Fordmods Logo

Ef stage 3 cam 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Ef stage 3 cam
Posted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 1:38 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 12

Joined: 17th Nov 2014

Ride: Ef fairmont ghia

Location: Mildura
VIC, Australia

Hey lads!
I'm new to this site, just wondering if anyone can give me some tips an maybe a shopping list when installing a stage 3 crow cam? I've purchased the cam by itself as I've already got a j3 chip installed, I own a manual ef fairmont ghia...
Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Ef stage 3 cam
Posted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 1:52 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 70

Joined: 6th Sep 2005

Ride: AU II Fairlane

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

get headers and exhaust if you want to get the most out of the cam also while you've got the rocker cover off get some heavy duty valve spring in there check out the show us your intake thread on here to get some ideas on a better intake set up for it.

hope this helps

 

_________________

AU II Fairlane Ghia 180 hp@ the wheels, Pacemaker 4499, RedBack 2.5", stock CAT, CAI, Lovells low's. More to come

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Ef stage 3 cam
Posted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 2:03 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 12

Joined: 17th Nov 2014

Ride: Ef fairmont ghia

Location: Mildura
VIC, Australia

Thanks mate, yeah I've got pacemaker headers, full 3" lukey system on it now, I've red somehwere they need to be re shimmed aswell? That right?
Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Ef stage 3 cam
Posted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 2:15 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 39

Posts: 18

Joined: 21st Aug 2011

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: Falcon EL

Location: Central Coast
NSW, Australia

This Cam should not need any Shims, is it a Crow 549 cam?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Ef stage 3 cam
Posted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 2:16 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

Is the cam a regrind or a billet?

If it is billet you will only need one shim.

If it is a regrind then you will need 2 shims.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Ef stage 3 cam
Posted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 4:43 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 12

Joined: 17th Nov 2014

Ride: Ef fairmont ghia

Location: Mildura
VIC, Australia

Thanks guys, yeah it's a new stage 3 cam from crow cam, pretty sure it's 2222549 grind with 112 lobe separation? Not looking to get maximum power or any stupid results just looking for a very lumpy idle :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Ef stage 3 cam
Posted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 9:16 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 39

Posts: 18

Joined: 21st Aug 2011

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: Falcon EL

Location: Central Coast
NSW, Australia

Hi I am running this cam in my EL, I used Heavy duty springs, stainless valves and got a vernier cam gear, collets retainers ect. Good Idea with this cam, does make some decent power gains.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Ef stage 3 cam
Posted: Wed Nov 26, 2014 1:07 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 230

Joined: 13th Feb 2014

Ride: EA Falcon

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

If you want a lumpy idle and dont care about power, just pull of one of your leads and leave it at that.. free!
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 32 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:43 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names