Fordmods Logo

EF Climate Control 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 28 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: EF Climate Control
Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 7:39 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 14

Joined: 7th Dec 2010

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Sunshine Coast
QLD, Australia

Hi,

I recently bought an EF Fairmont and the Climate Control has been playing up.
The problem is when I turn the car on the Climate Control wont work, then I will be driving along and it will randomly decide to turn on (It works perfectly when it does)
Sometimes I will be driving around for 2 hours before it will turn on and other times it will turn on after 10 minutes.

Anyone know what the go is? or how to fix it?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Climate Control
Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 7:11 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 638

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: 1994 Ford EF Fairmont Ghia Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

So when you it doesn't work, what do you mean?

Does it not turn on? Does it turn on but no fan? does it turn on but no control?

and welcome to fordmods :mrgreen:

 

_________________

1994 ford fairmont ghia - Currently 302 with T5 - Work in progress :P

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Climate Control
Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 3:48 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 14

Joined: 7th Dec 2010

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Sunshine Coast
QLD, Australia

comhelp wrote:
So when you it doesn't work, what do you mean?

Does it not turn on? Does it turn on but no fan? does it turn on but no control?

and welcome to fordmods :mrgreen:


When it Doesn't work the controls don't work and the screen doesn't light up, I will press the buttons but nothing will happen.

Thanks :P
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Climate Control
Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 4:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 638

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: 1994 Ford EF Fairmont Ghia Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Sounds to me that either a wire is broken/loose or the fuse is loose ;)

Failing all that, then maybe the module is buggered and you need a new one :(

 

_________________

1994 ford fairmont ghia - Currently 302 with T5 - Work in progress :P

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Climate Control
Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 4:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 1322

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Gallery: 40 images

Ride: EF GLi/Ghia bitsa

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I had similar issues when I had an EF module plugged into my EL, u sure u dont have an EL module? otherwise I would say faulty module.

Gab
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Climate Control
Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 4:38 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 14

Joined: 7th Dec 2010

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Sunshine Coast
QLD, Australia

Well i have checked and changed the Fuse so it's not that.

I haven't put an EL module in it but the guy who owned it before me may have.

damn, sounds like i'm going to have to get a new module :shock:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Climate Control
Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 4:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 638

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: 1994 Ford EF Fairmont Ghia Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Pull out the module and tell us the part number on the back of it ;)

 

_________________

1994 ford fairmont ghia - Currently 302 with T5 - Work in progress :P

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Climate Control
Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 5:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 4599

Joined: 30th Aug 2010

Ride: BF XR6,

Location: NEWCASTLE
NSW, Australia

mines the same, it will turn on mostly after say 10 seconds, or some days after 5 minutes, if you push a button while its not working wen it turns on it does whateever the buttons were that you pushed? other than that it works like a normal one

 

_________________

BF XR6
xr8 snorkel,typhoon lower snorkel,territory intake pipe,20% underdrive kit,pacemaker extractors,high flow cat,xforce exhaust,t56 conversion hd turbo clutch/ flywheel,m86 3.45 lsd,custom tune187.1rwkw as an auto

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Climate Control
Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 5:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 638

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: 1994 Ford EF Fairmont Ghia Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Um ok does your radio and acc work when the CC module not working?

I am thinking of a similar prob with my car and the back of the ign switch falling off :lol:

 

_________________

1994 ford fairmont ghia - Currently 302 with T5 - Work in progress :P

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Climate Control
Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 6:18 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 14

Joined: 7th Dec 2010

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Sunshine Coast
QLD, Australia

bry40l wrote:
mines the same, it will turn on mostly after say 10 seconds, or some days after 5 minutes, if you push a button while its not working wen it turns on it does whateever the buttons were that you pushed? other than that it works like a normal one


Same problem I have except mine wont turn on after 10 seconds it usually takes 10 - 30 minutes.

comhelp wrote:
Um ok does your radio and acc work when the CC module not working?

I am thinking of a similar prob with my car and the back of the ign switch falling off :lol:


Yep radio and acc work when the climate control doesn't.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Climate Control
Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 7:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 4599

Joined: 30th Aug 2010

Ride: BF XR6,

Location: NEWCASTLE
NSW, Australia

my cars gone hours without it and at the end of a trip with the front windscreen foggin up it goes full ball as i drive into the driveway lol,

 

_________________

BF XR6
xr8 snorkel,typhoon lower snorkel,territory intake pipe,20% underdrive kit,pacemaker extractors,high flow cat,xforce exhaust,t56 conversion hd turbo clutch/ flywheel,m86 3.45 lsd,custom tune187.1rwkw as an auto

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Climate Control
Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 7:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 638

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: 1994 Ford EF Fairmont Ghia Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

When it doesn't work, have tried to gently thump the top of dash? If it works after that, then you have loose connections :wink:

 

_________________

1994 ford fairmont ghia - Currently 302 with T5 - Work in progress :P

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Climate Control
Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 7:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 4599

Joined: 30th Aug 2010

Ride: BF XR6,

Location: NEWCASTLE
NSW, Australia

hasent helped my climate, although solved the problem to some of the lights not workin in the speedo at night lol

 

_________________

BF XR6
xr8 snorkel,typhoon lower snorkel,territory intake pipe,20% underdrive kit,pacemaker extractors,high flow cat,xforce exhaust,t56 conversion hd turbo clutch/ flywheel,m86 3.45 lsd,custom tune187.1rwkw as an auto

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Climate Control
Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 8:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 638

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: 1994 Ford EF Fairmont Ghia Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

:lol: yeah sounds like u need to replace some bulbs :wink:

 

_________________

1994 ford fairmont ghia - Currently 302 with T5 - Work in progress :P

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Climate Control
Posted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 5:41 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 14

Joined: 7th Dec 2010

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Sunshine Coast
QLD, Australia

comhelp wrote:
Pull out the module and tell us the part number on the back of it ;)


Okay pulled out the module and there was 3 rows of numbers not sure which is the part number but here they are:
9 330 065 111
94DA 14K144 BA
57101 Green.

Also before i pulled it out, I gave the left side of the dash a nice hard whack, I then tried to start the car and all i got was a rapid ticking noise coming from under the dash. I Can't hear it trying to turn over or anything and my battery is almost dead now from trying to start it.
I then tried to lock the car and it locked then unlocked then the alarm went off, that repeated 3 times and on the 4th go it locked.

My question is do you think all this could be the faulty module?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], rocklord and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 2:25 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names