it controlled.

But the best thing to do would be to just do it lol. If things go wrong, you can always revert. Just take out the wiring after you made sure it all works.

Cheers

PS - are you running that EA manual ecu I sold you? or am I thinking of someone else? lol

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 8:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

That was me with the EA Manual ECU. I havent gotten to manual yet, and Im not going to at this time. Its been in my shed for a while.

Id loose my trip computer - or at least a part of its functionalty. The interesting thing on my EB at least is that the Trip computer *seems* to work mostly off the fuel gauge. OK so Im probably wrong also, but Id like to bet that I could get a little PIC to take the TPS and RPM and provide a dummy MPG Reading.

Not that I use that anyway.

The DTE will Break, but the average speed wont.
\Nigel
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 8:51 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

If you use a PIC, you'll have to accept an anlogue value from the TPS(obviously), with a digital from the RPM. You will also need to know the injectors PWM as to know how much fuel they are injecting...? Im pretty sure thats how the stock ones work. Im sure it wouldn't be that hard, as PWM is the same as RPM to calculate, just a slightly higher frequency lol.

Interesting thought though!
As Im sticking a megasquirt in soon, Ive been considering exactly the same thing.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 9:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

If your thinking Megasquirt, then life is easy. The Unit calculates fuel usage based on the pulse width of the injector signal. Cruisy - your already set up for it with Megasquirt as long as your pre EF.

If your post EF, then put an EB/D unit in ;)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 9:03 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Nah Ive got pre smartlock EBII.. so everything is sweet :)

Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 9:45 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 227

Joined: 11th Dec 2004

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

All the dissys will drop it but the you will have to change or modify the hold down clamp. I am using an XE dissy in my NC. I wanted to use a mag pulse for the aftermarket ecu.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 10:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

You can get that pulse out of the TFI module. I believe you can also trigger the TFI using an ignition controller.

Hmmm
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 10:05 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

So explain to me the whole advantage of the vaccum dizzy of the electronic one? can't you use the electronic one with your aftermarket ECU?

Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 11:44 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names