Fordmods Logo

ef cutting out 

 

Page 1 of 3 [ 32 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: ef cutting out
Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 9:46 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 266

Joined: 8th Aug 2007

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: xd 351, AUII XR6.... R.I.P ef fa

Location: Prestons
NSW, Australia

Hey boys me ef is cutting out ramdomly and its has a clunk through the drive line when this happens. I changed the coil pack on advice this was the problem, but it didnt fix it. It has new leads and plugs aswell.
I degreased the engine a few weeks ago, since then this problem, any ideas?

 

_________________

<a href="http://s154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/?action=view¤t=resize2.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/resize2.jpg" border="0" alt="resize"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 9:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 4146

Joined: 7th Dec 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: E39 523i / EF Fairmont

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

My does a bit of this too, usually when I'm slowing down. Sometimes the revs will just drop when I'm coming to a halt at the lights.

Hasn't completely clonked at yet, but it feels like it will when those revs drop. Also has a bit of clunk action this happens, as the engine kicks back in.

Silly bloody thing, I'll be watching this thread.

 

_________________

E39 523i
EF Fairmont

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 10:27 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 266

Joined: 8th Aug 2007

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: xd 351, AUII XR6.... R.I.P ef fa

Location: Prestons
NSW, Australia

Mine does it with the cruise on, and there is a small amount of labour up a hill.
I thought it was the eco button, or the A/C, but no matter what it still does it.
After being garanteed it was the coil, im now starting to think fuel pump

 

_________________

<a href="http://s154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/?action=view¤t=resize2.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/resize2.jpg" border="0" alt="resize"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 22, 2007 5:14 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 266

Joined: 8th Aug 2007

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: xd 351, AUII XR6.... R.I.P ef fa

Location: Prestons
NSW, Australia

Any ideas?

 

_________________

<a href="http://s154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/?action=view¤t=resize2.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/resize2.jpg" border="0" alt="resize"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 22, 2007 7:44 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 266

Joined: 8th Aug 2007

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: xd 351, AUII XR6.... R.I.P ef fa

Location: Prestons
NSW, Australia

Come on boys need help

 

_________________

<a href="http://s154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/?action=view¤t=resize2.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/resize2.jpg" border="0" alt="resize"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 22, 2007 7:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 556

Joined: 10th Dec 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EAII Falcon S

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

blocked fuel filter?

it might sound strange but even a blocked air filter could do the same thing.
only other thing i can think of offhand is to check the TFI module on the distributor.

 

_________________

Speed Safely! ;-)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 22, 2007 8:23 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 266

Joined: 8th Aug 2007

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: xd 351, AUII XR6.... R.I.P ef fa

Location: Prestons
NSW, Australia

No dizzy, coil pack, i changed efi filter last service about 1,000 k's ago, but air filter may need doing, its a redline airforce one, done about 10,000 k's. i got a service kit, ill try it!!

 

_________________

<a href="http://s154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/?action=view¤t=resize2.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/resize2.jpg" border="0" alt="resize"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 15, 2007 11:23 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 266

Joined: 8th Aug 2007

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: xd 351, AUII XR6.... R.I.P ef fa

Location: Prestons
NSW, Australia

Its still doing it and getting worse, nealy stalling at traffic lights.
I put new leads on, but do certain leads need seperating?
Myabe fuel pump? is the pump hard to do, i heard its in the fuel tank.?

 

_________________

<a href="http://s154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/?action=view¤t=resize2.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/resize2.jpg" border="0" alt="resize"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 15, 2007 11:32 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 251

Joined: 22nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EF XR6 manual

Location: S.E. Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Fuel pump isn't hard to do in a sedan, you get to it from inside the boot. Getting the hoses off is probably the hardest part,(and puting them back on the right way around :oops: )just lable or mark them first and you should have no problems. :wink:

 

_________________

EF XR6 5spd 14.57@97mph
154rwkwts

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 15, 2007 11:37 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 266

Joined: 8th Aug 2007

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: xd 351, AUII XR6.... R.I.P ef fa

Location: Prestons
NSW, Australia

grub73 wrote:
Fuel pump isn't hard to do in a sedan, you get to it from inside the boot. Getting the hoses off is probably the hardest part,(and puting them back on the right way around :oops: )just lable or mark them first and you should have no problems. :wink:


Thankyou sir!!! that was my concern, ... so throught the boot on the left side??

 

_________________

<a href="http://s154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/?action=view¤t=resize2.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/resize2.jpg" border="0" alt="resize"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 8:56 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 61

Posts: 156

Joined: 2nd Nov 2005

Ride: EA Fairmont

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Hi There
Also, maybe check and clean the Crank Angle Sensor.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 12:11 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 210

Joined: 14th May 2005

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Could be a jammed IAC, The IAC closes when your driving and when you pull up at the lights because the throttle pates closed the IAC opens. I would get a multimeter on the TPS first to make sure thats feeding correct data to the ECU. Also if you can do a fuel pressure test.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 2:34 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 266

Joined: 8th Aug 2007

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: xd 351, AUII XR6.... R.I.P ef fa

Location: Prestons
NSW, Australia

garsiph wrote:
Could be a jammed IAC, The IAC closes when your driving and when you pull up at the lights because the throttle pates closed the IAC opens. I would get a multimeter on the TPS first to make sure thats feeding correct data to the ECU. Also if you can do a fuel pressure test.

Ok whats a IAC whats TPS?
Sounds like a good idea to test, but i dont know what any of that is

 

_________________

<a href="http://s154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/?action=view¤t=resize2.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/resize2.jpg" border="0" alt="resize"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 3:03 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 210

Joined: 14th May 2005

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

IAC is the Idle Air Controller. Ontop of the Throttle Body with a plug in the end.
TPS is the Throttle Position Sensor, Its exactly the other side of where the accelerator cable / cruse controll cables connect. Also has a plug on it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 9:31 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 181

Joined: 7th Sep 2006

Ride: EF Mont

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

I'm having similar issues with my EF mont, but mine's so bad that as soon as you take ur foot off the gas pedal, it'll stall. Rev's just drop right off, as if there's no idle control at all. Myself, and a few mechanic friends have had a bit of a look at it, but we cant figure it out yet. I've replaced the IAC and PCV valve, but no joy. I'm thinking now maybe wiring issue with IAC / TPS or the crank angle sensor.

I dont spose any of you blokes could tell me the correct test data for putting a multimeter across the IAC and TPS? Also the crank angle sensore? I did do a search and had a good look thru the tech doco section, but could find what I was looking for.

 

_________________

Sanity is for the Weak!!

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 3  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 38 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 3:03 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names