Fordmods Logo

Engine change gone wrong :S 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 26 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Engine change gone wrong :S
Posted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 3:42 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 47

Joined: 26th May 2011

Ride: Falcon Xr6 BA

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Hey guys :)

So my last engine had a rear main seal leak and also the rocker cover seals were gone as well, (My 4 and 6 Spark plugs were sooo covered in oil they didn't work).

So my mate and i figured it would be cheaper to just buy another engine and put it in our selves (he is a Mechanic).

So once everything was converted and the new engine was started. it idled like a v8 or a rotary or something. and when i press the accelerator nothing happens :S I can hear my TB open and close but the Engine Dose not rev what so ever. and its also blowing Loads of smoke.

anyone know what it could be ?

He is thinking its the ECU. Needs a reset. ?

any help would be REALLY appreciated ! thank you :)

PS im driving a BA XR6
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Engine change gone wrong :S
Posted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 6:07 am 
Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 2327

Joined: 6th Oct 2005

Ride: 93EB Fairmont / BA Falcon XR6T

Location: Western Sydney
NSW, Australia

You have started 3 threads asking the same question. :idea: Duplicate threads removed.

 

_________________

93 EB II Fairmon8 with 17' EL GT's / Clear indicators / H.I.Ds / Sports exhaust / Lowered 2' / K&N / XR6 ECU.
2004 BA MKI XR6T in Lightning Strike paint / K&N / XR8 bonnet / BF lights and a few tweaks.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Engine change gone wrong :S
Posted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 10:16 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

Massive lack of information...

What was 'converted'
What class of car and what did the motor come out of?
Have you checked the computer for codes?
Is the MIL lamp on?
Was anything left unplugged?
What was the new motor like before it was pulled and do you trust who you bought it off?

Could be anything and without having the computer checked for dtc's...

Cheers,
Tim

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Engine change gone wrong :S
Posted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 10:38 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 2

Joined: 10th Oct 2013

Ride: FORD EL fairmont GHIA

Location: Hervey Bay
QLD, Australia

Its impossible for the TB to open w/o it reving higher, the TB is what controls the revs. It would have to do one of 2 thing. 1, rev higher or 2, die out. Did you connect everything? Did you double and tripple check? As above, get the computer checked for codes, some auto sparkies will do this for free if you ask them in the right way.
Cheers,
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Engine change gone wrong :S
Posted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 10:59 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

Phillip KG wrote:
Hey guys :)

So my last engine had a rear main seal leak and also the rocker cover seals were gone as well, (My 4 and 6 Spark plugs were sooo covered in oil they didn't work).

So my mate and i figured it would be cheaper to just buy another engine and put it in our selves (he is a Mechanic).


Why would you change a motor for a rear main seal and a rocker cover seal?

All you had to do was drop the gearbox and replace the rear main seal. As for the rocker cover, that is done engine in car and is easy. I don't know how you think a new engine is cheaper. Rear seal is about $10 and a rocker cover gasket/etc would be no more than $50 to $60.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Engine change gone wrong :S
Posted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 11:05 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

SWC does make a good point... esp when you've created the issues you have...

I did the rear main seal on the AU motor I put in my ED anyway just because it was cheap and easy to do and as a just in case... And the rocket cover gasket doesn't really leak on the later E series and AU... Not sure if I've seen a BA one that was leaking yet... Guess it's possible but...

Cheers,
Tim

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Engine change gone wrong :S
Posted: Tue Oct 22, 2013 7:58 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 47

Joined: 26th May 2011

Ride: Falcon Xr6 BA

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Kermit wrote:
You have started 3 threads asking the same question. :idea: Duplicate threads removed.


Im Really sorry for the duplicated threads :S thanks for the fix.


TimmyA wrote:
Massive lack of information...

What was 'converted'
What class of car and what did the motor come out of?
Have you checked the computer for codes?
Is the MIL lamp on?
Was anything left unplugged?
What was the new motor like before it was pulled and do you trust who you bought it off?

Could be anything and without having the computer checked for dtc's...

Cheers,
Tim


-Just the Engine It was more of a swap then a conversion i should say
-The engine was also taken out of an 03 BA XR6
-I don't know what the MIL Lamp is sorry :S
-Nothing was left unplugged we just checked everything.
-I couldn't tell you the condition of the motor not that much info was given to me. Only told it was out of the XR6 and it had 120K on the clock.. i purchased the motor from Ford Pros in Smith field (never had a problem with them)

Im getting my computer checked in the morning. for all error codes and what not . (just been working non stop didnt get a chance to even log on)

turbo trix wrote:
Its impossible for the TB to open w/o it reving higher, the TB is what controls the revs. It would have to do one of 2 thing. 1, rev higher or 2, die out. Did you connect everything? Did you double and tripple check? As above, get the computer checked for codes, some auto sparkies will do this for free if you ask them in the right way.
Cheers,


Hey the TB opens and closed Before the engine is turned on (when pressing the accelerator ) Its way to loud of know it does the same thing when its on or not. But when pushing the Accelerator nothing at all happens. the car dose not rev or do anything. That made me think it was the TB plugs . after checking them they were plugged in and fine no problems with them.

yeah im getting my computer done this morning before work to see what codes do pop up :)
SWC wrote:
Phillip KG wrote:
Hey guys :)

So my last engine had a rear main seal leak and also the rocker cover seals were gone as well, (My 4 and 6 Spark plugs were sooo covered in oil they didn't work).

So my mate and i figured it would be cheaper to just buy another engine and put it in our selves (he is a Mechanic).


Why would you change a motor for a rear main seal and a rocker cover seal?

All you had to do was drop the gearbox and replace the rear main seal. As for the rocker cover, that is done engine in car and is easy. I don't know how you think a new engine is cheaper. Rear seal is about $10 and a rocker cover gasket/etc would be no more than $50 to $60.


I changed the Engine because it had 360K KMS on the ODO apposed to the new one with 120K, It guzzled petrol and felt really gritty. and had a bunch of leaks. I got the New engine for $500 and we did the swap our selfs so it was only $500 for a new engine which in the long run is gonna save me the difference in petrol. and any other issues

TimmyA wrote:
SWC does make a good point... esp when you've created the issues you have...

I did the rear main seal on the AU motor I put in my ED anyway just because it was cheap and easy to do and as a just in case... And the rocket cover gasket doesn't really leak on the later E series and AU... Not sure if I've seen a BA one that was leaking yet... Guess it's possible but...

Cheers,
Tim


Yeah i dont really know about the older models but i had 4 O ring seals leaking and the rocker cover seal as well.


One final thing the two sensors next to the first coil pack. If they are plugged into the opposing one will it make a difference ? my mate thinks he plugged them in the opposite way around . so were also going to check that out.

Thank for you help Everyone :) and sorry for the delay there
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Engine change gone wrong :S
Posted: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:14 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

Phillip KG wrote:
SWC wrote:
Phillip KG wrote:
Hey guys :)

So my last engine had a rear main seal leak and also the rocker cover seals were gone as well, (My 4 and 6 Spark plugs were sooo covered in oil they didn't work).

So my mate and i figured it would be cheaper to just buy another engine and put it in our selves (he is a Mechanic).


Why would you change a motor for a rear main seal and a rocker cover seal?

All you had to do was drop the gearbox and replace the rear main seal. As for the rocker cover, that is done engine in car and is easy. I don't know how you think a new engine is cheaper. Rear seal is about $10 and a rocker cover gasket/etc would be no more than $50 to $60.


I changed the Engine because it had 360K KMS on the ODO apposed to the new one with 120K, It guzzled petrol and felt really gritty. and had a bunch of leaks. I got the New engine for $500 and we did the swap our selfs so it was only $500 for a new engine which in the long run is gonna save me the difference in petrol. and any other issues


One final thing the two sensors next to the first coil pack. If they are plugged into the opposing one will it make a difference ? my mate thinks he plugged them in the opposite way around . so were also going to check that out.

Thank for you help Everyone :) and sorry for the delay there


OK engine swap makes sense with a 120K km swap for a 360K km engine.

As for the plugs, they are for you cam VCT adjuster.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Engine change gone wrong :S
Posted: Wed Oct 23, 2013 1:16 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 47

Joined: 26th May 2011

Ride: Falcon Xr6 BA

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

SWC wrote:

OK engine swap makes sense with a 120K km swap for a 360K km engine.

As for the plugs, they are for you cam VCT adjuster.


Yeah i tried swapping them around anothing changed.. I was told my Coil packs are not working, and tried chaning all of them. still got no response when accelerating.

Also i plugged the car into a diagnostic test and no codes came up. But i had my check engine light on.. any ideas ?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Engine change gone wrong :S
Posted: Wed Oct 23, 2013 7:51 am 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

I say your tps is cactus??

is the throttle body opening when rngine is running??

yet again, you got it from fordpro... say no more :roll:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Engine change gone wrong :S
Posted: Thu Oct 24, 2013 2:24 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 47

Joined: 26th May 2011

Ride: Falcon Xr6 BA

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

TROYMAN wrote:
I say your tps is cactus??

is the throttle body opening when rngine is running??

yet again, you got it from fordpro... say no more :roll:


Hey troy :)

I got it put on the Diagnostic test today and got these codes.

PO121 , P0221 , P1270 , P1340 , P1270 , P1385 .

one of these codes are for the aicon (which is normal as there is no gas)

the TB dosnt work at all when i turn on the car.

thanks for your help
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Engine change gone wrong :S
Posted: Thu Oct 24, 2013 7:35 am 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

Phillip KG wrote:
TROYMAN wrote:
I say your tps is cactus??

is the throttle body opening when rngine is running??

yet again, you got it from fordpro... say no more :roll:


Hey troy :)

I got it put on the Diagnostic test today and got these codes.

PO121 , P0221 , P1270 , P1340 , P1270 , P1385 .

one of these codes are for the aicon (which is normal as there is no gas)

the TB dosnt work at all when i turn on the car.

thanks for your help


P0121 - Throttle Position Sensor/Switch A Circuit Range/Performance Problem
P0221 - Throttle/Petal Position Sensor/Switch 'B' Circuit Range/Performance Problem
P1270 Engine RPM or Vehicle Speed Limiter Reached
P1340 Camshaft Position Sensor B Circuit Malfunction
P1385 Variable Cam Timing Solenoid B Malfunction

you have issues...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Engine change gone wrong :S
Posted: Thu Oct 24, 2013 8:28 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 4599

Joined: 30th Aug 2010

Ride: BF XR6,

Location: NEWCASTLE
NSW, Australia

TROYMAN wrote:
Phillip KG wrote:
TROYMAN wrote:
I say your tps is cactus??

is the throttle body opening when rngine is running??

yet again, you got it from fordpro... say no more :roll:


Hey troy :)

I got it put on the Diagnostic test today and got these codes.

PO121 , P0221 , P1270 , P1340 , P1270 , P1385 .

one of these codes are for the aicon (which is normal as there is no gas)

the TB dosnt work at all when i turn on the car.

thanks for your help


P0121 - Throttle Position Sensor/Switch A Circuit Range/Performance Problem
P0221 - Throttle/Petal Position Sensor/Switch 'B' Circuit Range/Performance Problem
P1270 Engine RPM or Vehicle Speed Limiter Reached
P1340 Camshaft Position Sensor B Circuit Malfunction
P1385 Variable Cam Timing Solenoid B Malfunction

you have issues...

im no expert but if it was my car id be triple checking the wiring for all this stuff.

 

_________________

BF XR6
xr8 snorkel,typhoon lower snorkel,territory intake pipe,20% underdrive kit,pacemaker extractors,high flow cat,xforce exhaust,t56 conversion hd turbo clutch/ flywheel,m86 3.45 lsd,custom tune187.1rwkw as an auto

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Engine change gone wrong :S
Posted: Thu Oct 24, 2013 9:40 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 47

Joined: 26th May 2011

Ride: Falcon Xr6 BA

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

bry40l wrote:
TROYMAN wrote:
Phillip KG wrote:
TROYMAN wrote:
I say your tps is cactus??

is the throttle body opening when rngine is running??

yet again, you got it from fordpro... say no more :roll:


Hey troy :)

I got it put on the Diagnostic test today and got these codes.

PO121 , P0221 , P1270 , P1340 , P1270 , P1385 .

one of these codes are for the aicon (which is normal as there is no gas)

the TB dosnt work at all when i turn on the car.

thanks for your help


P0121 - Throttle Position Sensor/Switch A Circuit Range/Performance Problem
P0221 - Throttle/Petal Position Sensor/Switch 'B' Circuit Range/Performance Problem
P1270 Engine RPM or Vehicle Speed Limiter Reached
P1340 Camshaft Position Sensor B Circuit Malfunction
P1385 Variable Cam Timing Solenoid B Malfunction

you have issues...

im no expert but if it was my car id be triple checking the wiring for all this stuff.


Yeah the thing with that is . im using the wiring loom from my old Engine and i didn't have a single one of those problems. im thinking ECU ? or something happened to the wiring loom in the change over..

Also Engine RPM or Vehicle Speed limiter reached ?

the engine dosnt rev at all let alone drive ? so i dont know what could of caused this ..

just so i know does the car have a speed limiter on it ?

Thanks for your help :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Engine change gone wrong :S
Posted: Thu Oct 24, 2013 9:43 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

what throttle body are you using??

is it from your old engine or the new one??

you may have to do a throttle body reset, I know there is a procedure to reset the throttle body. I just cant remember how to do it..
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 37 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 9:35 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names