Fordmods Logo

EL OIL PRESSURE 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: EL OIL PRESSURE
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 9:58 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 22

Joined: 28th Feb 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hi guys
My el ghia oil pressure gauge has just started rising all the way to high(7) whilst driving. I run dual fuel, all the other gauges are fine. The oil in the engine is fine. It does it on both petrol and gas. It was normally sitting about half to two thirds but now rises after a few minutes of driving after starting cold. On the way to work today as I was driving it sometimes went back down to normal but then if I took my foot of the accelerator it would blast all the way to the top again. It did this at least a couple of times. I didn't think it would have such a sudden change. I know low oil pressure isn't too good for a car, but what does high oil pressure do to the engine?

cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 10:18 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 727

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Concorde

Location: canberra
ACT, Australia

do a search on oil pressure problems, it will be in another 5-10 posts about what to do.

 

_________________

2nd Place Summernats19 SQ Comp, Street Pro 0-600 Class
STEREO - 128.7db
JVC EXAD DVD and surround sound
3 X 10" Lanzar Dual Voice Coil 6ohm Subs
4 X 6.5" Alpine S-Type 2-way, front and back
JVC 6.6cm Center Speaker
Engine -
2.5" exhaust, SS Inductions CAI, K&N air filter. 132.6rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 11:06 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 22

Joined: 28th Feb 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

They are mainly about low pressure - what problems does High pressure cause?
I suppose the thing to do is go to a dealer and get it checked
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 11:25 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 52

Posts: 4370

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Fairlane Ghia

Location: Karratha
WA, Australia

Check the wiring, something loose somewhere i reckon.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 12:05 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 22

Joined: 28th Feb 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

What wiring am I looking for in and around the engine?
Or would it be behind the dash?

Last edited by linchpin75 on Wed Apr 06, 2005 12:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 12:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 52

Posts: 4370

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Fairlane Ghia

Location: Karratha
WA, Australia

Wiring from back of cluster, and the wire from back of sender.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 12:25 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 22

Joined: 28th Feb 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Thanks

I'll have a look later
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 6:46 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 260

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: EL XR6

Power: 141 rwkw

Location: Liverpool
NSW, Australia

mate i had exactly the same problem, had no idea whats causing it, but put the car on the hoist and u can probably guess what i found, my head is leaking coolant, blown head gasket which is another problem altogether! arrrrgh! could be faulty sensor not sure. sorry, just had to vent my frustration...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 7:02 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 44

Posts: 25

Joined: 4th Apr 2005

Gallery: 6 images

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

At worst blown oil filter or blown seals etc

 

_________________

Ford.... POWER TO THE PEOPLE

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 7:58 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 22

Joined: 28th Feb 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hopefully just a problem with the sensor.
Haven't had time to look at it-hopefully tonight
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 11:03 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 1993

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA2 XR6T

Location: Mount Colah
NSW, Australia

maybe the oil you are running is too thick ?

previous owner (ie my mother) always complained of the oil pressure gauge going up

when i got it and started doing my own servicing, havent had a problem
from what i can tell, the workshop wre running hpr30, and im running hpr15

30 is a little think for a car with only 100,000ks (or was at the time)

 

_________________

BOOSTED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 10:04 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 124

Joined: 2nd Apr 2005

Ride: Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I've got the same problem with my Fairmont. I start the thing and its already pointing north to max oil pressure. In my case I know its the sensor as the gauge has played up in the past - while idling at the lights the gauge would be in the middle and then for no reason at all it would hit the maximum and come back down. Just cant be bothered changing the thing

 

_________________

V8 Windsor here we come.....

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 10:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1008

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Ride: ED V8

Location: driving under the sun........now!
WA, Australia

I am quite prepared to say it is your oil pressure sender. They go up the s**t and give spurious readings. Mine went twice in an EF XR6 and it always went high.

Ex a ford mechanic - "The guages hardly ever fail and the wiring in those is never a problem. Almost always the sender unit. Just replace it!"

Check pressures with a master guage and if they are fine then try a new sender. They are not that exy.

Blocked oil filters will probably give low readings as they restrict oil past the sender.

Really the only other thing it can be is the pressure release valve on the pump itself. If it is this then prepare yourself for a big job or spending lots of money!

 

_________________

ED XR8 Spri-mitatio-nt

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 8:19 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 22

Joined: 28th Feb 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Pressure test ok
changed oil to 15/40
gauge is still not rising and falling with revs so I will have to investigate further with the sender. Its not sitting right up high anymore - just about midrange all the time
Thanks for the help everyone
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 7:13 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names