Fordmods Logo

EF XR6 MOTOR IN A ED. DONE AND DONE! ----> pics! 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 23 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: EF XR6 MOTOR IN A ED. DONE AND DONE! ----> pics!
Posted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 1434

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 15 images

Ride: ALTED XR6 - ALTED EA - EF TAXI

Location: Sunshine Coast QLD
QLD, Australia

Pretty easy, now using the BBM did not really want to, but the ed intake does not bolt up to the EF motor cos the a/c compressor is in the way ..

removed the coil pack and CAS, had to make a few pipes etc, got it running though ... now just have to play with BBM! ..

goes nice, but not as hard as my ED motor went ..

here are a few pics.

Image

Image

Image

there was a bit more stuffing around but i'll write that when im not so buggered ..

was not a bad effort, 1 and a half days, myself and girlfriend doing it.

Need to know more about the BBM though ... now ..

when the runners are short, is that for low RPM? or high RPM? ..

Using an EL ECU ... problem is that on the themostat housing, there is no place for the ED temp sender to sit/plug into it ..

I used the ED loom for the BBM with a few cut n pastes of the wires hehe ..

Guessing that the EL ecu runs the temp sender from the ECU? ? ..

thats why i needed wiring diagrams .

Now, need to find myself a cruise control cable .. for the BBM intake ... Im only running a pod filter at the moment, just until I get myself an airbox ..

but apart from that, all good ...

The main converions I've done, engine work I've done, is 3.9 to 4.0, and EF motor into a EL ..

Never done an EF into a ED before .... so yeah ..,.. all good ..

write more when im not so buggered ..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 1751

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA ute, FG XR6T

Location: Quakers Hill
NSW, Australia

Congradulations mate, good for you.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:24 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 97

Joined: 8th Dec 2004

Ride: EB

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I told you, use the EA-ED aircon compressor bracket and XH tensioner, the manifold will fit :P

About the temp sender issue, put your ED thermostat housing in and plug everything back up. It'll work, does in mine.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

Well done,
BBM has a vacuum on the actuator at low revs and cuts out at over after 3500 rev's, I think until you arrange automatic switching you could just plumb it into the manifold, that will hold it open at low throttle openings.
cheers
TW.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 8:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 625

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: R32 GTR

Location: Brackistan
VIC, Australia

You riceboy :p

Red rocker cover pfft :p

j/k dude, well done :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 8:37 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2839

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 50 images

Ride: MYSTERY EL's & Maverick LWB

Power: 198 rwkw

Location: parramatta
NSW, Australia

well done , u should have asked about this job as a few of us here at HQ have done this to the FMD vehicle but we used the complete wiring harness and dash board to go with it , Good Job yet once again !
Try Road testing it with the EF intake Pipe ( Std on XR series )
as i have placed the EF pipe on mine and ditched the EL pipe !

 

_________________

Chance Favors The Prepared Mind !
For Sale : EL Fairmont 4L 5spd offers, AU Fairlane Ghia 4L vct Stock no mods $3.5k ono
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 8:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 927

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Falcon EGas

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I think y9ou need to clean your pod filter mate....I'm surprised that you're getting any air.

Looks good tho.

 

_________________

BA Falcon Futura on EGas. Stock as...

EF 5 speed manual; PH 4480 Pacemaker Headers; 2 1/2" Lukey Mandrel Bent System; Hi Flow Walker Cat; Stage 3 Crow Cam; ChipTorque Chip; 3" Mandrel Bent Intake; K&N Pod Filter; Low Pedders Suspension; 17" EL GT Champagne Rims; RPM Series Clutch

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 9:52 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 62

Posts: 285

Joined: 14th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: buick

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Smackdown wrote:
I think y9ou need to clean your pod filter mate....I'm surprised that you're getting any air.

Looks good tho.


I was thinking of that. Good effort though

ghiaman
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 10:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 1434

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 15 images

Ride: ALTED XR6 - ALTED EA - EF TAXI

Location: Sunshine Coast QLD
QLD, Australia

okay, not so buggered now! hehe .

Now, I still have to find a BBM switch to flick the runners from/short mode, at the moment, the runners are just running as standard, so im guessing thats short mode ..

also, for the temp gauge looking thought EL wiring diagrams, it looks like the green/yellow wire from the themostat housing is the temp sender for EF/EL ..

I really don't like pulling those water pump hoses out of the themostat housings.

Also, for the pod filter, that was one I had laying around here, I've got the EL airbox, just did not have a filter for it ... but got one now :) . so that will be going in tommorrow ..

The BBM setup, all the wiring and stuff, was not as bad as i though it would be. ... but I need to find the cruise control cable from a EF/EL ... hence you can see in the pics my cruise cable being cable tied down to the intake piping lol .

Went and got the book for the EL . ... looks like I can run my themo's straight from that .... instead of using the craig davis themo swtch ... ..

Also, anyone else know, iif you can just run the temp sensor from the pin on the ECU? ...

as I said before, don't really wanna change themostat housings, but if i have to, I have to ..

another question, are the EF/EL leads the same lengh? ... because at the moment im using my ED leads that came from my ED dizzy ...

anywayz, after a good clean, it should come out alright ..

cheers guys..

antony.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 11791

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Holden VF Calais / NL FBT

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

well done antony many kudos to you!

 

_________________

Nicko

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 14, 2005 1:29 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1043

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

It should be stuck on the long runners.
It uses the long runners at low RPM for more torque, and short for more power.

 

_________________

1993 ED XR6 5speed Polynesian Green. Project car.

1998 EL XR8 Auto Hot Chilli Red. New daily and project

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 14, 2005 1:30 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 1434

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 15 images

Ride: ALTED XR6 - ALTED EA - EF TAXI

Location: Sunshine Coast QLD
QLD, Australia

Sturmovik wrote:
It should be stuck on the long runners.
It uses the long runners at low RPM for more torque, and short for more power.


okay, so by default, its on long runners? ...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 14, 2005 6:45 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2839

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 50 images

Ride: MYSTERY EL's & Maverick LWB

Power: 198 rwkw

Location: parramatta
NSW, Australia

EF / EL leads are a diff length from memory dude !
also double check the wiring or the cruise control to if they are wired up the same :)

 

_________________

Chance Favors The Prepared Mind !
For Sale : EL Fairmont 4L 5spd offers, AU Fairlane Ghia 4L vct Stock no mods $3.5k ono
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 14, 2005 8:40 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 97

Joined: 8th Dec 2004

Ride: EB

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

With the engine off they are in short runner mode.

EF/EL cruise cable won't fit, you'll need to get a custom one made up.

EF and EL leads are different, get EL ones or leave the ED ones on.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 15, 2005 9:39 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 780

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF XR6

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

looking good.

 

_________________

Not lost any demerit points

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 6:17 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names