EBII lumpy & missing @ operating temp 

Page 1 of 2 [ 25 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

Post subject: EBII lumpy & missing @ operating temp
Posted: Fri May 16, 2008 11:18 am 
Fordmods Newbie

VIC, Australia

hey guys, im new to Fordmods

ive got a EBII

it had over heating problems (like most cars its age) so i replaced the leaking hoses/hose clamps, this caused the radiator side tank to split dumping all my cooland causing the engine to "seize" due to heat (temp gauge was 1/2 due to no water getting to the temp sender)

so i replaced the radiator and gave it a drive, within 5 mins it over heated again,

i felt the upper radiator hose and it was cold, as if the coolant was not making it through the radiator, but it was pressurised on both sides, so i concluded that the thermostat must be blocked, sure enough it was, pulled it out and drove it home with no thermostat, no heat issues, replaced the thermostat and it hasnt got past 1/2 temp since however since the engine "seized" (ive been told they do this when they get hot) when ever it reaches open loop mode (operating temp) it will miss consistantly as if every ignition, ive compression tested the motor and all cyclinders are equal pressure, no oil in coolant no coolant in oil, it is perfect untill it reaches operating temp. ive listened to the motor through a large screw driver and it all sounds normal, injectors are ticking normal and equal so ive concluded it must be the electronical system,

considering it has a dissy + ignition coil i was wondering if you have to put the ecu into self diag mode (i have to do this on my holden v8 to set the correct static timing)

im thinking its possible it could be the ignition coil

now it did this when it got hotter before the radiator broke but not till 3/4 temp

has anyone got any idea's? i dont have much experiance with fords or the inline6 as i havnt had the car for long

Posted: Fri May 16, 2008 10:31 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

VIC, Australia

any idea's?