EL motor into XH ute 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

Post subject: EL motor into XH ute
Posted: Mon Dec 09, 2013 3:11 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

Ride: Ford Falcon XH Ute

WA, Australia

Hi all,
I've been playing around with Raiders and Couriers for a few years but now I'm onto falcons after my trust XH ute got a cracked head while running through the country side. Pressed for time I managed to pick up a cheap EL motor (I thought was the same as the XH). I didn't realise how many differences each of the engines have. The commercial vehicles are basically the same from 90 through to 2005. Anyway I've pulled out the old engine and fitted the new with no problems. Kept the old AC compressor and just swapped over the bracket, swapped tensioner etc.

Now when it comes to starting her back up there's nothing. I hear the fuel pump prime, and get a click from a relay near the battery and that's it. I'm using the EL motor, manifold/air intake, XH computer and harness. All of the plugs matched up but I used the XH engine harness because the EL had a different plug to the main loom.

I'm sure its a stupid little over sight on my behalf but any help would be greatly appreciated!

Post subject: Re: EL motor into XH ute
Posted: Mon Dec 09, 2013 4:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: XG

VIC, Australia

Does it turn over, Could be flat battery or even fuel lines on the wrong way...?

XG Ute - 3 Seater - Auto - Dual Fuel

Posted: Mon Dec 09, 2013 4:56 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

WA, Australia

Thanks for your reply oze-ford
I should have mentioned that I thought that was the problem but the battery holds charge and I have trickle charged it for a few days with the same result. It won't crank so I believe that it is an electrical issue.

The starter motor is my original and was working fine before the conversion.

Running an XH computer with an EL motor wouldn't stop ignition would it?

Posted: Mon Dec 09, 2013 7:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: XG

VIC, Australia